Help with spring preparation, sailboat renovation and explore Cowichan Valley, Canada

Country

Canadá

21 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    19/05/2022

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 1 dia

  • Medallas

 
  2022 
E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Hello, I am a single man with a part time Jin Shin Do Acupressure practice and a beautiful small, yet high yield garden. I have a comfortable home very close the lovely little city of Duncan in the Cowichan Valley. I have a 3 bedroom house with a bedroom/sauna room and a studio that can be easily transformed into a bedroom. I am a good cook and love to make healthy meals for guests. I am omnivorous. I have hosted many musicians here for music festivals we have here in the valley and have enjoyed the connections I've had with them. The Cowichan Valley has much to offer for travellers; an interesting and eclectic downtown with much music and arts, especially in the summer. There is plenty of access to beautiful trails and swimming areas close at hand. I have 2 bicycles which can be used to get around with. I have recently acquired a 34' sailboat which I will be taking out of the water on Feb. 21 for up to two weeks to do work on the bottom. Unfortunately this is happening at the same time as some garden work. I could really use some help with both projects. After the boat is done, I plan on doing some spring sailing/cruising in the among the Gulf Islands in the Salish sea with at least one trip over to Vancouver. Help with the boat can be rewarded with time sailing.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Mantenimiento general

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    A workaway traveller to the Cowichan Valley can enjoy all that nature has to offer, wonderful hiking trails and swimming spots, visiting eclectic Cowichan Bay and much free music in the summertime. We have also, close access to ferries to various Gulf Islands. We have a First Nations cultural centre called Quw'stsun' which offers a comprehensive education into First Nations culture. I can also offer a sailing trip in the Salish Sea as a reward for helping with the boat work.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    I have some pruning and yard prep to do for spring planting and a recently acquired sailboat which I'm restoring. It will be going up on the 'hard' in Maple Bay on Feb. 21st for possibly 2 weeks. I could really use some help with that project. I will be scraping and sanding the bottom as well as replacing the thru-hulls. I've just bought a new Genoa sail for it which I'm anxious to try out as soon as the bottom work is done.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido
    Español: Principiante

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    Este anfitrión ha indicado que está interesado en compartir su idioma o aprender otro.
    Ponte en contacto con él para obtener más información.

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    I have a 3 bedroom house with a comfortable double Futon bed in a bedroom/sauna room and my acupressure studio in the house can easily be converted into a bedroom for one. I can accommodate 3 people in the house with 2 sharing the double futon. There is also ample space to camp in the backyard. I can provide 3 healthy meals a day and I enjoy cooking and sharing food. I am an omnivore but can accommodate a vegetarian diet especially if the vegan is willing to help out in the kitchen.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    I love to show off my valley and hiking and swimming areas. My house is situated very near the downtown core which offers lots of eclectic stores, a wonderful farmer's market, a museum and a walking tour of First Nations totem poles. I lead a fairly quiet lifestyle although once in I while I host music nights where a group of friends gather to sing and sometimes I host movie nights. These activities have been curtailed during Covid and I hope to begin again in the summer. Of course guests are welcome. I am usually in bed by 10:30 and sometimes sleep in as I have a bit of a sleeping disorder. The kitchen is always available for guests.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Número de referencia de anfitrión: 192357912161