Explore the jungle and help developing eco-tourism at Bijagua - Río Celeste, Costa Rica

Country

Costa Rica

91 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    12/03/2019

 
  2021 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos una semana

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Hello ! My name is Jorge, real Costa rican guy with indigenous blood. I live in Bijagua, a typical-familial-peaceful place with 2000 people.
    This unique village is located between the two impressive volcanos Tenorio and Miravalles, creating a biological corridor water-supplied by many rivers, and especially the famous Rio Celeste. Put together with the humid climate, it has created a very rich ecosystem with a high biodiversity.
    I was born in this area and I am very knowledgable about the fauna and flora existing down here. I want to use this high biodiversity potential to developp the eco-tourism activity at Bijagua.
    This is the very beginning of the project and I have many ideas. My priority right now is to set up my website proposing different types of tours in the area (I am a guide) and see how I can promote it and make it sustainable.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Mantenimiento general
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda en una granja
    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Ayuda doméstica
    Cuidado de animales
    Hostelería/turismo
    Práctica de idiomas
    Proyectos artísticos
    Ayuda con ordenadores/Internet

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    You will have the opportunity to meet many amazing ticos as I know everyone in this little town. We are living like a small community down here, everyone is always ready to help when needed and very kind.
    You will also improve your spanish, learn how to cook tico´s food, see many animals (monkeys&sloths -among others- just in a 100m circle around the house), do jungle hikes into beautiful volcano national parks, do river fishing...
    Just come here to enjoy the pura vida life.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    1. Internet website : to create and set up my website to developp my guide activity.
    2. Langages : I am currently improving my English and learning French so if you could help me with it that would be great.
    3. Construction and art : there are still many things to do in the house, wood construction, painting, decorations...
    4. Others : depending on the moment you come and on what you would like to do for the community.

    Volunteers I am looking for : enthousiastic, optimistic, who likes to learn, discover and share. I won’t be behind you to see if you are working or not so you need to know how to work independently. Also, I won’t give you precise tasks necessarely and we usually will discuss at the beginning about what you could do during your stay, depending on your skills and what you like to do. I like people who are not passive and who propose things to do, to improve.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido
    Español: Fluido
    Francés: Principiante

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    I just built a small house with a kitchen, bathroom, laundry facilities, fridge and a bedroom. Suitable for 1 volunteer or a couple for now. My mother (house just next to the first one) has some rooms available too.
    I am usually sharing all the meals (tico style) with the volunteers.
    Wifi would be soon available in the house but there is internet everywhere (kolbi for example) and at 100 meters from the house there is a small supermarket/bakery with wifi from which it is possible to work.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    Bijagua is a perfect spot to enjoy North Costa Rica! There is plenty to do during your free time :
    > Beautiful Rio Celeste
    > Jungle hikes
    > Fishing
    > Waterfalls
    > Participate to farm activities : to milk the cows, plant, harvest...
    > Volcano Miravalles and Tenorio
    > Cacao plantation and production
    > Butterfly garden
    > Horse riding
    > Frog observation
    > Enjoy the village at night (bars, places to dance and meet people...)
    > You can also potentially join me in tours with clients
    > ...

    And I like to join you for those activities when I have time.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Número de referencia de anfitrión: 244143987241