Help us with DIY in Hillsborough, southeastern New Brunswick, Canada

Country

Canadá

9 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    -

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    19/06/2022

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 1 dia

 
  2022 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos una semana

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Dave and I are a retired couple living in our century old home in the picturesque town of Hillsborough in southeastern New Brunswick. Since July, 2015, we have been hosts on a rental platform offering a bedroom overlooking the garden with adjoining bathroom and access to a beautiful screened in porch. We have a large vegetable garden, fruit bushes and extensive perennial gardens. We spend our summers growing our veggies, berries and flowers, doing day trips to New Brunswick's beaches, parks and trails, and raising our 8 chickens in our little haven within view of the Petitcodiac River, which winds its way south to the Bay of Fundy. This summer we have decided to put our rental profile on hold and try Workaway as we have several renovation projects, landscaping, gardening we need help with. We are sociable and relaxed hosts and always look forward to meeting new and interesting people. We have both travelled to Europe, the Middle East, and to a number of States and Provinces in North America. For the past several years we have been exploring our 'own backyard', the east coast of Canada. Andrée loves nature and is an avid gardener. Dave is interested in building, gardening & renewable energy ideas.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Mantenimiento general

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    We are keen to share our enthusiasm and appreciation of the Fundy area. Hillsborough hosts nature trails, Recreation Park with biking and walking trails, train museum, raspberry u-pick, German Bakery, Farmer’s market, several small businesses and some charming eateries. We are about a 15 minute drive from The Hopewell Rocks, one of the Marine Wonders of the World, and the site of some of the World’s Highest Tides. Also within a fifteen minute drive is Albert County Museum, a gem of a historical site with courthouse, jail, records building, community hall, and agricultural building with many interesting displays. The museum hosts cultural events throughout the tourist season. Among Fundy area's many attractions are the Lighthouse at Cape Enrage, Fundy National Park and the Fundy Trail Parkway. We live in an exceptionally beautiful area, visited by people from all over the world. We are a short drive to Prince Edward Island and to Nova Scotia.
    You could learn hands on construction and gardening skills and we would welcome input about gardening methods.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    We have plans to put in a new door in our screened in porch. There would be framing involved. The outdoor stairs and a stone wall behind the screen porch both need to be rebuilt. That would involve some cement work. We will be putting in some wood fencing in a couple of places in the yard. We will be building an outdoor run for our chickens which we could use help with. The house also needs some scraping and painting done. Dave is capable with construction projects and would be looking for a helping hand with any of these projects. We have a large vegetable garden and extensive perennial gardens and can always use help with planning, planting and maintaining them.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    Large private room with queen size bed and sitting area upstairs. Use of screened in porch with refrigerator, kettle, coffee maker, microwave & barbeque. Toilet and shower facilities downstairs. We will share use of kitchen and can provide meals and access to fresh vegetables and eggs.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    There is no public transportation here. parking available.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    We have a good wifi connection.

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    We have a good parking space but could accommodate no larger than a camper van.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Número de referencia de anfitrión: 261869937663