Join us on our organic farm and enjoy the picturesque scenery around Granada province, Spain (Campervan friendly.)



216 “me gusta”

  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Última actividad


  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    98.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 4 dias

  • Medallas

    Super Host
  • Descripción


    We are a friendly family who own a 7,000 square metre terraced smallholding (finca) in Granada province and are looking for help with the maintenance and development of our land ecologically, as well as creating an arts space and venue. Dan has 30 years of work experience covering forestry, festival builds ,music co-operatives, catering , and helping create various practical community environmental spaces but is still happy learn more. All input no matter how seemingly insignificant to majestic is equally important and appreciated.

    The agricultural project runs in tandem with human requirements of those participating, and as such is evolving very well as an enjoyable creative and collectively educational space.

    The land has 60 olive trees, (the harvest of which takes place November to January), almond trees, fig trees, grapevines, chirimoyos and a vegetable patch. It also has a basic brick-built structure which contains hot shower, toilet and bathroom. The safari tent sleeps two either as singles or a double. Mattresses and bedding provided. We recently also built a wooden covered outdoor kitchen, which has its own lighting, adjacent to the safari tent.

    The land has spectacular views and there are many places to sit and enjoy the evening sunshine. The climate is generally pretty dry and warm in Spain (they say we get 320 days of sunshine a year here) but there is a firepit for use during the coldest months and heating in the safari tent.

    There is an additional belltent in which mattress, duvet and pillow will be provided. We are also in the process of constructing more safari shelters as more are needed. You may of course bring a camper van, or own tent. There is also a newly restored swimming pool which can be used between spring and autumn.

    We are off grid but have solar for charging phones, laptops and lighting etc. Drinking water is presently brought onto site from a tap/ spring nearby, but irrigation water is available for washing and showering.

    Our daughter is nearly 5 years old and goes to the local school. There is a well stocked local shop, bar and cash machine in the closest village which is a 5 minute walk from the land. We are about 20 minutes drive from the closest beach and 45 minutes to the lovely city of Granada, with public transport links to both. Our house is only 5 minutes drive from the land but we're up on the land most days, with weekends off.

    Mealtimes are split between the workawayers and can be as communal or not as you wish. A basic larder of fresh fruit vegetables, pulses , grains, bread tea and coffee, cereals etc are supplied.

    We have only had the land two years but have had the house for 17 years so we can speak enough Spanish to introduce you to many of the locals if you want to be part of things. Or if you're wanting your own space then we're happy to leave you to your own pleasures.

    COVID: Los Guajares is a small rural community with a significant elderly population. Regardless of our personal views or politics on the present pandemic, in order to demonstrate respect as visitors to the area we shall only accept applications from those who are prepared to adhere to local Coronavirus protocols. This predominantly applies when off site. Please do not apply if this is an issue for you.

    UPDATES ON PROGRESS 2020 : It has been a productive year and with the involvement of workawayers we have ; built a fully functioning outdoor covered kitchen, installed effective solar charging power stations, created a 20 person dining area, brought in two olive harvests, investigated and produced carob products, restored a swimming pool, pruned , weeded and planted sub tropical fruit trees , cleared and landscaped rough and neglected land, restored furniture, made a pizza oven and delicious pizzas from it and cooked international dishes . Thank you.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Proyectos artísticos
    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Ayuda en una granja
    Cuidado de niños y juegos creativos
    Mantenimiento general
    Ayuda con ordenadores/Internet

  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    We live in a valley that comprises of three close villages within the same 7km stretch. They are each traditional white Spanish pueblos where people are friendly and welcoming. Village life is easy to join in with and, if you do want to have a go at learning any Spanish, people are happy to talk to you and are rarely critical of beginners. The nearest village (called Guajar Faraguit) has a lively bar which is the central hub, opening from 6am and closing late (although opening hours are currently always in keeping with latest COVID regulatations). Breakfast, lunch and an evening meal are all offered, aswell as a full bar (including tapas), tea and coffee throughout the day. The village gives free Spanish lessons three times a week. The area is excellent for walking and there are routes of all different lengths available. One route takes you via the remains of a castle which centuries ago was held by the Moors. Our land is on one of the mountainsides and has far-reaching views of mountainous peaks and plenty of sunshine as it is south facing. Village fiestas happen several times a year, which usually involves drinking, dancing and paella and all are welcome.

    Within a 10 minute drive is Velez de Benaudalla which is a bigger village and which has the Nazrid gardens which are beautiful peace gardens leading down to caves. Velez de Benaudalla has a friendly population and has several cafes and bars, one of which people meet in for intercambio and Spanish classes.

    A 20 minute drive brings you to the coast, Salobrena, Alumecar and Motril being the three closest towns in that direction. Our part of the coastline is known as the Costa Tropical, where pleasant beaches, beach bars, nice restaurants and bigger supermarkets can all be found, aswell as a more multinational clientele. All of these towns have charming old parts to them with typical examples of Spanish architecture, steep narrow streets and authentic Andalusian way of life.

    40 mins by car is the Alpujarras, a well known and stunning mountain range directly east of us. There are numerous very attractive towns and villages in the Alpujarras with a large number of eco-minded foreigners amongst their numbers. Las Alpujarras sit at the foothills of the Sierra Nevada, mainland Spain's highest mountain range, the top of which is covered in snow for at least half of the year, during which a busy ski resort is open. Motorway access means that the Sierra Nevada is about an hour's drive away.

    From Granada (approx 45 minute drive) the Sierra Nevada is visible. Granada is a great city with the albaicin (the old Moorish quarter) and the Alhambra being must-see places. It also has all sorts of modern shopping opportunities but plenty of old charm aswell. As does Malaga which is a 2.5 hour bus journey and well worth a visit. There are stunning views out to sea from its castle, lovely craft markets along the port, plenty of bodegas where lovely local wine can be learnt about and a great central food market. Very Andalusian with lots of evidence of customs dating far back.

    Whilst we can't guarantee providing our car for transport, if we are going somewhere that interests you or you need a lift to catch public transport from somewhere then we may be able to help you with this. The journey times that I have quoted relate to car use and obviously public transport will take longer.

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda


    We would appreciate help with treecare (mainly pruning and disposal of of low level branches), the olive harvest (seasonal work which involves laying nets and beating the trees with sticks to get the olives to fall), maintanance of vegetable patch and light labouring, planting fruit and vegetable beds, developing drip feed systems and help to build low level walls. Explanation and instruction can be given for anything we ask you to do and we are happy to take people from all skill levels. Previous experience is not required as one never truly stops learning.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido
    Español: Intermedio

  • Alojamiento


    We will make our Safari tent available. There is also a typical white bell tent with sides that can be raised to improve air circulation. It stands on a flat pitch on a terrace that has particularly lovely mountain views across farmland. We will provide mattress, bedding and pillow, aswell as bathroom facilities (inclduing flushing porcelain toilet) plus an outdoor kitchen. There are numerous areas of seating dotted about the land aswell as a dining table under one of the trees. Hand washing for clothes and laundary are on site.

    Self catering and occasional communal meals provided. There is a kitchen with essentials and fresh produce sufficient for Monday’s to Friday’s, cereals and fruit for breakfast. Weekend meals not provided.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Este anfitrión ha indicado que le encanta acoger a nómadas digitales.

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    I can take up to three motor homes, two large up to 7.5 tonnes and one van sized

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    Dogs only.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    4.5 hours a day .weekends off.

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (5.0)

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 345343113729