Helping hand for our non-profit supporting female refugees in Attica, Greece

Country

Grecia

actualizado  

151 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    -

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    03/12/2022

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    76.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 10 dias

 
  2022 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos un mes

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    . We are a mobile contact point for women and children on the run in Attica (Greece) a region north of Athens. Since the 08.03.2022 our converted truck offers a space for medical advice and preventive health care from a doctor and a midwife. In our two tents we initiate discussion groups, sports courses, and childcare. We provide tea and coffee, offer workshops about women’s health and open the space for everyone who wants to take part. The situation of women fleeing is unlike that of men, characterised by additional, gender-specific burdens and challenges. The aim of this project is to encourage empowerment of women in a hard situation and showing solidarity. In addition, we want to be a mouthpiece and draw attention to the topic of seeking refuge and gender and the situation at the European external borders. It is a NGO that understands itself as political organisation with an intersectional view of society, working with a queer-feminist and anti-racist consensus. The organisation exists since 2021. We drive to three camps on five days a week. There are usually about 8 or 9 crew members living in the crew house in Oropos. Part of the crew is a translator, some people for childcare, sports and handcrafting, a doctor, and a midwife. We live in a house in a beautiful house with a big garden close to the beach. Everyone normally eats dinner together. The last months showed us that all the reproductive work such as cleaning, shopping, and cooking takes a lot of energy, especially after working at the camps. That’s why we are looking for a person willing to work as the helping hand of the crew taking over these tasks.

    PLEASE READ OUR WEBSITE BEFORE APPLYING


    Please note, its a project from women for women, so please no cis-males in the project. You(cis-male) are very welcome to spread the word about it and support us that way!

    It is essential that you understand our non-hierachical and self-organised way of working so feel free to contact us if you have questions about this :)

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica

  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    The crew is changing every few weeks and people from different (cultural) backrounds come together. You can definetly expect to meet interesting inspiring people in the house.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    It is important that you note that this is a political project with a feminist perspective. we work without hierachies and self-organised. this is very important because it requires self-reliance and being able to carry responsibility and accountability for the self and for the team. It means also that when there is an issue on sight, the crew members fix it together. We work as a team at all times and our goal is creating an empowering space, not to profile ourselves as saviours.

    On this note, we are searching for different crew members. As a helping hand we are looking for someone willing to support the crew with basic house tasks, cooking, cleaning, and shopping. We also need support with child care (professional preferred) and Arabic or Farsi translators.

    The work at the refugee camps at the European border is mentally and physically hard. Sensibility for the other crew members privacy and personal space are essential. A driving license is required. And if you can drive a truck even better!

  • Idiomas hablados

    Árabe: Fluido
    Alemán: Fluido
    Inglés: Fluido

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    You can choose if you want to sleep in a double room in the basement (it is nice and cold there), in the communal sleeping space on the maisonette, on the balcony, or in a tent in the garden.
    You will work 5 days and have 2 days off when you get to explore the region with the other crew members.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    There are many beautiful beaches, hills, and forests close by. It is a requirement to have a drivers license and being at least 25 years old, as the car insurance only covers drivers at the age of 25 years or older. A drivers license is mandatory as shopping possibilities are too far ( like 2 km ) to carry the amounts by foot.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Our internet connection is very bad and partly slowly.

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    It is possible to park the van in our parking lot.

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    No pets allowed as our dogs cant handle them on the property.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4 hours a day, 5 days a week


Número de referencia de anfitrión: 181365979238