Learn about life in Alaska, help with our animals, around the house, with projects and gardening, outside of Anchorage, USA

Country

Estados Unidos

390 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    11  

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    10/08/2022

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 1 dia

  • Medallas

    Super Host
 
  2022 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos 3 semanas

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    An update during the Covid Pandemic. Please know we have greatly enjoyed our past workdays and wish to continue hosting. With concerns for everyone's health we will be asking more details about your recent activities and travel to keep us all safe. Also we do require that anyone staying with us be fully vaccinated and commit to limiting their social interactions to keep everyone safe.

    We have a lovely home on the side of a mountain 10 miles north of Anchorage, Alaska in Eagle River. Lois, I am an advanced practice nurse who does much of my work from home, telemedicine and online teaching. I am also a master gardener and love to grow flowers and garden in the summer months. Eric, is a pediatrician at the Alaska Native Medical Center.

    There are great hiking trails right from our property. Our four legged family includes, several dogs and three Icelandic Horses. In the summer we have a small vegetable garden and greenhouse and yard filled with flowers. Extra help around our home is always appreciated and welcomed. We often foster dogs and puppies for Alaskan Animal Rescue Friends. The horses are very friendly and if you have experience riding English style you might want to go for a ride on the neighborhood trails.

    The help we welcome and value is feeding our dogs and horses, working in the gardens, projects around the house and property, some cleaning and helping with meal preparation, etc.

    Our 26 year old daughter is in veterinary school. Our 23 year old son just graduated with his degree in mechanical engineering, also lives at home some of the time. He recently completed hiking the Pacific Crest Trail and has begun a job as an engineer. We have traveled to many parts of the world as a family and individually and love to share our Alaskan life with others. Our first ten years in Alaska were spent in a bush community off of the road system and we have an understanding and interest in many other cultures.

    Unfortunately Alaska has very limited public transportation especially in winter. We can offer rides to Anchorage several days a week and you are welcome to rent a car in the summer months for longer trips. We try to include workdays in our travels and activities as much as possible. If you are someone who needs to be on the go everyday our spot may not meet your needs or interest. However it is a beautiful spot on the edge of the wilderness yet 10 minutes from town down the mountain!!

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Trabajo de caridad
    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general

  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Learn about Alaskan life, caring for Alaskan Huskies, dog sports, gardening, care of Icelandic Horses. You will have the opportunity to do some great hiking and adventuring in Alaska. We are a very active family and are willing to include you in our activities and travels. Come with a sense of adventure and willingness to get out and enjoy the beauty of Alaska.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    Help with gardening, care and feeding our animals. We have lots of "work" clothes you can borrow and some of the tasks can involve getting "messy/muddy". General yard work, assisting with gardening or projects around the property. We will gladly share our knowledge and skills with others, no specialized skills required, just a love for animals and willingness for new adventures and a desire to be helpful. Interest in animals, the out of doors and a desire to be willing, engaged and active is needed.

    Alaska is a beautiful state that offers once in a lifetime opportunities if you have a sense of adventure, desire and willingness to get out and enjoy the beauty and all that Alaska has to offer. During this time of pandemic we desire our guests to pursue activities in the out of doors and remain as socially distanced and safe as possible. Now that a safe and effective vaccine is available we do require that anyone staying with us be fully vaccinated.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Alemán: Intermedio
    Español: Intermedio

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    Single room with shared bath. We will be happy to include you in family meals. We try as often as possible to eat together as a family but with busy lives that is not always possible. We have a well stocked refrigerator and freezer with full access to guests. We also love to go to the farmers markets and purchase wonderful local vegetables in the summer. Absolutely NO SMOKING any where on the property. Light alcohol use is acceptable.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    Public transportation is very limited in most of Alaska including our area, we frequently travel into Anchorage and down our hill/mountainside to Eagle River daily and will be glad to give you rides as much as possible. Our home is about two miles from the center of Eagle River. In the summer there are buses and trains to other parts of Alaska for trips around the state. If you need to be on the go everyday our spot may not be ideal for you. It is a beautiful place on the edge of the wilderness.

    Be prepared to have a sense of adventure and see the real Alaska and all of the beauty everywhere. Accomodations in other parts of Alaska are limited and very expensive in the summer. A sense of adventure and willingness to camp or stay in hostels will open up many opportunities for you. Summer is the main season to see the sights of Alaska, trains run, busses go around the road system. During the pandemic large scale tourism has been limited so in many ways it is a great time to visit Alaska.

    Winter and spring can be beautiful but organized activities and public transportation outside of the cities are limited. Rental cars and buses in the summer can offer an opportunity to see more of Alaska. There is so much to do and see if you have a sense of adventure and are willing and interested in getting out and exploring our beautiful state.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Wifi is good and we understand the requirements of working from home.

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Vans or small motor homes would be fine in summer. We do not have any water or sewer hook up capability.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Uno

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    4 hours a day, five days a week, varies and can be flexible

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (5.0)










Número de referencia de anfitrión: 183294379154