Help on our beautiful rainforest property in Humpty Doo, Northern Territory, Australia

Country

Australia

33 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    01/11/2020

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 1 dia

  • Medallas

 
  2021 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos una semana

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Our names are Wolfgang and Kim.

    We are living on a rural property which is not a productive farm, but more a lifestyle choice. We don't raise any produce or livestock for income (only a small vegie garden for our own supply), we just love rainforest and monsoon vine thickets and doing our best to make it survive here.

    Our 6 hectare property is mostly natural bush & seasonal wetlands & is home to many wallabies, possums & native birds. At one end of the property we have planted extensive monsoon vine thicket gardens, which are now more than 15 years old & well on the way to becoming a dense, tall rain forest. As the rainforest is “artificial” , it needs a lot of maintenance in order to stay in “balance”.

    We appreciate help from travellers/backpackers to keep this balance up.

    We prefer at least 1 week’s advance notice of your arrival. Please contact us to discuss availability. We also would like to ask you to organise travel insurance for your own benefit (and no, no traveller has been involved in any significant accidents on our property, but this is a question of policy :) ).

    We are very much looking forward to hearing from you!

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Mantenimiento general
    Ayuda doméstica

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    We have hosted travellers/backpackers for years and we are open minded and easygoing. Wolfgang is handy and has built most of the buildings on the property by himself and depending on what projects are on, travellers can acquire/exchange basic construction skills. We are also pretty knowledgeable about the native plants and planting and are happy to share our experience and our unique lifestyle with you. Depending on the time of the year and how busy we are, we furthermore enjoy taking travellers onto fishing/crabbing trips or other small excursions.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    We appreciate help with keeping the natural bush free of invasive weeds & maintaining & growing the rainforest garden. So the work includes pulling vines from trees, digging holes, weeding, spreading mulch, pushing wheelbarrows etc, and helping out in our small domestic vegetable garden. We also like help with our many small building projects. Let us know if you have any special skills or interests. We expect in average 5 hours help a day, five days a week.

  • Idiomas hablados

    English: Fluido

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    Accommodation in self contained shack. Children by arrangement No TV/Internet. Smoking OK. We will provide you with food for breakfast/lunch which you can prepare in the shack, and we usuallly will have dinner together (cooking by arrangement).

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    We’re close to the public bus route to Darwin. Shopping centre, public library, medical centre & police station & the Arnhem Hwy to Kakadu are 3 km away.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Este anfitrión puede proporcionar un sitio para autocaravanas.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Número de referencia de anfitrión: 275581683681