Help us take care of a beautiful old farmhouse near the Mojácar coast in Andalusia, Spain

Country

España

actualizado  

607 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    13  

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    17/08/2022

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    98.8 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 9 dias

  • Medallas

    Super Host
 
  2022 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos una semana

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    ***(Please do read to the end)***

    Hello! We are Andy and Khatija, and we both live in an old Cortijo near Mojacar in Andalusia, Spain with a rescue cat called Squeak and a rescue dog called Shaun. Andy is a musician, and Katt, who splits her time between here, the UK and New Zealand, is studying for a degree and is also a yoga teacher. The property is quite big, with five bedrooms in the main house and two separate apartments with three bedrooms between them which are rented out to holidaymakers. We also have a big pool that is open for half of the year, and our own almond, orange, lemon, lime, carob, fig and mandarin trees. We are looking for someone who is interested in the jobs listed below, plus some help with general maintenance, painting, and gardening, and maybe some light housework also. In the holiday season, help with cleaning the two apartments between guests is also appreciated. At the moment, we are especially interested to hear from someone who is willing (and able) to paint some fabulous art onto a side of an outhouse or a section of wall around the property and combine that with the more boring job of painting metal fences and window protectors (rejas). We have recently started a tradition (which we love) of each workawayer who wants to leaving a piece of art behind somewhere around the house or gardens, in addition to the less exciting painting that needs doing. So far we have a fruit mural behind the bar, a large face mural on the terrace and an upcycled chest of drawers and coffee table (see photos), but there is plenty of opportunity for more. The metal painting is in progress, but it is a long job and will take a few more volunteers before it is finished.

    The house is quite secluded, with miles of walks behind the property, and only shepherds with their goat herds occasionally passing our front door, but the local village of Los Gallardos, where you can find small supermarkets. shops and four bars, is only a ten-minute walk away. Larger, more bustling towns by the sea like Vera, Garrucha, and Mojacar, with a multitude of bars and restaurants, are a fifteen-minute drive or an (infrequent) bus ride away. The weather is generally warm throughout the year (sunbathing is still possible in most of December and January) but the nights can be a little chillier in winter and we sometimes light our log burner, although we stopped that mid-January. Temperatures regularly reach forty or more in the shade during the summer, and even in winter, the thermometer in full sun reached 38C on one occasion this year. Our pool is not overlooked and we, our helpers and our guests, are able to practice naturism around the pool area if they wish, and it is totally acceptable, although not compulsory, in other areas of the property and around the house. If you are not comfortable with this, no worries, as long as you don't mind other people who may choose to do it occasionally.

    We have successfully hosted several Workawayers over the past year or so, so we know how things work and how to help everyone settle in and be comfortable here. We only expect about three hours of work, five days a week, for accommodation only. We are happy for you to do more some days and less others, and pick your days off as you wish; we are quite relaxed about things. We have listed our current main projects below.

    English is the main language in the house, and we are happy to teach that or try to learn a new language also, but especially Andy would enjoy improving his not-so-good Spanish. If you are interested in music or acting and wish to have some lessons, or just chats, he can do that too. Andy was a musician and conductor in London's West End working on musicals including Les Miserables, We Will Rock You, Thriller, The Lion King, Chicago, Cats, and more, and Khatija is a yoga teacher and a chef and baker extraordinaire.

    Your accommodation will be a private room in the main house, with your own bathroom. We can accommodate singles, couples, and occasionally also families, but right now we more often host one person at a time as there is not so much work to do at the moment. You are welcome to join me/us on trips to the supermarket and to town for drinks and tapas, but independence is also welcomed if you have a car or wish to use the semi-regular bus service to the playa. We are vegan and vegetarian friendly, but not militant about it; Khatija is vegan but Andy eats seafood and sneaks some meat occasionally (maybe more to be honest). If you would like to cook for us on occasion too, that would be great, we will return the favour. Andy is here full-time, but Katt does spend some time in England and New Zealand for medical and family stuff; if you would like to chat to a previous Workawayer to check everything is as it seems and hear a first-hand account of what it's like to be here, that can always be arranged.

    ***Update - our Workawayers have been (mostly) so successful and brilliant that we have only a few jobs left to do. For that reason, we are currently only offering a room and good company, in exchange for a bit of help around the house and gardens, painting metalwork and repainting white walls after a recent sandstorm and mud rain (not pleasant, but it's over now). If you would like an easy-going break in the sun, some chilled hosts, with yoga and beach time, maybe space to create some original art if you want, and of course visits to a few bars and cafes too, drop us a line.***


    This is a fairly relaxed Workaway, with not too much work and plenty of chill time. If you would like to chat about staying with us, please send a message. Katt is currently abroad until the end of August, but is due back by September, although her plans often change.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Proyectos artísticos
    Práctica de idiomas
    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    You can immerse yourself in the local culture, swim every day in the pool or in the sea, be a hermit in your room if you prefer, practice yoga, singing or piano, have some monologue coaching, talk about theatre, relax in the sun, make cocktails, enjoy some vegan cooking (or non-vegan, if Andy is in charge), and generally enjoy a fairly chilled existence.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    Travelers of any age, gender, orientation, race, or religion are welcome. We are looking for help with general maintenance, lots of painting, some gardening, some light housework and help cleaning apartments. We are hoping to complete a few projects this year also, which our guests are welcome to choose from; they are listed below. If you are happy to help with housework, pool cleaning, and gardening, then some time on that would be good when needed, but the rest of the time can be spent on your chosen project. During the summer, we will not be carrying out any big garden or maintenance projects, so workawayers who are happier helping with cleaning and metal painting, or who can repair a large mosaic, are more welcome then. As mentioned above, we love the idea of workawayers leaving a piece of art on a wall somewhere around the place, if they would like to. Paint is provided...

    Our current projects:

    Painting all the metalwork - if you want to do this, please write to us... ***
    Stripping and oiling doors and shutters. (Completed!)
    Repairing a large tile mosaic ***
    Painting the inside of one apartment. (Completed)
    Cutting back a very big bush. (!). (Completed)
    Putting up a bamboo fence. (Completed!)
    Taking down a wooden play castle and designing/building something to replace it. Like a rock garden or a seating area with a canopy. Or something else....? (Completed !)
    A bit of plastering, inside and out. (Ongoing)
    Lots of painting around the outside of the house and grounds. (Ongoing, especially after recent mud rain...) ***
    Painting lots of metal gates and fences. (Yes! See above)
    Repairing balconies. (Completed!)
    Build a barbeque and seating area ***
    Repairing the outside wall. (In progress)
    Refurbishing the pool bar. (Completed!)
    Painting some original art on an outhouse, or on a wall somewhere ***
    Upcycling a second chest of drawers with something arty ***
    Painting a little stone wall yellow again. (Completed)
    Renovating a garage ***

    Any electricians, please write as we need some help in this area.
    At some point, we need to replace an entire bathroom. We could discuss food/payment if your skill set covers this.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido
    Francés: Intermedio
    Español: Principiante

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    We are happy to help with English, and we also speak reasonable French and are learning Spanish - native Spanish speakers who are willing to help us are very welcome.

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    A big old Cortijo - a Spanish farmhouse. There are rooms available in the house, and two separate apartments.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    The local villages provide everything one might need to comfortably survive, including many bars and restaurants that are open all year round. In Garrucha, Vera, and Mojacar playa, there are loads of bars, restaurants, and a few clubs, which during the summer season are quite busy. Alternatively, you can relax at home here, with peace, quiet, sunshine, miles of beautiful walks, and as much solitude or company as you desire. There is also a dog and cat shelter nearby that often welcomes additional volunteers, although you really need a bike or a car to get there (we have a bike).

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    We have a good wifi connection in the main house, the apartments and most the pool area.

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    There is plenty of room for parking.

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    We have a dog and a cat, but they are not overkeen on other pets in the house. Shaun the dog enjoys playing with small dogs, we have not tried him with big dogs yet.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    About three hours a day, 5 days a week, but we are pretty chilled about that.

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (4.8)











Número de referencia de anfitrión: 355358997485