Help with some small DIY and practice your English near Manchester, UK

Country

Gran Bretaña

actualizado  

381 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    61  

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    04/07/2022

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 5 dias

  • Medallas

    Top Host
 
  2022 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos una semana

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    As the Pandemic has not entirely disappeared, we need to be vigilant, as another variant could emerge.

    I am a retired EFL and IELTS Teacher (English as a Foreign Language) who is also an enthusiastic DIYer (Do It Yourself) who is renovating a detached house, north of Manchester City in her spare time. I welcome volunteers who are NOT searching for employment but who want to learn some DIY practical skills, connected to house renovation and general gardening. I am also planning to create a kitchen garden where I hope to grow vegetables. As I want to landscape the garden, anyone with building or carpentry skills is particularly welcome.
    Help with basic housework, such as vacuuming and washing up after meals is also necessary.
    In exchange for your assistance, I am not charging tuition fees, but the opportunity of improving your English language skills for everyday situations, and usually recommend a minimum period of 1 week. Renovating a house and gardening can sometimes be a bit dirty, dusty and messy, and suggest you wear your old clothes when attempting some of the tasks. I cannot accept absolute beginners in English, I am not offering a structured language course and you will need at least intermediate level English or CERF B1 English, IELTS score 4.5 –5.0, however I can offer guidance on improving your language skills.
    As a visitor you may require a Visa, please check with the British Embassy in your country.

    The best way to find out your English language level is to follow a test, many are available on You Tube.
    I currently volunteer at the Science & Industry Museum in Manchester as well as working as a freelance Tutor for English, German and Maths.

    Non-smokers particularly welcome, Vegans might feel a little uncomfortable as I cook with animal products, such as eggs, cheese, fish and chicken.
    For those of you who are seriously interested in studying the English language, the British Council website in your country, and the BBC website Learning English, both offer learning materials available for you to use.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    I am also interested in Science Communication and volunteer at the Science & Industry Museum in Manchester. There are many exhibitions which I can arrange for you to visit, as well the free walking tours in Manchester which you can join.
    I enjoy cooking, and collect cookery books, and have learnt to prepare a variety of worldwide dishes. I am not really a red meat eater, preferring fish and chicken, as well as vegetables. I can offer you accommodation and access to the washing machine, BUT you will need to buy your own food which I can teach you how to prepare in order to improve your culinary skills.
    The local public Gardens are within walking distance which are not far from the local Market trading 4 days a week, and has a variety of fruit, vegetables, fish and meat on sale.
    Bolton also has a public swimming pool and public library with a small museum and art gallery.
    There are many shops however some have not reopened following the Pandemic.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    Are you interested in improving your existing English language skills beyond intermediate level, as well as acquiring some DIY and gardening skills. Also help create a vegetable plot, or perhaps acquire some building skills. All equipment and materials are provided including work gloves.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Alemán: Fluido
    Inglés: Fluido
    Francés: Fluido

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    I am renovating a 3 bedroom house, and a recently decorated bedroom can be made available to you. Renovating and gardening can sometimes be a bit dirty and messy, so I can offer some old second hand clothing that I have collected for those dusty tasks.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    I live 40 minutes by bus and train from the center of Manchester which has a lot of major attractions.
    Manchester International Airport is approximately 50 minutes away by bus and train. The Lancashire coast (Liverpool, Southport) is also not far away, by public transport, train or bus being available.
    Before I can make you an offer, I will require you to confirm your identity by sending a copy of a document, such as a passport, to my email address, together with a copy of a vaccination certificate.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Ample space for parking a camper van on the road in front of my house, no restrictions.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Uno

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (4.8)

Intercambio cultural: (4.8)

Comunicación: (4.6)







































Número de referencia de anfitrión: 249791111391