Gardening help needed in Dandenong Ranges, Melbourne, Australia



16 “me gusta”

  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks


  • last activity

    Última actividad


  • Medallas


 Estancia mínima:  Al menos 2 semanas

  • Descripción


    Hi I'm Martyn. My partner, Jeff, and I moved to Olinda east of Melbourne, Australia in November 2019 to start a new chapter in our lives together. We have lived in the UK, New Zealand and now Australia. We found a great house with a 5 acre garden in a fabulous location in the Dandenong Ranges. I have a background in farming and horticulture and have a 'vision' for our new garden here. The garden was laid out and landscaped in the early 1970's but has since become somewhat overgrown. The 'bones' of the garden are good, it just needs revitalising and bring back to life and that's where we need your help.
    Everyone that visits or stays falls in love with the place, it has a homely magical feel that makes everyone welcome.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Mantenimiento general

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    I need someone that not only wants to be in the garden working but someone who's passionate about it. I'm happy to share my knowledge about plants and gardening. Skills that will help you to go on to be more confident in future similar stays.

  • Ayuda


    Although I spend most of my days out in the garden realising our vision for the place, I need help ! We need to cut back the overgrowth, weed and mulch the borders. We have to maintain what we have established as well as develop new areas and features in the garden. You'll need to be physically fit, although the garden is relatively flat you will to be able to load up the trailer with weeds, move rocks and boulders. You will need to be comfortable using garden machinery such as brush cutters, blowers and possibly chain saws ( if qualified).

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido

  • Alojamiento


    We have a separate Cottage (The Bothy) to the main house where you can stay. It's fully equipped with all the comforts you'll need. It has a kitchen, laundry facilities, shower room and living room and separate bedroom.
    Of course there will be occasions when we eat together in the evenings for a BBQ for example but we will not be providing food or cooking for you. The Cottage kitchen has everything you'll need to prepare and cook your meals. The village shops including a small supermarket, bakery coffee shops, pubs and restaurants are all an easy walk away. We are happy to take you to join us when we go shopping to the bigger shops & supermarkets in the local towns.
    We would prefer non smokers, but definitely no smoking in or around the property. Although beautiful, the ranges are a bush fire risk and we don't want to risk a fire.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    The Dandenong ranges are an amazing place to walk, cycle and explore. There are lots of local rural attractions and the bright lights of Melbourne & it's suburbs are only a bus & train ride away if you don't have a car.
    We often go on walks exploring the the local bush land or venture further afield around Melbourne and the coast by car.You'd be welcome to join us on an adventure, as we explore the area ourselves as relative newcomers.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?


  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    5 hours /day, 3 days/week

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 257636894192