Beautiful lodge between two lakes in Markstay, Canada

Country

Canadá

actualizado  

233 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    05/10/2022

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    68.6 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 22 dias

  • paid opportunity

    El anfitrión se ofrece a pagar

 
  2022 
E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Hello Travellers!
    We are Patrick and Amy and we live at a remote, off-grid lodge with our two young children and one happy dog.

    The lodge was established in 1947, and 4 of the property's 7 cabins are the original log cabins with additions added over the years. We host guests from all over Ontario and sometimes further to disconnect from their phones and reconnect with nature. Our goal is to make the lodge a getaway from the city for families and others looking for peace and quiet and wilderness adventure.

    We use renewable energy: primarily water turbine and supplemented by solar for electricity, a ram pump for running water, and our own gardens for fruit, vegetables and herbs. We have many projects on the go including finishing construction of the new lodge, renovating the cabins, expanding our trail system, cultivating our sustainable garden, and more. We will never ask our workawayers to help with anything related to our business.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Cuidado de niños y juegos creativos
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    We are located between two lakes on the Chiniguchi River water system. The area displays the best of northern Ontario with tall ancient pine trees and there is history to be discovered in the old log cabins and railway system.

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • El anfitrión ofrece una paga acorde al salario mínimo

    El anfitrión ofrece una paga acorde al salario mínimo

    Este anfitrión ofrece alojamiento y paga.

    El anfitrión ha indicado que pagará al menos el salario mínimo por hora de su país por cada hora trabajada y que también ofrecerá alojamiento. Pide ayuda con un negocio o una actividad empresarial. Ponte en contacto directamente con el anfitrión mediante la mensajería de la página para obtener más información y detalles sobre el salario ofrecido. Cualquier acuerdo con el anfitrión debe cerrarse por anticipado.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    We expect our workawayers to work 5 hours each day for 5 days a week in exchange for food and accommodation. For those keen to work harder than that, with approval, we are able to offer a wage for hours worked above the initial 5 hours at a rate of $15.50 (the minimum wage for Ontario). Please let us know if you have professional experience and we will set up an interview to discuss employment. Outside of working hours, we expect everyone who stays with us to be a part of the lodge community by helping with dinner, dishes, and general clean up.

    The help we need varies by season, the list below is by no means comprehensive but includes many tasks you can expect to be a part of!

    SUMMER
    Weeding and maintaining the many gardens in which we grow our herbs and vegetables, landscaping and lawn maintenance, working on our trail system, childcare, maintaining the order and cleanliness of the property (sauna, beach, etc), housekeeping in the lodge, etc

    FALL
    Construction (building and updates, etc), getting ready for winter, childcare, gathering/chopping/stacking firewood, housekeeping in the lodge, etc

    WINTER
    Childcare, working on snowshoe trails, gathering/chopping/stacking firewood, indoor construction projects (plumbing, tiling, painting, etc), housekeeping in the lodge, etc

    SPRING - the busiest time of year as we prepare for summer
    Construction (building and updates, etc), childcare, deep clean and refresh of property (eg. sauna, storage areas etc), maintaining trail system from new growth, setting up the property for summer, planting, weeding, and maintaining the many gardens in which we grow our herbs and vegetables, housekeeping in the lodge, etc

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido
    Francés: Fluido

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    We also have two rooms in the lodge and two separate private accommodations on the property. There is electricity, but no running water in the separate accommodations. Bathrooms with showers are located in the lodge. Wherever you stay, we share meals together in the lodge.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    There are kayaks, paddleboards, canoes, a wood-burning sauna and hot tub, and a network of trails in the surrounding crown land for you to access and explore. We also enjoy having campfires, pontoon boat tours, stargazing, and other outdoor adventures. We are looking forward to having you be a part of this experience!

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Este anfitrión ha indicado que le encanta acoger a nómadas digitales.

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Este anfitrión puede proporcionar un sitio para autocaravanas.

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    Este anfitrión dice que acepta a viajeros con mascotas.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (5.0)





Número de referencia de anfitrión: 235511935552