1 / 4

Help us evolve our dryland food forest and share permaculture knowledge living off-grid in Lanjarón, Spain

  • 872 “me gusta”
  • Última actividad: 20 may 2024

DISPONIBILIDAD

  2024 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos un mes

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Detalles

  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Permaculture, off-grid living, homesteading, food-foresting in a Mediterranean climate.

    We're looking for one person or a couple with an interest in permaculture and a love for nature, who also happens to be physically strong and energetic!

    - The main tasks are split between the garden / food forest, construction work, and simple land maintenance work in an off-grid rural setting.

    Look on Youtube for our channel,!

    We are a 1 hectare homestead located above the village of Lanjaron in Las Alpujarras of Granada. We're at an altitude of 1100m above sea level with a view of the Mediterrenean Sea on the horizon, and on clear days, the coastline of North Africa.

    We are David (40 from England), Celia (44, from Spain), and our two daughters, Alma-Blossom (13) and Rowen (10). When we arrived in 2016, the land was empty except for some olive trees that had clearly been neglected for some time. The soil was mostly bare, a compacted red clay that looked pretty infertile.

    Having finished the construction of our strawbale house in 2016, in 2017 we initiated a dryland food-forest project with the aim of establishing a resilient and sustainably productive food forest on-site, implimenting many permaculture inspired strategies. The project is progressing well and shows great promise of evolving towards a beautiful and food filled environment.

    We are especially focused on water management (e.g. greywater systems) and on rain water harvesting, both from hard surfaces like roofs, and through earthworks.

    We're looking for someone or a couple from mid-April 2024 to the middle of June 2024.

    The work hours for FULL- BOARD are 5 hours a day, 5 days a week. There are a variety of tasks, including manual labour. Applicants should not be afraid of rolling their sleeves up! However, there is plenty of opportunity to learn and and see permaculture in action, as well as to relax and enjoy the setting :-)

    You would stay in a caravan with a double bed, as well as cooking facilities. There is a compost toilet close by as well as a shower with solar heated water (so it's USUALLY hot!)

    We make and share lunch all together and we provide you with ingredients to make your own breakfast and dinner in the caravan.

    We have a modest solar power system which is enough for people to charge their phones and laptops during the day, until 8pm.

    The village of Lanjaron is a half an hour walk away on the way down and 45 mins on the way up (depending of course on a person’s hiking prowess!). If we are going down by car to do something, volunteers can sometimes get a lift. From the village there are bus connections to other areas of Las Alpujarras, as well as to the coast and to Granada, which may be interesting for the 2 days off a week.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Jardinería
    Construcción y bricolaje
    Ayuda en una granja
    Cuidado de niños y juegos creativos
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    This is for those wanting to change their life style and learn new skills, without forgetting the spiritual side of life; We want you to experience and learn a different way of living, organic, more sustainable, and share our daily life. If you want to improve your spanish or english, we can talk to you in the prefered language. WE DON´T MIND, and we were both teachers in the past.

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    Our activities planned are:
    General care of the permaculture project Food forest.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Catalan: Fluido
    Alemán: Fluido
    Inglés: Fluido
    Español: Fluido
    Francés: Fluido

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    Este anfitrión ha indicado que está interesado en compartir su idioma o aprender otro.
    Ponte en contacto con él para obtener más información.

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    In tent, with access to a little cute caravan.
    The accomodation at the moment is in a big tent (Glamping but shared). We also have a little caravan, where you can have breakfast and spend some of your free time. The caravan is our multifunctions room, also PLAYROOM for the girls (our two daughters, Alma and Rowen, 6 and 3)

    En tienda más caravana.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    The area is breathtaking there are amazing walks that start on the doorgate, facing the ocean. Surprisingly near town, so that is also a plus.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 3 hours a day, 5 days a week

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 338495173534

Comentarios (14)



Fotos

Comentarios


















Help our family practice English in Vandellòs, Tarragona, Spain
Help with a childcare, house chores and join a nice Italian family in Lanzarote, Spain.