Experience rural life and help with a horseback riding project in the highlands of Amazonas, Peru

Country

Perú

actualizado  

458 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    25  

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    24/10/2021

  • facebook friends

    Numero de amigos en Facebook

    102

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 3 dias

  • Medallas

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2021 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos 2 semanas

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    My wife Jessica and I (Henry) are an international couple with our first 2 children, living in the North of Peru. Henry is a medical veterinarian by trade, specializing in horses. Jessica has her education in preventative wellness and is a stay at home Mom raising our daughters. Horseback riding is our main scope, but family rural life requires all kind of volunteer profile to keep developing.

    The list of tasks (below) that we need help with is extensive. If you don't have all, or even some, of the skills necessary that is okay. What we are looking for most in a volunteer is willingness to be flexible, ability to be a self starter, desire to learn and overall helpful attitude that fits within a rural family lifestyle.

    We just purchased our first home and property in the village of Montevideo, which is a small village approximately 1.5 hours away from Chachapoyas.

    Notes:
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ we ask all potential volunteers to do a Skype meeting. This helps YOU get to know us, and US to know you more. If you don´t have Skype we can communicate via Whatsapp also.
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ both you and I reserve the right to quit the volunteer agreement at any time and for any reason. For this reason we ask all our volunteer to have a back up plan.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Trabajo de caridad
    Proyectos artísticos
    Práctica de idiomas
    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Enseñanza
    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Ayuda en una granja
    Cuidado de niños y juegos creativos
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Hostelería/turismo
    Mantenimiento general
    Ayuda con ordenadores/Internet

  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    We hope our volunteers will learn tolerance of different cultures and ideas, the ability to be creative in new situations, practice their Spanish skills, and learn about the Amazonas Region of Peru through travel and inter-personal exchange.

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    As mentioned above we live in a rural, small village, approximately 1.5 hours from the city of Chachapoyas.

    Everything listed below is in its beginning stages. Also, remember if you don't have all, or even some, of the skills necessary to help us with the below tasks, that is okay. What we are looking for most in a volunteer is willingness to be flexible, ability to be a self starter, desire to learn and overall helpful attitude that fits within a rural family lifestyle.

    Horse Needs:
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️Photo sessions in real horse expeditions in Peruvian farming communities
    *️️️️️️️Route development / maintenance
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️Documentary development
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️First aid training for rural communities
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️Farriery practice and training for rural communities
    *Web developer
    *️️️️️️️️️️️Taming and natural horse training
    *️️️️️️️️️️Digital design development for educational material
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️Equine vet assistance or Equine vet practice (castration)
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️Grant writing, Marketing and Networking applied to our sustainable and infrastructure project development
    *️️️️️Saddle and equipment maintenance
    *️️️️️Feeding, grooming and exercising of horses

    Domestic Needs:

    *️️️️️️️Cooking
    - meal planning
    - preparing lunch and dinner for entire household
    - batch cooking (breads,sauces, pizza, etc.)
    *️️️️️️️Home cleaning / organizing
    - deep cleaning 1x per week
    - superficial cleaning daily (such as dishes, sweeping, mopping, etc.)
    *️️️️️️️Animal care
    - feeding chickens and/or dogs
    - cleaning out chicken coup
    - exercising and/or training dogs

    Building / Maintenance (we will be working with natural materials as much as possible, if you know or have experience in natural building please let us know!)
    *️️️️️Compost
    *Gardening
    *️️️️️Stables for horses
    *️️️️️Chicken coup
    *️️️️️Building up home
    *️️️️️Electrical work
    *️️️️️Plastering walls

    Land:
    *️️️️️Clearing of community paths
    *️️️️️Preparing land for plants (both domestic and rural)
    *️️️️️Pulling weeds / removing stones
    *️️️️️Harvesting

    Take Note:
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️Smoking is not permitted. We do not permit volunteers that smoke (weed, cigarettes, pipe tobacco, cigars, cigarillos or the like). Sorry, but past volunteers have ruined it for all of you. There could be an exception if our children are not at the house..

    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️Everyone contributes to the purchase of toilet paper, coffee and laundry service.

    Schedule:
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️We work by targets, not hours per day. Target schedules will be discussed with each individual volunteer based on our needs and your abilities.

    -We cannot be held liable for any accidents that occur during your time with us, or while traveling to/from our location.-

    Thanks for reading and we hope to hear from you soon!

    ~ Henry and Jessica

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido
    Español: Fluido

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    French always is welcome here!

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    Compensation:
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️3 meals daily
    - any snacks or specialty foods outside these 3 meals are purchased by YOU
    - only breakfast is provided on your days off.
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️Shared and private bedroom
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️Hot shower

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    Having a basic knowledge of Spanish will be helpful when navigating your way to the North of Peru. Fluent Spanish knowledge is not necessary, but volunteers have reported feeling safer and more confident knowing at least the basics for getting around on their own.

    Our area is considered the Northeast capital of archeological sites...so there is a lot to see in your free time. There are plenty of day or multiple day trips depending on what you want to see. Most sites will require paying for transport.

    We are at an altitude of approximately 8,000 feet (2,400 meters) and I would describe the weather as 'mountainous' (temperature range goes from 8°C/46.4°F to 22°C/71.6°F) meaning, when the sun is shining it is hot, when there are clouds it is cool, and night can require long pants, shirts and an extra blanket. This of course all depends on the climate you are coming from, and what you are used to.

    For longer stays we suggest to get a local SIM card and the brand that works better here is from Movistar. Also, there is not cashmachines available in 2 hours away trip from the village, try to get pocket money before you arrive.

    Rainy season is December - April please come with appropriate clothing.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Este anfitrión ha indicado que le encanta acoger a nómadas digitales.

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Este anfitrión puede proporcionar un sitio para autocaravanas.

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    Este anfitrión dice que acepta a viajeros con mascotas.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    25 hours per week

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (4.8)

Intercambio cultural: (4.3)

Comunicación: (4.3)



















Número de referencia de anfitrión: 186854539992