Help at the old traditional cottage at the Czech-German border in the Lusatian Mountains, the Czech Republic



 Estancia mínima:  Al menos una semana



  • Descripción


    We are a friendly family of three living 20 minutes from Prague city center. However, we are looking for a volunteer (or two) to help us at our old cottage in the mountains, about 250 km north of Prague where we spend most of our summer and weekends.

    The cottage has been recently refurbished and we have started working on the buildings around. I cleaned the inside of one of the barns myself in 2017, in 2018 we had two great volunteers who helped me to clean the insides of the other barn and for the summer 2019 it would be nice to have someone for a week or so who could help me with sanding and repainting old windows and furniture (maybe some work in the garden too).

    Our 16-year-old daughter would also benefit from a conversation in English (we are both fluent) or Spanish (we both speak it a little) and learning more about your country.
    Therefore, we are looking for someone who is native English or Spanish speaker (one person, a couple, or two friends). You shouldn't be afraid of getting dirty .

    We can offer you your own room with 2 separate beds (or a single room), shared bathroom and meals throughout a day (if you like cooking, we can take turns :-)). We have two extra bikes there that you can use.

    The cottage is in a beautiful touristic location right on the German border. It is great for people who love nature, sports, history and architecture.
    It is a short walk to the village where you can find several lively pubs with great beer and food. There are some beautiful small towns nearby - Cvikov on the Czech side, Oybin and Johnsdorf on the German side (we usually cycle there). There is a public transport nearby with buses going to Prague, Liberec, etc.

    You will have time to explore the surroundings and admire the beautiful nature, architecture, small local artistic glass-making workshops, go mushroom-picking, swimming or climbing (if you have the gear). We will be happy to assist you to get the most out of your stay.

    We are not vegetarians and although we don't eat meat every day, we are not able to provide strictly vegetarian diet. We also have two cats so you shouldn't be allergic to cats (and pollen as we are in the middle of the forest and meadows). We do not smoke and we don't want anyone who smokes.
    We also have some bee hives there (I am a hobby beekeeper), but they are far enough to bother you. However, if you want to learn more about hobby beekeeping, feel free to ask.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Práctica de idiomas
    Mantenimiento general
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    We will be happy to show you the surroundings and visit the nearby towns and villages (on the Czech and German side), show you the local artistic glass workshops and other sights. You will have enough time for cycling (we have two extra bikes), walking or swimming. You will have the meals with us and we will be around so we can tell you more about the history, sights and everything that you would like to know about the Czech Republic. If you are keen on climbing, the area is really popular with climbers (great sandstone rocks), so bring your gear with you (We can show you the places. However, we do not climb ourselves.). If you want to learn some Czech, we will be happy to assist you.

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda


    2020 summer update - sorry, we are not sure about about our summer plans, so we do not plan to host volunteers this summer.

    As we would also like to use this opportunity for intercultural and language exchange, we are looking for a native English or Spanish speaker. You should not be allergic to dust (sanding gets quite dusty) and should not mind getting dirty.
    You won't work more than 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week, 2 days of the week free.
    We are looking for someone /one person or a couple or two friends - non-smokers/ to stay with us

  • Idiomas hablados

    Czech: Fluido
    Inglés: Fluido
    Español: Fluido

  • Alojamiento


    You will have your own single room or a room with two separate beds (if you are two). Shared bathroom. Food provided (not vegetarian). You will be eating with us and we can take turns cooking. Wifi in the cottage, but it is slow and limited (so no online movies, but ok for messaging or skyping without video). No smoking, heavy drinking or drugs, please.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    The Lusatian (Luzicke) Mountains also sometimes called Bohemia-Saxon Switzerland are located 250 km north of Prague right on the Czech/German border. The area is easily accessible from Prague (several buses a day). There are lots of hills, forests, beautiful countryside, rocks, picturesque villages full of traditional houses. We are rather active, keen on cycling and hiking and you will be welcomed to join us. The place is great for nature lovers and quiet rest. If you like to party, this is not the best place to go as there are no bars or discos nearby (although there is sometimes live music in the local pubs).
    This is our second Workaway experience as hosts and we hope that the volunteer is interested in learning more about our country and we might learn more about his/her life. We are quite understanding and respectful and you do not need to worry about your privacy and free time; you will have both.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?


  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 288959235987

Comentarios (2)



Come and assist with the education of my children and enjoy nature in Pasinka, Czech Republic
Looking for an English or Spanish native speaker who would be keen to practice the language near Olomouc, Czech Republic