Stay with us in a wee cottage and help with horses on the Knoydart peninsula, Scotland

Country

Gran Bretaña

63 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    -

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    13/01/2022

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 10 dias

 
  2022 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos 2 semanas

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Hello, Anna and Ossian here (my four year old son). We'd love for you to come and stay with us. We live in a wee cottage by the shore on the West coast of Scotland, in a peninsula called Knoydart. We would welcome a friendly person to help us with looking after our horses and ponies, some light gardening and babysitting for my wee one. We are very easygoing and positive.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Jardinería
    Cuidado de animales
    Cuidado de niños y juegos creativos
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    We are lucky to live in a small community surrounded by stunning scenery. We live off-grid with the village hydro supplying the electricity but have great ferry links to nearby Mallaig and the Isle of Skye. Knoydart is a peninsula with sea lochs to the North and South so you need to catch a boat to get here or walk in over the hills. There are lots of different wildlife and amazing places to explore. Wild swimming, hill walking, forest tracks and opportunity to be part of the local community. You will be part of the family whilst living here, we have quite a varied lifestyle with lots of interesting skills to share, from gardening and spending time with the horses to artwork (I do detailed pencil drawings) and diy skills. We often have an afternoon or morning off to go on wee adventures up a hill, having a picnic or drive over to the other side of Knoydart to visit my parents sheep farm and can share all about growing up and living on a highland croft.

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    We would welcome someone who has had some experience with horses and is confident to do tasks alone if needed. We will mostly be feeding hay once or twice a day, picking manure to keep the paddocks clean and general horsey stuff. I am in the process of breaking in a horse but don't have a horse to ride at the moment. Several years ago I ran a small trekking centre in Knoydart but we closed 8 years ago and now keep our ponies just for our own pleasure. We have two highland ponies, a welsh x and a wee shetland.

    Experience with children would be great as you will be living alongside us. Ossian is four years old and loves being outside so someone who is energetic and loves nature would be ideal.

    We have a small garden in front of the house and a plot in the Community Garden close by so help with this would be appreciated.

    I would welcome 3-4 hours help a day in return for accommodation. You would have full use of the kitchen to make meals for yourself. Your own bedroom overlooking the loch and shared living room and bathroom. Good Wi-Fi but no mobile signal unless you walk up a hill.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    Our cottage is situated by the beach, ten mins walk from the pier and the village of Inverie. I'm happy to chat on the phone or over zoom and answer any questions that you might have.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    I work a couple of afternoons a week being the local postie and also try to fit in artwork as much as I can to sell in the local shop and online. In your spare time you will have the freedom to explore Knoydart and enjoy remote living in this unique place.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Good Wi-Fi and a desk space in your bedroom.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Uno

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 3-4 hours a day, 5 days a week


Número de referencia de anfitrión: 346812249734