Family of five living on a farm just outside of Armstrong, BC, looking for some help around farm and family. Canada

Country

Canadá

42 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    14/12/2021

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    66.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 4 dias

  • Medallas

    Good Host
 
  2022 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos una semana

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    We are a family of five living on a farm just north of Armstrong, BC. We are not a production farm, more so a homesteading family. We have two 5 year old boys (Xander and Griffin) and a 7 month old baby boy (Willis). Chris and Max (the parents) are working professionals.

    Maxine is currently on maternity leave and is busy with little Willis and the twins. She is very knowledgeable with herbs and plants and is currently taking a course in becoming a master herbalist. Chris works full time and attempts to make sure dinner is on the table, gardens are watered, whatever breaks gets fixed and the farming schedules on time.

    Our animals include sheep/lambs, 2 goats, chickens , ducks, a cat and 3 dogs. We raise lamb and chicken for meat ourselves and others. We also have chickens and ducks for eggs, which we also sell when we have capacity to.
    Our farm backs on to a mountain in the beautiful Okanagan and has a variety of berry bushes and fruit trees. We follow permaculture practices as much as possible.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de niños y juegos creativos
    Mantenimiento general
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda en una granja
    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Ayuda doméstica
    Cuidado de animales

  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Volunteers will get an idea of what homesteading is all about. There is an opportunity for volunteers to get more comfortable using power tools and building with wood. Volunteers could also learn to process harvested food and about plants that are usually under your feet that have healing/health benefits.

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    We are looking for help with the following below:

    -building projects - including tearing down a deck and reusing the wood to rebuild a treehouse.
    -building a hand scuplted bench
    -Pending on what is ripe, harvesting fruit/vegetables
    -processing food, which could include: canning, dehydrating, making cheese, making butter, making lactofermented food
    -Daily chores such as feeding/watering animals, watering gardens and collecting eggs
    -Possibly cleaning animal shelters, animal husbandry (hoof trimming, herbal deworming).
    -Possibly milking a cow (we don’t have a cow, but Maxine milks a community cow)
    -splitting firewood
    -installing new fencing and maintaining existing fencing
    -sheep herding
    -Farmsitting

    We are seeking help from June 24 to July 7 2019. We are looking for someone(s) to look after of our place and hang out with the animals while we are away. We are open to having volunteers staying longer than the time we have noted above as well.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    In house double bed or camping.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    The Okanagan is surrounded by beautiful lakes, our place is a 30 minute drive to the nearest lake. We commute daily near some lakes and a larger city centre (Salmon Arm). Transit is available to the City of Vernon. There is also a good swimming river about a 10 minute drive away, and is a nice bike ride on quiet country roads. We have spare bicycles to ride.

    We live on a beautiful mountain, there is a lot of amazing hikes year round right here where we live.

    We have a 1.2m high half pipe for skateboarding in our barn.

    We are pretty easy going people. Our lives revolve a lot around outer children right now. A good experience for us would entail having someone(s) who:
    -is not just looking for a place to crash for a little while, but;
    -give a fair level of effort with work around the farm
    -is keen to learn what they can in the time they are with us
    -not afraid to take initiative and work under minimum supervision
    -Like to have good dinners and conversations
    -not afraid to help out with cooking and cleaning up in the kitchen
    -Like animals
    -keep shared spaces clean and tidy

    Our preference is to have volunteers who want to eat off our land. Vegans are welcome, but please come with an open mind.

    We’ve made some great friendships over the years hosting and hope to make more!

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week






Número de referencia de anfitrión: 189685247439