Join our happy workaway family on our quinta in Alquerubim, Portugal

  • Portugal
  • 1823 “me gusta”
  • Última actividad: 24 sept 2023



 Estancia mínima:  Al menos 2 semanas



  • Descripción


    Farm is only looking for last minute workaways for the moment!
    Farm is owned by Goetz and Amelia whose lifelong dream was waking up every day to donkeys on a farm and whose dream has come true!!!
    Goetz is not much of a farm boy but is instead out surfing or kitesurfing living his dream in his campervan with our dogs Jackson and Annie who like a break from the farm sometimes.
    Our son who is 24 lives with us and he is a skater and works on the farm and on building projects. Our other son also lives with us and he works online.

    The house is a large double story old house that is being renovated where we all live together, with volunteers who have their own rooms. There is space for a campervan and we also have a bell tent in the donkey field if that is your wish.

    We live 15 minutes from Aveiro in the countryside but its pretty social here as there always workaways and we have 3 sons who live here. My sister lives down the road and she mostly has workaways, so we spend a lot of time between the houses playing board games, jamming, barbecuing, swimming in the river nearby in summer, stand up paddling and the younglings often go into Aveiro to party. Porto is 45 minutes away so on weekends theres always the possibility to leave the Shire end enjoy the city vibe.

    The farm is a fun farm for the pure pleasure of living and learning with our 3 donkeys, five ducks, 16 chickens, (2 blind chickens Hellen Keller and Stevie Wonder) 3 cats and 2 dogs Jackson and Annie.

    We aspire to make sure our animals have the best life. In fact it feels like most days we are their human slaves! We seem to always be putting up fences to stop chickens eating our veggies, dogs eating eggs, ducks bullying blind chickens! , donkeys escaping!

    We have two construction projects underway, of cottages to be restored and renovated so there is some building work.

    The donkeys and all other animals need feeding, cleaning out, walking to the field abdvthe garden is always begging for love and attention!

    We work from Mon to Friday (ish) from 9 till 2 (ish) and then Saturday and Sundays off or other flexible hours depending on the surf, weather etc but its basically 25 hours a week, all food is provided which is 90 percent vegetarian. We usually all eat together and Amelia cooks on week nights. Weekends everyone does their own meals or joins up for meals or we make pizzas.

    We want to create an artistic, warm, welcoming space with various accommodation facilities, workshop spaces and be surrounded by enthusiastic people of any age range we can share, collaborate and exchange ideas. We love people with initiative who will go and research stuff on youtube and then say "ok i think we can do this"

    We would love to invite artists to come and use our space as a canvas to create whimsical, irreverant art in any form alongside the building and in the house, garden and field. If your passion is bees build a beehive, if your passion is art, make an art installation, if you want to try make wine, use the grapes. we are open very much to ideas and collaborations. We would love someone who is also interested in permaculture and growing stuff and Are desperate for skilled carpenters, builders or plumbers.

    Although we are both 50, we relate a lot to alternative younglings. and our aim is to turn our space into a vibey, communal funky space that is a fun space for volunteers to hang out, whilst also restoring the main house and outbuildings to eventually accommodate groups for yoga, shibari workshops and eventually restore the big barn into accommodation.

    current projects:
    training donkeys to do treks, helping with painting and building, plastering, sanding, building a duck pond, swales and hydroponic system, building a beehive or whatever else takes your fancy. Deconstructing and constructing a barn. We love people to have their own ideas and make things, be creative and leave their mark.

    We can offer electricity and water if you have your own campervan which can be parked in the donkey field.
    We do not currently have any paid positions available, only volunteer hours, unless it is construction or carpentry or plumbing. We usually do workaway hours and then pay for hours over and above that for skilled labour.

    We look forward to hearing from you.
    We have availability from the 25th May to 12th June but that could change to longer.

    Amelia and Goetz

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Proyectos artísticos
    Práctica de idiomas
    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Ayuda en una granja
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Experience the Portugese countryside but not too far from Porto. Connect with other volunteers and learn and exchange skills and ideas.

    My husband can take you surfing.

  • El anfitrión ofrece una paga acorde al salario mínimo

    El anfitrión ofrece una paga acorde al salario mínimo

    Este anfitrión ofrece alojamiento y paga.

    El anfitrión ha indicado que pagará al menos el salario mínimo por hora de su país por cada hora trabajada y que también ofrecerá alojamiento. Pide ayuda con un negocio o una actividad empresarial. Ponte en contacto directamente con el anfitrión mediante la mensajería de la página para obtener más información y detalles sobre el salario ofrecido. Cualquier acuerdo con el anfitrión debe cerrarse por anticipado.

  • Ayuda


    Daily farm life cleaning out donkeys, ducks, chickens, feeding all animals, walking dogs, walking donkeys, CUDDLING DONKEYS!! helping with building, painting. Fences fences fences! We seem to always be making fences !

    Creating art installations, building a pond, sanding, painting, gardening, harvesting,

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Alemán: Fluido
    Inglés: Fluido
    Francés: Intermedio
    Portugués: Principiante

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    We are desperate to learn PORTUGESE. !

  • Alojamiento


    accommodation is rooms in our house with a shared bathroom, shared kitchen and once cottage is renovated this will be available. We also have a bell tent.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    We are mostly vegetarian. We eat meat or fish maybe once a week but cook for the vegetarians separate stuff. We eat eggs from our chickens and eat a lot of cheese!!

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    we have fibre

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    we have water and electricity for you to plug in and an outside loo

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    Any pets that arent chicken or cat killers.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    25 hours a week

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 169858593622

Comentarios (3)


Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (5.0)

Come and help create a small cocoon of nature, peace and joy near Castelo Branco, Portugal
Help in a biological farm where we plan to host mindfulness, yoga and NVC events, isolated in the countryside 30 km away from Lisbon, Portugal.