Come help us with looking after our garden and experience Hornby Island, Canada

Country

Canadá

15 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    -

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    05/05/2021

 
  2022 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos una semana

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    We are a retired couple who both taught at university. We love the country life style and 12 acres of mostly fir and cedar forest. We have a large vegetable garden and a substantial ornamental garden. We are animal lovers and have 2 collies (one a puppy) and 3 cats. I (female) am active in the community esp. dealing with invasive weeds, organizing a monthly veterinary day, and fundraising for a cat spay and neuter program. My partner (male) loves to work in the forest surrounding our 2 cleared acres. We are both social people though my partner spends much time in his study. Living on Hornby Island is a dream come true for us and keeping the dream going by the yearly cleanup and organizing are key tasks for us. Because of visiting family and friends, as well as the unheated accommodation, the available months are May, June and September.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Jardinería
    Mantenimiento general
    Ayuda doméstica

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Hornby Island, British Columbia is a unique community with a wide range of life styles. It is a tourist destination but only really busy July and August. The shoulder seasons of May, June, then Sept are wonderful times with plenty of activities available. Hornby is well known for its music, its natural beauty and sandy beaches. I would recommend Hornby to true nature lovers, but not to people who want a vibrant nightlife and restaurant choices. There are many younger people here, as well as a large number of retirees. Volunteerism is a way of life on Hornby. Our location is a bit isolated for Hornby. We are fit and healthy but we are in our 70'ies. You would need to be self sufficient enough to reach out to others for company beyond what we can provide, or be the kind of person who loves exploring the natural environment.

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    We have a large vegetable garden and a substantial ornamental garden. We have many outbuildings. A person who could help with gardening tasks like weeding and watering, as well as go through cleaning the house, organize sheds, workshop and garage, and work at tidying up our forest, normally together with one of us. Depending on the person, there would be more emphasis on the house and sheds, the gardens, or the forest. In other words, a workaway could tell us which of the tasks s/he would be able to do, and enjoy doing. We would work for 4 hours a day, with a split between inside and outside.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido
    Sami: Fluido
    Swedish: Fluido

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    We have a wooden caravan with a queen size bed. It is a charming, comfortable and private and connected by a deck to a large insulated shed with a good shower, and sitting area. The toilet is an outhouse, away from the caravan compound by 20 meters or so. There is a garden attached to the caravan area. The caravan is unheated and therefore only used May-September. We would want to eat one midday or evening meal together at the "big house", and have the workaway person take care of preparing her/his own breakfast and/or lunch/dinner at the caravan. We eat a lot of vegetables during May-Sept. We do not know how to cook vegan, nor are we ardent cooks. We provide simple, healthy meals.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    Our lifestyle focuses on our gardens, animals and on volunteer activities. I (female) normally enjoy some working alongside a helper. We have two dogs and three cats. All are friendly. Cat or dog allergy would not work, if severe. We live half an hour by foot from the Coop - which is the centre of island life in many ways. To get there, you can mostly walk in nature. The footpath along one of the nicest beaches in BC is wonderful. Hitching rides is a part of Hornby life and normally easy. We can lend you a bike, but it is heavy. There is a nude beach for those so inclined. Hornby is an embracing community and most visitors here for a few weeks find it easy to find buddies. Hornby is famous for its Free Store at its recycling depot. Winter population is 1000 people, shoulder seasons maybe 2000 and July, August 5000+. July and August tend to be super dry and warm, but not hot. Please note that we have friends or family staying in the caravan July and August. For us, the Workaway season is May, June and September.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Uno

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Número de referencia de anfitrión: 324372536864