Come and enjoy at my summer cottage in Aalborg, Denmark



21 “me gusta”

  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Última actividad



 Estancia mínima:  Al menos una semana

  • Descripción


    Location & what you can do here:
    I live in Aalborg, Northern Denmark which is situated on Limfjord. Please note this is approx 5.5hrs from Copenhagen. The city is 3rd largest in Denmark. After becoming a university city, it has been growing and changing, whilst still maintaining its charm. Here you will find a great mix of modern and old architecture, co-existing well together, with a growing number of sponsored street art on the buildings.

    Aalborg is easy to walk around and the international airport nearby means easy access to other countries.
    Sweden is only a train and boat trip away (a day tour to Gothenburg is do-able). World renown Skagen- prev. a famous artist colony, is well worth a visit as this coastal town differs from elsewhere- here is where two seas meet and cross opposite each other. A bus ride from Aalborg, you can walk along miles of fantastic sandy beaches and if brave enough, bathe in the North Sea. Copenhagen is worth visiting before or after your visit.

    Aalborg also boasts Denmarks most well known bar street- Jomfru Ane Gade (see wiki) if pubs are of interest. The harbourfront is the city's hub in summer, with an outdoor bathing area, a park to relax in or have a an afternoon walk along. Many outdoor concerts, bars and festivals happen here during the summer.

    Accommodation & working tasks (briefly):
    A summer cottage, single storey, 50 sqm. just 2km from the city center.
    I would like to offer free accommodation in exchange for doing renovation work (carpentry) on the cottage. Depending on working hours per day, meals may be provided (up to 3hrs/day- cooking facilities only).

    You will need prior knowledge of maintenance & carpentry work as I am unskilled in this. I can have one traveller stay. I may consider two (one couch-bed), however you must both be proficient in DIY skills. I provide facilities to make meals (V). I will provide meals, depending on how many hours worked per day (eg. 3hrs & under= accommodation only & cooking facilities).

    This is an opportunity for a cheap working vacation with an experienced fellow world traveller.
    You will have plenty of time to go around Aalborg and to sightsee. :)

    About me:
    I have travelled to many countries and lived and worked in Europe 25yrs. Originally from Australia, I moved to Belgium to work in a Chateau when I was 23yrs old. I like to try all types of travel and have couchsurfed, chartered and backpacked my way through 30 countries. I have been part of organising meetings for travellers and attend them when I am abroad. I am friendly, easy going and like social and quiet time. My hobbies are many and varied, the latest being ice-hockey & skating because I never did that back home. :-) I get along with all ages and people from all walks of life.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Mantenimiento general

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Regarding cultural exchange:
    I have actively been a host/surfer/backpacker since I was 16yrs old and been to 30 countries so far and still do it from time to time.
    I have lived in The Nederlands, Sweden, Russia, Britain and settled in Denmark and love interacting and hearing of others travel and life experiences. Many of my close friends are those I met through travel or arranging meetings for travellers here. I am Australian and easy going and love meeting new people.

    I work part time in allied health. I understand 4 languages and speak 2 fluently (English, danish) and understand swedish & norwegian. I can share travel experiences, and show you around the city and suggest travel itinerary if you wish to see more of Denmark or Sweden.

  • Ayuda


    Work task goals:
    • Experience with house renovations/ repairs including:
    -- Fix roof leaks (outside)
    -- Woodwork on house structure*
    -- Installing door & frame (inside)
    -- Fixing gaps in walls (inside)
    -- Sanding/oiling open beams on ceiling
    -- Other small-medium sized repair/building on the house
    -- Seal tongue & groove flooring

    *The outside of the house needs to be made winter-ready. Wooden window casing frames/sills need to be made for 4 medium sized windows (outdoor/indoor), some wooden planks on the outside of the house need replacing, wood oiled.

    • Garden:
    -- Removal of garden clippings/waste
    -- Hedge clipping
    -- Weeding/garden clearing

    Experience with DIY/ house renovation/carpentry is a MUST.

    Minimum 5 day stay.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Danish: Fluido
    Inglés: Fluido

  • Alojamiento


    I have a double sofa bed in the lounge room.

    The summer cottage is insulated & has wood vaneer flooring, sofa bed, dining table/chairs, kitchen and basic bathroom (shower repair is first job on the list). Ceilings have open beam ceilings. It is simple living and restrictions on water usage (enough for very quick shower with warm water), electricity. I expect you to have good personal hygiene & to be tidy. There is the possibility for you to wash clothes/ take a good hot shower at my student room, accessible by bus or bike (cheap hire of bicycles available nearby).
    Internet connection is only available by using your phone as a hotspot. Reception is good.

    I have few rules but they are important- I expect you to show consideration as it is a smaller place (50sqm). I am vegetarian and do not allow meat/eggs/fish on the premises, however I have no problem whatsoever with what you eat outside of the premises, even if I am with you eg. if we go somewhere to eat. :-)
    No-smoking is preferred, otherwise smoking is allowed *outside*. I have an outdoor terrace with table & chairs, even if I am sitting there, it's ok.
    This is a drug free zone. Alcohol consumption in reasonable amounts is ok. I don't have a TV. Internet access if via your mobile-phone hotspot.

    The city is within walking distance (2km only).

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    Feel free to ask about sights and transport possibilities to/from other parts of Denmark, Scandinavia or the world. Aalborg International Airport is just 20minutes from the city center. Trains are to all parts of Denmark and in the north there is a ship (3,5hrs) to Gothenburg in Sweden. London, Copenhagen & Amsterdam are only 1hr flight from here.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?


  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    3+ hrs/day

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 284177662564