Come and help us with vegetable garden and innovative ideas to help us create a self sustaining life style in Karwar, India



20 “me gusta”

  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Última actividad


  • facebook friends

    Numero de amigos en Facebook


  • Medallas

    Facebook verified

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos 2 semanas

  • Descripción


    Hi,Im dolly fernades and my parents Johnson & Gracey are located in Karwar a coastal city in karnataka bordering Goa.we live in a ground + first floor house in karwar. A very quiet and isolated location.we are looking at few volunteers who could help them in gardening and improve their vegetable garden.The plot is approximately 100 feet x 80 feet site ,Its has adequate water with a well.10- 12 coconut trees,a chickoo tree and a mango tree.The house even has a backup generator and wi-fi internet connection.The property is often visited few relatives and weekend tourists who live at the outhouse .Its easy to move around with couple of scooters which are in the house or you could fix some old antique bicycles which you could restore if interested. The house a has pet dog ceaser and couple of cats.The plot has a out-house with attached kitchen which has occasional guests who rent the property short term weekends on rent.The property has the potential for sustained living with self sustained vegetable garden and host is very keen for the volunteer to help to upgrade it with thier expertise.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Mantenimiento general
    Ayuda en una granja
    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Ayuda doméstica
    Cuidado de animales
    Proyectos artísticos

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    karwar is located in the coast of karnataka ,It is rich with local culture,art and local architecture , cusine.karwar history goes back to Portuguese traders knew Karwar as Cintacora, In the 17th century, refugees from Portuguese rule in Goa moved to Karwar.There are lot of historic sites which could be visited in around karwar,Few of these places have cultural festivals and the volunteers can be a part of these events .Karwar is known for sea food,the volunteers could involve clams picking and fishing and get involved in cooking local cuisine which usually prepared out of coconut.The locals speak konkani and kannada,They could involve themselves in learning this language.There are various Temples which are located around karwar the most famous being gokarna,They could involve themselves on temple visits and learn the history of art and architecture of temples .Has hosts we certainly there will be exposure in terms of composting within the house and utilizing the waste products for vegetable farm.landscaping and upgrading hardscapes can give a exposure to building architecture.
    1. Insight into local village life.
    2. Exposure to landscape of karwar ,Islands and western ghats
    3. Plenty of nature photography.The back waters of kali river surrounding the western ghats has lot of bird s some of these birds can be seen around my home. Around 60 km radius there is dandelie,Bhagwan Mahavir Wildlife Sanctuary
    4. Trekking,Fishing ,clam picking/crab hunting ,interact with local fishermen
    5. First hand experience of hosting tourists in the guest house
    6. Enjoy local food/exotic sea food and hospitality.
    7. Attend Local festivals around the village
    8. Enjoy costal beaches,Paloleum,polem ,ohm beach
    9. Fantastic photography opportunities
    10. Ornithology
    11. Organic-farming ,sustainability ,exposure to locally grown vegetables

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda


    Home improvement ,upgrade the vegetable garden ,Landscape.Basic painting work.we are looking for volunteers who are independent and has experience in maintain a vegetable garden or even come with innovative ideas were we could plant a few crops to have a self sustaining life style.There is isolated 400sft out house which has a attached kitchen which is given on short home stay for could do promotional activities and help in house keeping if it interests the volunteer.
    1. Tourist home on weekends
    2. organic farming and waste bio digesting
    3.Landscaping,hardscaping ,organizing plants,Grouping them as per patterns and species available
    4. Photography & architecture
    5. House keeping and interacting in case of weekend end tourist
    6.Painting and restoration

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido
    Hindi: Fluido
    Kannada: Fluido

  • Alojamiento


    500 sft carpet area with attached bathroom on the first floor will be shared with another volunteer or guest.The room has a huge sit out 250 sft with board games and a refrigerator/washing machine .there is a work desk which could be used for any other freelance activity you are involved with your laptop/or sketch book.
    There is isolated 400sft out house which has a attached kitchen which is given on short home stay for tourists.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    since karwar is on the coast and connected by a estuary ,There are various activities the volunteers can be involved with.
    clams picking in the river
    lot of beaches close by were they could relax in the evening
    the closest touristic zone is paloleum,goa which is just 35 km from the location
    if the volunteer is experience in building ,He could build a brick oven and experiment with baking,Ample place around to create your own activities.
    bird sanctuary 40 kms away
    there are 2 island resorts 10 kms away,kudumkude island & devbagh) you can take visit these island on weekend
    45kms away form temple town gokarna
    15kms from polem beach ,a isolated beach

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 2-3 hours a day, 5 days a week

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 284867773937