Experience Living In the American Southwest - New Mexico, USA

Country

Estados Unidos

9 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    -

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    21/07/2022

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 2 dias

 
  2022 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos 2 semanas

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Seeking a unique cultural experience surrounded by beautiful landscapes in the U.S.?

    Curious about off-grid living?

    Looking for a way to explore a deeper connection to the Earth and nature?

    I’d love to host you.

    Hi, I’m Alex. I live off the grid on ten acres of pinyon-juniper 'pygmy forest' and sage, in the high desert of NW New Mexico.

    This area is rich with archaeological traces of indigenous cultures. Numerous modern-day Native communities live nearby—including the Navajo Nation and Southern Ute.

    I’m an archaeologist and would be thrilled to share my knowledge with you.

    You’ll enjoy amazing sunrise views of the San Juan and La Plata Mountains in Colorado. Take in the breathtaking sight of Angel Peak and other mesas in NM at sunset.

    Explore mountains, canyons, rivers, mesas, forests, and deserts in every direction.

    Here you’ll become attuned to the rhythm of nature. Wander “out your door” into miles of public lands. While gaining firsthand experience in gardening off the grid, water reclamation, composting, solar usage, and more via your work exchange here.

    The property is just an hour SE of Durango, CO—a cosmopolitan mountain town overflowing with restaurants, guided outdoor adventure opportunities, and a lively art scene. Navajo Lake and the San Juan River are about 45 minutes away—perfect for fishing, Stand Up Paddleboarding, and kayak enthusiasts.

    I’m a kind, progressive person who values international travel and cultural exchange. I hope you’ll consider spending some time here. I can’t wait to meet you.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Ayuda en una granja
    Mantenimiento general

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    >Discover traces of indigenous cultures.
    >Live in proximity to modern-day Native communities.
    >Learn from a professional archaeologist with over 25 years of experience.
    >Grow food at high altitudes in arid conditions.
    >Experience the process of composting and building soil.
    >Investigate off-grid living as an option for yourself.
    >Connect and develop a friendship with a U.S. native—sharing stories and learning from each other.
    >Enjoy the fruits of your labor if you’re present when crops are harvested (details TBD.)
    >Benefit from access to a variety of boats and adventure gear to facilitate your free time explorations in the area.
    >Utilize the private mountain biking/hiking trail built on the property.
    >Explore miles and miles of public land bordering the property.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    The property has two gardens—a greywater garden and a larger drip-irrigated garden. I’m seeking help with both gardens and miscellaneous projects around the property. Potential work needs include planting, watering, weeding, harvesting, light carpentry, etc.

    I’m looking for someone to put in roughly 15 hours of work each week, over three to five days per week. We’ll work out a flexible schedule that feels good for both of us.

    In exchange for your kind labor, you’ll receive a safe, one-of-a-kind free place to stay with beautiful views, immediate access to public lands, and shared harvest (if you’re here at that time.)

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido
    Español: Intermedio
    Khmer: Principiante

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    I’m an ongoing student of Espanol and a former student of Khmer. I’d love to continue learning either language—or other languages—by working with a native speaker. I’m happy to help you learn English too.

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    Camping style accommodations. I’ll provide a large 6-person tent if needed, or you can bring your tent, tipi, camper, vehicle, or van. There is a composting toilet on the property and unlimited access to potable water.

    There are multiple locations on the 10-acre property for camping.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    I’ve traveled all over the U.S.—and to many places in the world. I believe the Four Corners area of the Southwestern U.S. is one of the most interesting and visually striking regions of North America. There are countless national parks and monuments, state parks, and other public lands to explore in this region.

    Hiking, backpacking, rafting, mountain biking, and stand-up paddleboarding are all easy to access here. These are activities that I participate in regularly. I’m happy to make suggestions for adventures in your free time and to share gear with you if I have what you’re looking for.

    TRANSPORTATION:

    It is somewhat remote, so having your own vehicle would be ideal. Alternately, I’m willing to provide a ride to Durango, CO at least once a week if I’m already headed there.

    Please reach out if you have any questions. I look forward to connecting with you.

    One Love.
    ~Alex

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Digital nomads are welcome. If you have a hotspot, you’ll be able to access a decent cell signal here from most cell carriers. Please note that my internet access for work comes from my hotspot—I do not have wifi or satellite internet to share for streaming. However, I’m willing to allow Workaway guests to use the hot spot for brief periods if needed.

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Vans and campers are welcome. The road access is unpaved and road conditions vary—depending upon the weather. It would be difficult to navigate for RVs.

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    While staying here, you’re sure to get kisses from Hugo, my older border collie-type dog. He’s very chill. You’re welcome to bring pets with you that are friendly with other dogs and people—as I occasionally have guests and other dogs come to visit.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 3 hours a day, 5 days a week


Número de referencia de anfitrión: 287427143232