Join us on our hobby farm with Icelandic horses in Pedersöre, Finland

Country

Finlandia

actualizado  

168 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    06/07/2022

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    95.2 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 6 dias

  • Medallas

    Good Host
 
  2022 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos 3 semanas

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    We have a hobby farm in Finland with many pets: a herd of Icelandic horses, 2 goats, a minipig, chickens, 5 dogs, 6 cats, hamsters, 2 geckos and an axolotl. We breed Icelandic horses, we currently have around 20 including many foals. They are awesome, energetic and very stubborn :)
    The goats know how to perform multiple tricks and if you bribe them they might show you. The minipig Nasu loves belly scratches but can be shy at first. We hope our workawayers give him the attention he deserves.

    We are a family of 5, the "kids" aged 12, 14, 19 and 23. (The eldest one is not living at home, the 19 year old is running this account, but adventuring around the world)
    We are originally from Austria but have been living in Finland since 15 years. The mom is a veterinarian (that's also why we have 6 cats, they are all rescues). We are a very chill, humorous and a bit crazy family in a chaotic household. We like to spend our free time with the animals and play board games. The mom has burnout and too much work so the help is appreciated.

    Workawayers here should be flexible, show initiative, genuinely want to help, and love spending time with pets and being outside with the horses. Owning a good sense of humour helps.
    We would like people who are:
    1. Over 21 years old
    2. Good cooks to make family meals
    3. Experienced (!) horse riders to help train our horses. Preferably people with experience with Icelandic horses.
    4. Strong people to build fences in the spring and summer.
    5. Motivated cleaners
    6. Lively humourous people to be a part of our family :)
    We are a non-smoking household.

    Please note, it's a messy and chaotic household and garden and we need help to clean it up. We don't have a fancy riding school but happy muddy horses. Only come here if you can handle messyness and are willing to help with cleaning.
    And during the workweek the mom works a lot and can be home very late. So incase there are no other workawayers you need to be okay with being alone during the day (although you are never truly alone with all the pets)
    During the weekend she has more time.

    We live in a big old house (140 years old) in the countryside surrounded by woods and fields. On our rides we cross a river. There is a lake 14 kilometers away that we sometimes visit in the summer to go for a swim. The ocean is a 40 minute drive away.

    We speak German, Finnish, Swedish, English and the mom also knows how to speak French, Icelandic and some Spanish.

    We don't have a business and the help needed would vary from day to day, the hours are flexible and taking time off to do trips wouldn't be a problem.

    Would be great if you would write something to proof you have read our entire profile :)

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Jardinería
    Cuidado de animales
    Ayuda en una granja
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Experienced horse riders with no fear of energetic horses can join us for rides in the beautiful countryside. Inexperienced riders have the chance of learning a little riding as well.
    You can explore the woods and nature. We can teach you a little Finnish or Swedish if interested. You can meet local people and experience Finland from a local standpoint.

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    We welcome help with:
    -Training the horses: groundwork and halter training foals, riding and doing groundwork with the older ones
    -Feeding all of the animals
    -Cleaning the house and the garden, one of the daily tasks is to keep the house in order.
    -Cooking family meals (also coming up with ideas what to cook, making grocery lists)
    -Going on longs walks with the dogs and also walking the goats
    -Fixing fences in the warmer months or doing other outside projects.
    -Haywork in the summer

  • Idiomas hablados

    Alemán: Fluido
    Inglés: Fluido
    Finnish: Fluido
    Swedish: Fluido

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    There is a guestroom with a bunkbed upstairs workawayers can use. The bathroom and other rooms are shared and you would be living like part of the family.
    We have no WiFi and the connection can be bad at times.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    There is a small town 30 kilometers away, it's possible to take a bus there and back. We can do a little sightseeing together, and you can meet local people. If you want to go somewhere further away there is a train station we can drive you to.

    Near us we also have a local sight, a biiig rock called Ilveskivi

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (4.7)






Número de referencia de anfitrión: 234781131969