Stay on our beautiful 7 acres across the street from the Cowichan River in Duncan, Canada



254 “me gusta”

  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Última actividad


  • facebook friends

    Numero de amigos en Facebook


  • Medallas

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
  • Descripción


    (Sorry our reply rate is so low, it's just because we do not keep up to the responses in our off season, you can read our reviews on here and on Help X.)

    We are a family of 5 striving to live a sustainable lifestyle on a beautiful 7 acre property beside the Cowichan River. We have 3 children ages 17, 12 and 11 years. We have 2 cats, chickens, 2 guinea pigs and fish.
    We eat nourishing food and happy meat. We are really easy going and friendly, We love to garden, play, make music and be creative.
    I am a clothing designer and seamstress and run my business from my home based studio. My husband and i host monthly ecstatic dances in our community where i DJ and he plays live percussion and didgeridoo. I also host silent disco dances. ( these have been less frequent due to the pandemic)
    My husband is a carpenter and builds wooden playgrounds for cities and schools. He is also an instrument builder and professional percussionist, he plays hand drums, hang, didgeridoo and more.

    Our youngest two kids attend waldorf school and our eldest is in high school. They enjoy trampoline, hiking, rock climbing, reading and crafting and mountain biking.

    We are looking for independent work-awayers who would like to stay in our cute 1971, 24' motor home with fully equipped kitchen. Propane stove, blender, toaster, microwave, fridge and oven. The bathroom does not work inside motor home but you will have access to our hot water outdoor shower, outdoor bathtub and outhouse. We are looking for an independant workawayer who is happy to make some of their own meals and enjoys their own company.

    We will eat some meals together, invite you out on hikes and to join us for movie nights and other outings and also want to be super transparent that we are super busy with the kids, and our work, and as much as we would love to spend lots of time together, life is beautifully full and we always wish we had more time together.
    Especially on school/work weeks, we have more time for adventures when kids are off school.

    You will always be invited to be a guest at our dance events and we will treat with you respect, kindness and lather you in gratitude every day for your help on the property. :) We will provide you with the food you like to prep your own meals, and we are open to your dietary requests. When i am organized enough to make big family meals i will always check in to offer you some.

    We have a sailboat we are beginning to learn how to use, if you have any experience sailing let us know, maybe we can go out together.
    We are excited to prepare the land for the spring/summer and all the projects we have on the go.

    Some projects include:: Garden prep, firewood stacking, and gathering, clearing fallen wood from the stream, pounding posts in for the new chicken run and putting up fencing, mulching gardens, watering, mowing, hanging out with our awesome kids (not mandatory but optional if you love kids)
    If you have any experience building that is a bonus as we will be building our woodshed this spring. We have some garden gates that need to be built. We are also open to support prepping meals and cleaning/organizing indoors. We have some painting and refinishing of furniture we would like to do. We like to work with our helpers strengths, but the priorities are garden/land maintenance.

    We are looking for someone who is okay to work out doors in all weather, sometimes with us and sometimes alone. We ask for 20/25 hours a week in exchange for food, accommodation, laundry and wifi. We like to sleep in when possible so we also support out helpers to do that :) We are pretty accommodating and easy going.

    We are looking for a work awayer to stay with us for about 2 weeks with the potential to stay until Autumn if its a good fit.
    We are also flexible with these dates, it's more about the right fit.
    If you have cat allergies it may not be the best fit as our cats are very social and will want to hang out with you.

    NO DOGS please.

    ~ "Work is love made visible"

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Proyectos artísticos
    Práctica de idiomas
    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Ayuda en una granja
    Cuidado de niños y juegos creativos
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general
    Ayuda con ordenadores/Internet

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    We love to share our way of life with others. Being a very creative family we always have some fun project on the go.
    Its fun for us to show our helpers what we are currently working on in the woodshop and sewing studio, just ask as we can also be very busy.
    Also we love to share our recipes and cooking styles. We grow our own sprouts, and cook many things from scratch. We like to share our knowledge of hula hooping, aerial silks, and slackline with our helpers. We have a trampoline and we love parenting and teaching others about our positive approach to attachment parenting. We feel you could learn alot from us about many different things during your stay. And in saying all this... some days life is very busy around here. With 2 home based businesses and an acreage and 3 kids....but we do our best to make it fun but sometimes it is messy!!

  • Ayuda


    We are looking for help in our veggie garden, childcare, house work and yard work. We really like to tune into our helpers strengths and give them tasks that work for them. We are very easy going and flexible and work together to find a reasonable schedule. (we do not need you to babysit our kids, just a desire to have you show some interest and share some conversations with them, as you would us, we spend lots of time playing games outdoors in the summer, badminton, frisbee, spike ball, trampolining, we have a HUGE back yard with slackline, hammocks and lots of toys etc.)
    We like to share our lifestyle with others as it is an alternative Canadian lifestyle where we are truly trying to be the change we wish to see. This spring we have loads of fun work in the garden, childcare and making a trail to the river below our bank.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido

  • Alojamiento


    We have accommodation available in our 24" cute RV with a fully equipped kitchen. Your bathroom facilities are a clean humanure composting outhouse that has a view of the river and hot water outdoor shower and out door bathtub.


    We ask for 20/25 hours a week in exchange for 3 meals + snacks, wifi, laundry and accommodations.
    We live on 7 acres of beautiful land right beside the Cowichan River with Holt Creek Provinical Park is only an 8 minute walk down the road with trails along the Trans Canada trail system and amazing hikes alongside the Cowichan River.

    We swim in the River at our swimming hole just down the bank from our home, all summer and go tubing. We are a 10 minute drive from downtown Duncan, we provide a bicycle you can use. Its a 20-25 min bike ride. There is a biodynamic cafe up the road called Alderlea Farm (10 minute bike ride), and a corner store and gas station called Glenora Store. Also Zanatta vineyard is just up the road.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    We are happy to pick up helpers from Downtown Duncan and occassionally Victoria or Nanaimo if it lines up with one of our trips to the city. We are 1 hr from Victoria and Nanaimo. There is a city bus from Victoria to Duncan now.

    We ask our helpers to be motivated, must like children, be respectful and no smoking around our family.
    We hope to make you feel at home during your stay with us.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    We have great wifi.

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    We have ample room for motor homes and parking your own vechicle here. We have a hot outdoor shower and outhouse looking over the river for you to use also.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?


  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    20-25 weekly, we are flexible how you fit them in, depending on our availability to work on projects with you.

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (4.5)

Comunicación: (4.0)

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 229874413144