Help with an earthship inspired mountain home in Wrightwood, CA, USA

  • Estados Unidos
  • 238 “me gusta”
  • Última actividad: 28 sept 2023



 Estancia mínima:  Una semana o menos



  • Descripción


    I've been happily hosting on Workaway for over a year and a half and was recently laid off from my job as a software engineer at DreamWorks Animation, so I am excited both to travel some but also continue to work on projects here at my hosting location. I studied at Earthship Biotecture and Cal Earth, and built this house based largely on those styles, which is where I have been hosting here in the mountains of southern California.

    I was born in California, went to school at UCSB, and worked in animation for almost 15 years. I enjoy meeting guests from around the world and enjoying healthy food, light house work, and enjoying the outdoors, especially in the mountains, forests, and hot springs. I am really into trail running and triathlon and have done many ultra marathons in a few different countries.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    I believe the most powerful draw of this place is the mountain atmosphere, the forest, clean air, quiet retreat from the bustle of a city, and beautiful vistas. This area was a retreat for Hollywood stars a century ago.
    Beyond that this is an opportunity to become familiar with the earthship concept as realized in a California mountain town, this includes: rainwater capture, greywater system, thermal mass as related to passive heating and cooling, gardening including the production and use of biochar, carpentry, stone masonry, lime and clay plaster, cob and adobe.

  • Ayuda


    I've been building an earthship inspired home in the mountains near the closest ski resort to Los Angeles for the last 5 years. It's nearly done but I could use help finishing a few things and building an ancillary superadobe dome structure ala Cal Earth (which happens to be nearby) which I want to build as an extra bedroom in lieu of the house being built in that fashion due to the county not forthcoming in permitting that technique for the primary structure.

    Expect to help however suits you best. Usually I appreciate help preparing meals and washing dishes, and maybe also washing windows, and I still have a lot of clay, lime and latex paint wall finishing to accomplish. The work is almost always lightweight and I'm happy to find the most appropriate jobs based on how the weather is outside.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido
    Español: Intermedio

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    I have about 4 years of study in Spanish and some exposure to French.

  • Alojamiento


    I have a 2 bed, 2 bath house with the guest bed and bath available for use by a workawayer, with attached bath. The kitchen and common room are shared. I have a laundry room, outdoor cedar hot tub, and I usually buy most of the food for your stay.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    There isn't much local transport so one would want to have a car. There is space for parking. Otherwise I have had one workawayer arrive in town by bus, or I can pick people up at the station in San Bernardino. The town is about 6,000 people at 6,000 ft elevation in the mountains. There are many trails including the PCT nearby, and others popular for hiking and mountain biking. The Mountain High ski resort is about 5 miles away so it does snow here in the winters though usually very mild with sunny warm days but cold nights. There is a very nice farmer's market in town on Friday afternoons.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    I have wifi throughout the house and outside. The connection is 200Mb/sec.

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    I have a husky. He is great with other dogs. Not compatible with cats.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?


  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    2 hours/day, 5 days/week

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 331223716733

Comentarios (7)



Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (4.9)

Intercambio cultural: (4.9)

Comunicación: (4.9)

Dog and house sitting in Wasilla, Alaska, USA
Language exchange in Tampa Bay, Florida