Help with barn renovation in a beautiful but rugged Auvergne region of France

Country

Francia

1 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    -

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    20/03/2022

 
  2022 
E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    The renovation project is an old farmhouse and barn. There are two parts. The workawayer would stay in the old peasants quarters with basic accommodation: bedroom, living room / kitchen, bathroom.
    It is not unlike a museum recreation of an old farmhouse with simple bench seats, inglenook fireplace etc. This is deliberate to add charm but it is basic. The second part is the barn itself, a large area which is being turned into a studio and larger house. The setting is pretty spectacular with south facing unbroken view across the valley and mountain view. This is a mountainous area with many marked country and mountain trails. The scenery includes moors, wooded valleys, rivers, waterfalls, peaks etc. It is similar to the Scottish Highlands and the Yorkshire Dales. There are also some chateaux and other historic monuments. There are friendly cafés and restaurants with cheap prices. Typically French. But public transport is zero.
    Separated man in his 60s doing up rural barn, part time teacher, good circle of friends and acquaintances locally. The accent is on ecologically sound renovation, using reclaimed materials.
    Self catering for workawayer paid for by you (max 15 hours work per week as you provide own food) but occasional reciprocal meals and drinks with host and locals

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    The house is in a quiet but very sociable small quite isolated village. The owner is friendly with all the neighbours and the social life is quite lively with coffees, drinks and meals happening at a moment's notice. The Auvergne people are very welcoming but do not speak English. For someone who is prepared to socialise with the locals this is a good cultural exchange.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    I am renovating a barn in rural France and am seeking help with this. The first task is to modernise the electrics in the original farmhouse part of the building.

    The proposed hours would be three days per week, 5 hour days, with the traditional long French lunch break

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido
    Francés: Fluido

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    Workawayers would have free independent accommodation in the old farmer's part of the building. The electrics are not up to modern standards and insulation is rudimentary. Accommodation is very basic but includes living room/kitchen, bedroom and bathroom. Lovely view. Your own transport desirable but not essential. Lifts can be arranged.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    High in the mountains, the location is ideal for ramblers and other outdoor pursuits. There are a few local bars and restaurants but no nearby city night-life;

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Subject to confirmation

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    Any

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 5 hours per day, maximum 3 days per week


Número de referencia de anfitrión: 233477465736