Prairie homestead life playing with chickens, cats and plants in Paintearth County, Canada

Country

Canadá

13 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    -

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    01/07/2022

 
  2022 
E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    If you are wanting a place away from crowds, come and play with the plants and chickens on my homestead on the prairies! Do farm related things like grow food, make sausage / pepperoni, sit by the fire at night and gaze at stars! Attend local rodeos, visit local farms, museums, the badlands, and generally experience country life on the prairies.

    If you are travelling through Alberta we are just under 4 hours away from Banff, Calgary just under 3 hours, Edmonton just under 2.5 hours, Stettler just under 1/2 hour, Red Deer 1 hour and 20 minutes.

    I can pick you up from Stettler, and I go into town on a weekly basis for shopping and bring you with me. we also have a small grocery store in the town next to us that you can bike to.

    We have 2 cats aside from the chickens, and would love to have additional animals, so help is welcome!

    I am an older woman living with my husband and am looking for someone to help me with a bit of work on the homestead. It's not hard work, and rarely entails heavy labor, mostly help me out with keeping things tidy, cooking, cleaning up, and carry the occasional feed bag (once a month to the chicken house).
    Come help me in the garden with planting, weeding, harvesting, mulching, making compost, cutting grass, and sometimes mending fences. Help me to food prep sometimes I make sausage / pepperoni and keto/low carb dishes. In the fall help is needed with canning, drying & preserving foods, making soups for our consumption & winter storage. We do share produce grown in the garden as well as some eggs from the chickens! Lettuce, radish and arugula is bountiful as well as other produce later on in the season. Whatever else you can help grow is always shareable, we just have to plant LOTS of it :)!

    I am looking for helpers year round. If you are reliable, honest, responsible, enjoy outdoor activities in most weather conditions then I would be happy to host you. I don't drink or smoke and am deathly allergic to drugs and alcohol, so can't have that on the premises.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Compañía para ancianos
    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Ayuda en una granja
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general

  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    What is especially interesting about this area is that it is the wild west prairie, and you will meet the locals, many of whom have been in the area for generations. There are a lot of cattle operations in the area, and some small regenerative farmers who have goats, rabbits, and other animals. We live right next door to 2 cattle ranchers, so you will see the herd probably on a daily basis while you are about the property. There is also a bison herd / ranch a few kilometers down the road. This part of the country is also farmland - where you will see fields of gold during the summer months.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    Tasks such as daily chicken care, maintaining growing beds for food for the homestead, weeding, mulching, planting and harvesting, processing and freezing or drying produce, light housekeeping and cooking. Sorry, I can’t provide meals (except for some eggs and and garden produce that is currently growing) you will need to have enough monetary funds to supply your own personal needs and top up on your desired foods. I require 3 hours of help per day during the weekdays or we can work out another schedule, depending on your preference.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido
    Francés: Intermedio

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    A private room with a comfortable queen sized bed, and private bathroom in our beautiful home, with access to the living room, downstairs den (has a fireplace), and lovely kitchen. High Speed internet and television is included.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    The town of Stettler is 1/2 hour away by car. If you do not have a vehicle, we do go to Stettler once or twice a week, or you can rideshare with other locals. I am also developing a craft room where you can do some crafts. Currently I do shellwork and painting in the winter. What else is there to do in our neck of the woods? We are in a geese flyway zone, enjoy seeing these big birds flyover low in our area. Want to see moose? They're close by, you can usually catch some views of these majestic animals. Being so far into the country, we hear the coyotes yodel at night, you might just hear a treat of a song while here. There is Big Knife provincial park close by, and a few other tourist attractions such as the Badlands. The town of Halkirk has a great little vintage/second hand store that sells all kind of stuff and the hotel nearby serves up delicious meals.
    We have a large fire pit that we light up whenever we can, to enjoy on windless days, late into the night. Gaze up at the starry sky, we are far away enough from the cities to be able to enjoy them! Sometimes we see the aurora borealis, and what a treat that is!

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Este anfitrión ha indicado que le encanta acoger a nómadas digitales.

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    We have room for a campervan/motorhome on the property.

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    If you have a campervan, you could bring your dog with you.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Uno

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 3 hours a day, 5 days a week


Número de referencia de anfitrión: 167562555585