Help us to put love back in our old farm in the Limousin, France

Country

Francia

41 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    -

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    14/01/2021

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 1 dia

 
  2021 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos un mes

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Hi, We are British with a 10 year old daughter living in an old farm located 30 minutes south of Limoges. We slowly putting love back into the neglected farmhouse, buildings and land. Located 1,5km outside of the village of St Germain les Belles, it is very quiet and peaceful with only one neighbour. We have 2 dogs, one is a rescue dog and needs lots of re-assuance, 2 cats who love cuddles and to sleep on your bed, 7 chickens who just get on with their own things!

    The property used to be a large farm, with huge barns and outbuildings but most of the land was sold away leaving only 2 acres and lots of buildings all in various state of dis-repair. We try to do as much recycling as possible when it comes to renovation, making and building most things ourselves. We have lots of lots of projects to do, from emergency ones like roofing to more creative projects like building glass bottle bathroom. The land currently is used as a large semi-wild "garden", but I love to plant flowers, roses & shrubs everywhere I can. I am very interested in beekeeping and have started to learn about keeping hives but for the time I am planting flowers for the bees! Keeping brambles and nettles from taking over is an annual never ending job, making sure the fences are all ok. Most of the land is surrounded with trees, so there is always broken branches to collect, making sure ivy is not growing on the buildings, keeping hedges under control. Once the temperature gets warmer and everything starts to grow quickly, making sure that the whole place is not lost in vegetation is ongoing.
    I love nature and wildlife, birdwatching, listening to the wind in the trees and we have a big big sky here so star gazing is the best. Laid back, quiet and magical it is!
    I am a designer/ dressmaker making medieval and fantasy inspired dress and run my own business from home & my partner is a webdesigner/ musician who also works from home.
    I am also a keen photographer and during the summer months I participate in fairs to sell my clothing.
    UPDATE November 2020
    Things are a little different this year with the continuing problem of the pandemic. Ideally we would like someone to stay over the winter months but not essential. What is essential at this point is that you have your own mode of transport eg a campervan, motorhome. Firstly, you will need to self isolate for the first 2 weeks. You can have a field to yourself if you wish ; ) Food and bathroom will be provided. The work that we would like to do over winter is outside and inside the barns. Having an extra pair of hands about to help us move forward with repairs and renovations. If you'd like anymore information feel free to contact me.
    I have selected that we would like 5hours of work for 5 days however, during the winter we can be very flexible on this due to the weather and temperature. We would like someone who is quite happy to potter about by themselves as well as be a part of a team when needed.
    We are vegetarian, if you want to cook then you are welcome to.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Práctica de idiomas
    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Mantenimiento general

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    We are an english, welsh and french speaking family but could do with more french speaking but my daughter is fluent. To enjoy the peace of the countryside and nature, to be hidden away from the world.
    We are creative and like to talk, I have lived all over the world and love all types of art and crafts. Martin loves music and politics and loves to chat. All different levels of building work from lime pointing to roofing. It's a beautiful place to stay and be deep in the countryside.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    General maintenance
    Light building work
    Painting
    Diy
    Renovation
    Repairing
    Garden maintenance

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Welsh: Fluido
    Inglés: Fluido
    Francés: Principiante

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    Este anfitrión ha indicado que está interesado en compartir su idioma o aprender otro.
    Ponte en contacto con él para obtener más información.

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    This is for the summer months. Please read UPDATE Nov 2020 (above) for current information due to Covid.

    Camping. We offer camping facilities, we have tents and comfortable sleeping arrangements (bedding, blankets, pillows etc). There is a main large round tent with a sofa and chair as well as a table and bench. There is an electric hook up in the tent and if you wanted we could also provide a small electric cooker. You will have use of our bathroom for toilets and showers until the outside compost toilet has been built. A washing machine for clothing is also available. We can also accommodate travellers with their own tents and camper vans. As it is early in the season at the present time travellers could be more comfortable to have their own camper van/ sleeping car as the tent would be un-heated. The tent is safe and secure however if you are single female and once here you feel unhappy to stay in the tent I could make a bedroom in our living room for you but it won't be particularly quiet due to wooden floors, dogs, cats and general family noises ; )
    We are a vegetarian household so no meat at all, we will provide meals but you are welcome to cook too but not meat, sorry. We do make some vegan meals but most of the time there is some dairy (cheese & eggs) in our food. We eat outside most of the summer months as we are very lucky to have endless days of sunshine. You can eat with us or take the food to your camp. We are totally easy and want to make your stay a wonderful experience. Mealtimes consist of breakfast, lunch (about 1pm/13h), sometime a snack between & supper. Supper is usually from 8pm/20h and it is our main meal. If you want to help with cooking and prefer to make lunch the main meal, then that is fine for us.
    You can also have a campfire should you wish- by prior arrangement.
    When you want to work during the day can be flexible as long as the hours are done. July/ Aug gets very hot during the day so you may want to not work from 1pm -5pm and opt to work mornings and evenings instead. Again this is something we can discuss and be flexible about.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    We have good internet- wifi, you can have access to from outside of the house but not in your camp. You can also use the kitchen or living room to go on the internet. The village has a small convenience store, boulangerie, bar/ tabac, post office, doctor & pharmacy- pretty much everything you could want from a small village. There is a large swimming lake and beach with a bar & restaurant.
    The village is a 20-30 min walk from our place. Public transport is rather non-existent, the trains run north and south a few times a day- so you can go to Limoges or Paris (about 3-4hrs) or south to Toulouse etc. .
    We are on the edge of the Millevaches national park so loads of fantastic walks and activites, not too far from 2 beau villages france- Ségur-le-Château and Collonges-la-Rouge plus chateaux in Pompadour and Coussac Bonneval. Limoges is just 30 minutes up the motorway. During the spring and summer there are endless vide-greniers ( car boot sales) and fetes that take place in all the villages as well as music & food festivals.
    The village of St Germain les Belles has a railway station so we can come and pick you up as well as an airport in Limoges about 35 minutes away.
    If you have any questions do not hesitate to contact me.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Este anfitrión ha indicado que le encanta acoger a nómadas digitales.

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Este anfitrión puede proporcionar un sitio para autocaravanas.

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    Este anfitrión dice que acepta a viajeros con mascotas.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Número de referencia de anfitrión: 325386555281