House and land to bring back to life in Pai Cabeca near Castelo do Bode Lake, Portugal

Country

Portugal

actualizado  

461 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    10  

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    17/04/2021

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    83.8 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 6 dias

  • Medallas

    Super Host
 
  2021 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos 2 semanas

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Hi My name is Annie and I am retired and live in the countryside near Tomar on the edge of a forest and near to the 70km long Castelo do Bode Lake. I purchased the property in August 2018 with a view to using part as my home and part to create a seasonal letting and to periodically offer holiday courses for singles, couples or small groups with the opportunity to practise, improve or learn a skill or hobby. I am a keen gardener and cook, so nobody goes hungry and I enjoy walking, water sports, films and live music.

    My son Jonathan who is 39 and Sophie, his partner who is 33 arrived in December to help with this exciting project. Jonathan currently works in construction and is also a qualified Ski instructor, Life Guard and excellent surfer and will be travelling to the waves on his time off. He is proficient in woodworking, electrical insulation, plumbing, ceramic tiling, kitchen and bathroom installation, landscaping and qualified in using heavy earth moving equipment. Sophie is a textile designer and silk screen printer and a good cook. They both enjoy various outdoor activities including, cycling, walking, water sports etc….

    The house is on a hill overlooking a small village on the edge of a lovely forest with an exciting downhill bike course and is good for running and walking. We are 6 minutes by car or 25 minutes on foot to the stunning 70 km long Castelo do Bode lake, which has river beaches where we picnic, swim, canoe, paddle board and wake board. The roads around are quiet and good for cycling and running. We have an olive grove which produces delicious olive oil, several vines, lemon, orange, tangerine, plum, pear, peach and apple trees. We have created a flower garden, and bio vegetable, salad and herb gardens. There will be a plunge pool when completed. There is a large bread/pizza oven, paella cooker and BBQ we use often and a fire pit for chilly evenings. The old stone cottage in the grounds currently used as a garage and store requires some renovating, repair of the roof and retiling.

    My niece, her partner and their two young boys have a similar project in the same village up on the opposite hill. They also invite work aways and we often get together to socialise, share a meal and make some music. We are a relaxed family and welcome people from all over the world.

    Our aim is to become as self sufficient as possible and create a harmonious place where people are respectful, work with integrity and have fun! I am eventually planning to resume my fortnightly dinners in the Adega (wine room) when complete towards the end of 2021 and anyone who is a keen, good cook around that time would be very welcome to help. I am planning to live downstairs when that part of the renovation is complete.

    I am a cook so can supply lunch and evening meals safely however, open to anyone cooking occasionally to give me a break.

    Please contact me if you would like to be part of our project.

    I look forward to hearing from you, Annie

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Proyectos artísticos
    Práctica de idiomas
    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Ayuda en una granja
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general
    Ayuda con ordenadores/Internet

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    We welcome people from all around the world and we often gather around the fire pit to share a meal with my niece and her family and their work aways and we are always keen to hear peoples stories and listen to music. I have a love of cooking and I always like to share this and teach people how use the Pizza Oven and create delicious Pizzas.

    As well as the many building skills he can pass along, Jonathan is passionate about water sports loves to teach people to surf or paddle board. 

Being on the edge of a beautiful forest and only a walk away from the lake it is very easy to be instantly in nature and to walk, cycle, run and swim and to be free, especially during the pandemic.

    The local city of Tomar is home to the ’Convento de Cristo’ which is listed as a World Heritage site. The Old part of the city is lovely and is packed with restaurants, bars, cafes and lovely old streets. You will never run out of things to do here.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    My son Jonathan is here to manage all the tasks that need completing and you will be helping alongside him on a daily basis. I have listed some of the tasks below to give you an idea of the what there is to do.

    Stone wall and step building
    Door and window rubbing down and treating
    Re-pointing old stone walls
    Renewing the electrics and plumbing downstairs
    Installing a kitchen and bathrooms
    Installing a thermal hot water and central heating system
    Lining the walls
    Re-laying the floors
    Installing an irrigation system from the existing well and bore hole
 Interior/Exterior Painting
    Re-landscaping the grounds
    Re-building old roofs.

    As well as the building tasks there is also the grounds and the vegetable gardens to maintain. There is also opportunity to cook and to help clean/maintain the house.

    Anyone with any experience of the above or interest to learn/or improve a skill would be amazing.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    We are practising social distancing when new 'work aways' arrive if appropriate! I have one bedroom, living room and bathroom downstairs separate from my accommodation with fridge, toaster, kettle and breakfast/lunch supplies etc.. We also have space for a small/medium camper or tent with water/electric and use of a shower room and washing machine.

    - A couple have just left after being here 8 weeks in their camper whilst another couple were using the bedroom and it worked really well.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    Swimming and canoeing from the River Beach 5 mins by car.

    Sao Pedro 5 minutes by car - Doctors, pharmacy, Bank Machine, cafe, Restaurant, Church.

    Serra 10 minutes by car, Petrol Station, Butchers, Supermarket, Doctors, Pharmacy, Post Office, Bank machine, cafe's and restaurant.

    Tomar a market Town with the Convento de Cristo - World Heritage site of the 'Knights of the Templar' 10 minutes by car. Cinema, Theatre, Restaurants, cafes, shops, supermarkets, Banks, Post Office, Hospital and sports centre. Bus station and Train station - 90 minutes to Lisbon.

    Bus passes through Pai Cabeca to Tomar. Short walk to the Serra Road where there is a bus stop with a more regular service. Good walking, special downhill cycling track behind the house and plenty of forest to ramble through. Transport would be useful but not necessary.

    I make regular trips into Serra, Sao Pedro and Tomar. The train service is good and cheap if you want to get around. Coaches run to Lisbon and Porto from Tomar.

    Train travel is cheap.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Este anfitrión puede proporcionar un sitio para autocaravanas.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (4.9)

Intercambio cultural: (4.4)

Comunicación: (4.4)











Número de referencia de anfitrión: 174851976736