Help around the home on an island for nature lovers El Hierro, Canaries, Spain

Country

España

264 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    27  

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    15/05/2021

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 1 dia

  • Medallas

    Top Host
 
  2021 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos 2 semanas

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    My name is Jorge (born 1962). I am a selfemployed cabinetmaker on the smallest, most remote and maybe even the most beautiful island of the Canaries, El Hierro. It is unique for its combination of diverse and untouched nature: lava fields, stunning cliffs, misty forests and volcanoes wherever you look.

    About 30 years ago I started living here. During the years I rebuilded and constructed several rooms at our place. It would be helpful for me to get some help with cooking and the household in the first place. Further on, as a woodworker it interests me to work together and share knowledge with other carpenters or people with experience in construction. Some knowledge in plumbing, stone-construction and electrical-work is also needed.

    So if you know how to prepare us some food and keep the house clean, you are very welcome to come over and enjoy the relaxed rythme of life over here. Next to that, some construction-skills, hobbies and creativity of your own are welcome.

    During the years living at my place I tried to look for ecological solucions in terms of watersupply, sewage-water recycling and heating. The vegetable garden is also very important for me, but I can't spent much time on it. At present I am also involved in a scientific cane-production.

    I can offer a workawayer his or her own bedroom and an almost own bathroom. An electric piano can be used. Our warm-water supply is related to a solar-panel.

    From time to time there are other workawayers not far from my place. So you could meet with more workawayers in your free time. I should warn you that this island will disappoint you when you search for a beach and party experience, there is nothing like that going on here. If you are searching for peace and quiet, this might be your place. The all year mild climate, stunning views and kindness of the inhabitants will definitely mark your stay. Public transport is limited, but hitch hiking is common and safe, cooperation and exchange is part of the culture on this island. Having a driving license is very practical here.

    If you decide to write me, please tell me a bit about your life-experience and your professional background.
    Also please take into account that I live on a remote island. You need to fly to Tenerife or Gran Canaria and from there you need a boat or flight to El Hierro.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Mantenimiento general
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Ayuda doméstica
    Cuidado de animales
    Práctica de idiomas

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    I can offer you the chance to gain more experience in your field of interest. Quite some people pass by my place and you feel part of the community quite quickly. Due to my Arts-and-Crafts shop I am in contact wih several local artesans like weavers, basket makers, instrument makers and woodworkers. Also you could improve your spanish. And of course you could explore the small island of El Hierro, with its beautiful walking paths through untouched nature and its traditional fiestas (in summer time almost every weekend) and the local kitchen. The all year mild climate (it does not get too hot in summer), stunning views and kindness of the inhabitants will definitely mark your stay.
    It could be interesting to share carpentry knowledge with another professional.
    Close to my place there are sometimes other workawayers, so you could meet with them in your free time.
    Public transport is limited, but hitchhiking is common and safe. A driving license could be practical.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    Help required:
    - kitchen-duties, preparing meals
    - house cleaning
    - vegetable-gardening
    - carpentry-work
    - masonry
    - electrical-work
    - plumbing
    - farsi-lessons
    I would like you to work 4 hours a day for 5 days a week. I am flexible in when you help these 20 hours a week, as long as we make practical arrangements for both parties. Also working some days more hours and having some days off does not have to be a problem.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Alemán: Fluido
    Inglés: Fluido
    Español: Fluido
    Francés: Intermedio
    Persian (Farsi): Principiante

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    Este anfitrión ha indicado que está interesado en compartir su idioma o aprender otro.
    Ponte en contacto con él para obtener más información.

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    I would be able to offer a workawayer his or her own bedroom in one of the houses, also depending of how many workawayers stay here at once.
    We will eat together and the food could be prepared by you or another workawayer. I prefer eating healthy unprocessed food. Depending of the season part of the vegetables and fruits come from the garden.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    I should warn you that this island will disappoint you when you search for a beach and party experience. My place is in the norhtern part of the island, at almost 700m above sealevel. It is often affected by the fresh and humid trade winds. I think people who also like to have time alone, who are independent and would like to explore the island on their own would fit here the best, as there might be not too much possibility to show you around. We eat together and have a good time working together. If I go somewhere by car, I can of course take you with me.
    If you would like to calm down, enjoy nature & tranquility and sharing meals and work, this could be it. Welcome!

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (4.9)

Comunicación: (4.9)




















Número de referencia de anfitrión: 352482686574