Home and garden updates in the beautiful Charente countryside, France

Country

Francia

5 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    -

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    15/07/2019

 
  2021 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos una semana

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    We are a couple, I'm Christine aged 65 and my husband who has just turned 70. In the main we are quite active with a good sense of humour and outlook. Our house is in a quiet village in a rural, agricultural area of the Charente. The house is large 4 bedrooms.
    We have done lots already to make the house habitable and comfortable and it is really coming on.
    The village is about 45 mins from both Angouleme and Limoges and 15 mins from Confolens. There are lots of historic places within a short drive. The Atlantic coast is 2 hours away but during the summer months there are places to swim - plenty of lakes and a plan d'eau (man-made outdoor pool with sandy 'beach') . Most Sundays there is either a bric a brac or brocante nearby.
    The area would suit people who don't particularly seek the party life but appreciate the countryside, nature and historical sites.
    We have internet access and British TV for those who want to keep up to date with their favourite programmes.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Mantenimiento general
    Ayuda doméstica

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Crossed by the Charente river and its numerous affluents, the Charente département offers a wide range of attractions and activities with its landscapes of hills, vineyards, lakes, prairies and woods. With towns such as Angoulême, the French capital of the comic strip, and Cognac, famous for its brandy and its Detective film festival, as well as charming villages, castles and Romanesque churches, the Gallo-Roman site of Chassenon, and rivers and lakes for water sports, there is plenty on offer for visitors.

    There are a lot of 2nd world war destinations...for instance the village of Oradour-sur-Glane – the French village wiped out on 10 June 1944, when 642 of its inhabitants, including women and children, were massacred by a company of troops belonging to the 2nd SS Panzer Division Das Reich, a Waffen-SS unit of the military forces of Nazi Germany. After the war, it was decided neither to demolish nor rebuild the village 15 miles north west of Limoges.

    In the town of Chasseneuil-sur-Bonnieure there is the house of the Resistance René MICHAUD, where you will find detailed memories of the maquis BIR'HACHEIM that trace this history during the period 1943-1945.

    The Memorial of the Resistance. This monument is located in the heart of a national necropolis which gathers 2255 burials sheltering the remains of the heroes of the Resistance.
    The crypt, which is accessed by a spiral staircase, is surrounded by 28 squares where rest the remains of several heroes of the Resistance.

    In Limoges where the fine porcelain is made you will also find many historic and cultural sights,

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    We have a small unattached garden that has become overgrown and we would like to start a veggie plot etc. We also some odd jobs about the house such as painting walls/ceilings and varnishing wooden floors.
    This workaway offer is principally for handy people who don’t mind getting their hands dirty and like doing physical labour in a methodical manner. If you have general building skills or DIY skills it would be helpful and Gardening skills are always welcome. We have all the tools and equipment.
    You will be helping out 5 hours a day, Monday to Thursday. We also expect our volunteers to participate and help with general household tasks, setting the table, mopping the kitchen floor etc. if needed.

  • Idiomas hablados

    English: Fluido

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    We can offer 2 spare bedrooms (Double or twin room with shared bathroom on the 1st floor) with full board for the right visitor(s). We mainly cook British foods but do occasionally cook food from around the world. I loved to bake. Most meals are completely 'home made'.
    Breakfast is usually cereals or egg and toast (or similar).
    Lunch would be sandwiches or something quite quick e.g. pizza.
    Alcohol would need to be purchased by the visitor although wine or beer with the evening meal would be included.

    We have family staying for the first 3 weeks of August so accommodation is not available during these 3 weeks.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    We would be able to take visitors out sightseeing at least once per week. You can go online to see more local sights on the Charente website. Bicycles can be hired from a local company.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 4 days a week

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 349984597854