We are an English couple in the process of moving to Portugal. We have a lovely old Quinta and a beautiful piece of land.

Country

Portugal

60 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    -

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    29/07/2021

 
  2022 
E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    WE ARE HERE…!!!

    After many delays, planning, and much work we have finally arrived in our beautiful valley in Central Portugal. The summer is warm and the old stone Quinta is cool. We are acclimatising and saying hello to the house and the land.

    The major internal works are nearly complete.. The new windows are installed and the electricity is being finished as i type. So within the next week or two we should have the clean shell to begin the process of making a home. We were very kindly given some lovely furniture from friends and relatives in England which we brought with us in a large van. So we have beds, sofas, a basic kitchen and some odds and ends.

    Everything is still quite basic but we are happy to be here and happy to welcome anybody who wants to come and enjoy this stunning area and help us to set up our new home.

    To introduce ourselves; I -Paul - am a professional musician (amongst other things) and my wife Ali is a chef and experienced farmer and permaculture gardener (amongst many other things - including research scientist, safari guide and more). We have lots of energy and experience to offer and want to share this journey with like minded folks from all over..

    There are out buildings to redevelop and a lots of work to be done on the land from replacing Eucalyptus and Pine plantation with native forest to setting up permaculture veg and fruit production.

    The long term goal is to have a space that can host guests and courses for mindful holidays and retreats including meditation music and arts; side by side with growing harvesting and preparing wholesome healthy food.

    So if you have some time to spare or even if you're just passing by please do come and say hello..

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Mantenimiento general
    Ayuda en una granja
    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Práctica de idiomas

  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    We are in a very beautiful rural area and will be happy to show you around and introduce you to local Portuguese culture. At home we want to create a place of learning and sharing.
    I am happy to help anybody who is musically inclined. I play a LOT of instruments and particularly enjoy obscure traditional ethnic music and sound healing.
    Ali is happy to teach people anything food related. From growing to cooking and nutrition. We are both very keen growers. The garden will soon be alive with a rich variety of colourful wonderful smelling edible fruits, veg, herbs and trees. We have made a small start already.
    We are both long term mediators and there will be a space to learn and practice meditation. In order to foster a meditative environment we'd like no smoking, drug taking or alcohol here. This may be off-putting to some but we have found it very helpful in maintaining a clear space and hopefully for some it will be a great attraction and a huge benefit.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    To begin with there will be a lot of work getting the house up to standard with second fits and finishing work.
    The land has lots of potential and opportunities for interesting development. And there are out buildings to renovate..
    Initially the work will be quite chunky. Broad stokes to cast. Which is very satisfying and each day makes a huge difference..
    I have made a Flickr page with pictures of the work so far. I can send you the link in a private message if you are interested.
    So any land based gardening or forestry skills will be most welcome as well as any DIY or trade skills.
    But mostly an open hearted willingness to engage and share and help with joy.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido
    Francés: Intermedio
    Hindi: Intermedio

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    I speak fluent native English I need to learn European Portuguese I have a little French and German from school.

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    Accommodation will initially be quite basic. The house is newly renovated and all will be simple. We will provide everything you need to start and will build things up over time as we settle into our new home. During the summer we will also have yurts and outside accommodation options. Food will be plentiful and delicious.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    Porto and Lisbon are both within 2 hours drive and we are not so far from the coast. Nazeré beach with some of the best surfing in the world is less than an hour away. The stunning São Juliäo Gorge is walking distance as is the lovely town of Maçãs de Dona Maria. The historic University City of Coimbra is lass than an hours drive as is the stunning C12th castle town of Tomar in the other direction. The renowned pilgrimage town of Fatima is also quite close. Local transport is good with lots of busses and trains from Pombal. I am always happy to collect people and offer lifts as time allows.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    We have wifi in the house. It's not the fasted in the world but fine for e-mail and watching youtube. Video chat can be a little jumpy at times so not ideal for work but ok for social and family communication.

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Camper vans fine here

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    I love pets but they are not always suitable here so we'd need to chat beforehand.. It depends on the pet and the relationship.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    to be flexibly decided but no more than 5 hrs/day 5 days/week


Número de referencia de anfitrión: 287723511721