Live in a secluded place on the mountains and help around our property in Ceres, Italy

Country

Italia

360 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    21  

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    07/05/2022

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 3 dias

  • Medallas

    Top Host
 
  2022 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos 2 semanas

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Hello! We are Riccardo and Cristina and our 2 small kids, living here year-round for over 6 years. We are a family living in a simple and at the same moment, full and satisfying way, taking away rather than adding. We try to make our sustainable living each day, wondering what we can do to reduce the impact on our environment.



    Located 35 km north-east of Torino, near the small village of Ceres, our home is located on the mountainside along the trail to the Sanctuary of Santa Cristina. Surrounded by chestnuts, birches, hazels and aromatic plants, the property presents itself as the entrance to the Val d'Ala. The stone house, ingeniously built in 1888, is South-facing, receiving the full power of sun and moonlight. The house sits 950 meters above the sea, with a stunning view of the mountains.



    Here we do many different things. We cultivate a vegetable garden in steady expansion. We also study and collect wild herbs and mushrooms with which to prepare delicious and healing dishes, teas and oils. We follow and support an almost completely vegan diet. There are chickens which are free to roam and feed in our forest, providing us with fresh eggs every morning. In the forest, we have an apiary made up of about 20 families of bees. We breed them with methods based on respect, inspecting them a with constant commitment to create a healthy environment for them.


    We also host small events for meditation, yoga and other rituals.
 connected with plants.

    You can visit us and thus support a small nascent reality. We want to be based on self-sufficiency, nutrition healing, the use of sustainable products and natural agriculture inspired by the message of Japanese author Fukuoka.


  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de niños y juegos creativos
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general

  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    There are many different types of activities to do at our place and many different skills to learn. We use a variety of different tools and work with wood, metal, electricity and water. We will take care of the chickens, the garden, and the forest, learning together how to do it in the best way. There will be many interesting things to learn if you want to help us run this place.

    Most importantly, Workawayers will learn how to coexist with nature, and respond to her natural power and cycles. Every day we are learning how to respond to the natural overgrowth, the changing climate, and the unpredictable durability of the tools we use. We are always adapting to the whims of nature, learning how how to flow without resistance, becoming a stronger team in the process. You will get to realize many natural projects and feel the organic fulfillment of completing tasks that shape the wild landscape.

    
Plus our guests will have the opportunity to live in a secluded place on the mountains, far from every kind of noise, enjoying fresh mountain air and meditative atmospheres.

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    There is always a wide variety of tasks to perform in a mountain house like this. We are looking for flexible people who are passionate about outdoor work and have basics skills of permaculture, gardening and general handwork. We hope you will enjoy our family and help give life to our projects, building or improving the structures we need to host people and events.

 We do not have WiFi in the house, but you should be able to find Internet via mobile data if you have a European carrier.

    Most of the time we will work together but we really appreciate people that are able to learn and manage their tasks independently.



    In the next period, it will be necessary to:

    - dig a terrace to extend the area around our huge tepee;

    - build a compost toilet; 
    
- build a wood fired oven;

    - improve our vegetable garden by pruning, weeding, feeding, watering, etc.
    - create an orchard;
    - build a small green house;

    - do some general house renewing and maintenance;
    - maintain our social media.

    

We are also looking for people that want to take care of our little kids. They are super sweet, outgoing, and sociable and they are looking forward to meeting new friends from all over the world, play with them and learn many new languages!


    We ask our guests to be active participants in our daily activities like:
    - open and close the chicken coop and feed the chickens;
    - wash the dishes;
    - cook or help cooking;
    - light up the stove;
    - light up the wood boiler;
    - sweep and mop the floor;
    - keep the place tidy and clean.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido
    Español: Fluido
    Italiano: Fluido

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    It depends on the period. We have a caravan parked few meters from the house, we also have a spare room in the house but we never know in advance where people will sleep! And we also ask to be flexible on that side. Sometimes we have to ask to our friends and guests to move into another accomodation just for a day or maybe forever, it depends on the people coming and going and on the events happening here. But we can tell you that we always try to do our best to give the best place to everyone!

    
Food will be prepared mostly by Cristina but some help will be appreciated, we really like to cook and eat all together! We prepare mostly vegan food. We eat 2 times per day, breakfast and early dinner, because it fits better our daily routine and we suggest to every person coming here, since is an isolated home, to provide themselves anything else they want to eat during the day.


    Hot water is produced with a wood heater so it is limited and not always available. To wash dishes we use cold water, or hot water from the stove.
    We have a washing machine but we ask workawayers to hand wash their clothes.
    We don’t use any chemical soap or product because the water of the house is going directly into the woods, so we ask guests to bring only natural biodegradable soaps.


    The weather in the mountains changes quickly. When the sun is out during the summer it can be very hot but during cloudy or rainy days it can be quite cold, so we suggest you bring adequate attire for all types of weather.

    The clothes you’ll need:
    - working clothes;
    - hiking/working waterproof shoes;
    - waterproof/windproof jacket;
    - some comfortable sweaters.

    The stuff you’ll need:
    - sleeping bag;
    - slippers (for the house);
    - towels;
    - head lamp;
    - bottle of water.


    A minimum of adaptability and practicality is required since we live and work in the nature, without some of the comforts we are used to.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    In your spare time, there are plenty of trails and mountain activities to do. There is also a train connecting our village to the surrounding valley and Torino, passing through the international airport. Torino is a beautiful city, with all kinds of cultural activity and concerts where you can enjoy amazing night life.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Este anfitrión puede proporcionar un sitio para autocaravanas.

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    Este anfitrión dice que acepta a viajeros con mascotas.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (5.0)















Número de referencia de anfitrión: 228932517246