Homeschool a wonderful kid at a beach front paradise in the Osa Peninsula, Costa Rica

Country

Costa Rica

373 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    18  

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    03/08/2022

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 4 dias

  • Medallas

    Super Host
 
  2022 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos 3 semanas

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    I am a biologist working in my own non profit organization in the Osa Peninsula to protect monkeys and its forest! Martino is a 6 year old well traveler boy in first grade of homeschooling. Roberto, his father, just opening a wellness retreat at al the beach.

    I live in the organization in a small rural town, very near to Corcovado National Park. Roberto lives 40 minutes away in the retreat in Cabo Mata Palo at a pristine and undeveloped beach with waves for surfing.

    We are fluid in regards to where we are and where Martino is. About 50% of the time will be spend on the non profit and we’ll make trips to the retreat on the Beach the rest of the time. You will have your private space in both places - they are very different so it’s almost like having two experiences.

    We are ideally looking for an experienced Teacher or someone, a woman, with experience teaching children. The curriculum is in English, but Martino is still learning so the teacher needs to be able to communicate with him in Spanish.

    He is still adjusting to homeschooling and loves to play, do crafts , art and all the non-academic activities - so experience and creativity in teaching kids is relevant.

    Our preference is to find someone wanting to stay for the medium to long term, for example 3-6 months, but we are happy to consider those wanting to stay for a bit less.

    We understand a commitment for two months or more is a big decision while traveling. We have received volunteers and lived in this wonderful place for decades, as travelers we’ll do our best to explain things clearly and honestly.

    An adventurous person that likes water sports, hiking, wildlife or someone into meditation-yoga-inner work that appreciates space and calmness is typically a good fit. But the experience is for anyone that want’s or needs it.

    I am also in need of someone with tech skills as GPS or forestry, but you probably end up with a mix experience.

    We live in a unique place, off-grid, incredible beautiful and full of magic - so this could be an amazing experience if chosen at the right moment.

    If you are looking for a long term and have the skills, please write to us ... we are waiting for you!

    Please check the Workaway guidelines below for working with children.

    As our son lives at the property, we take his safety seriously.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Enseñanza
    Jardinería
    Cuidado de niños y juegos creativos
    Ayuda doméstica

  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Our house is near the forest.

    There is a nice local community with a soccer field.

    I am also a French speaker as I travelled with my parents when I was little while they studied for their grad school in Geneva, Switzerland.

    You will definitely learn rural life as several farms are around and Spanish is the main language you will hear every day. We also live near a lodge so you will get to know other travelers.

    There are plenty opportunities for hikes. Lot’s of outdoor things to do once you get the rythm.

    I love to share my knowledge about nature and Spanish.

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    We would like help with teaching our son a English curriculum and playing with him and sometimes other kids that come to play with him (max 2-3) kids!

    Volunteers are expected to help and keep the space they use clean and tidy.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido
    Español: Fluido
    Francés: Principiante

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    I love to share my language and learning more about the others

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    We have a cabin with its own bathroom and we share the kitchen. It is surrounded by forest, in one side and front of my house in the other side. So you might get to see and hear monkeys, birds and butterflies all around you. There are also lots of bugs!

    The cabin is in front of my house some 10 meters from our family home.

    We normally accept one helper but if someone with very nice skills writes at the same time or a couple and if helpers are fine with sharing a room, we will love to have 2 people at the same time

    We don't provide food but occasionally enjoy sharing meals and culture.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    We are right next to Corcovado ... local lodges offer tours which we could help you organise with an excellent discount

    As I grew my organization, I had the help of several volunteers and always loved sharing time with them. They were always respectful of our house and values.

    As we have a very active kid around, we wake up early and bedtime is early as well

    There is now internet access but can be slow sometimes.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    We normally have good internet and work from home for 10+ years.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Uno

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4 hours a day, 5 days a week

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (4.8)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (5.0)














Número de referencia de anfitrión: 239514548132