Come help improve a giant boat in beautiful countryside, ten minutes from the London train, Halling, UK

Country

Gran Bretaña

112 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    23/05/2022

 
  2022 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos una semana

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    22 years ago, young welder Mike got an old London cargo barge filled with soil. He emptied it, and started converting it to a houseboat on Deptford Creek in London. 15 years, 8 moorings and many adventures later, the 70ft motor-barge is moored on the River Medway in Kent on land Mike owns, and he and his partner Jay, a boat electrician, split their time between there and Deptford.

    A project the size of this takes many years to fully finish, and there is still a lot of work to do, plus maintenance both on the boat and on the orchard, hedging and wildlife habitats which Mike, Jay and Mike's son Seth are developing on the land. Workawayers will spend their work-days on the boat cleaning, painting and helping Mike and Jay build extra systems and facilities and organise the mostly reclaimed building materials necessary to do the work. We also run a river cleanup project taking plastic out of the Medway, so if you are here when that happens you will be helping with it.

    The Kent countryside is beautiful, especially the river Medway, where the boat is moored. We are keen kayakers and can take you kayaking in the river, there are many lovely local walks (including walking to the next village to get fresh duck and goose eggs from a local farmer) and the boat is a lovely place to hang out.

    Mike's land is also only 40 minutes by train from London, and Mike and Jay go regularly to London by car, so you can get lifts. Workaway shifts can be arranged to suit your plans: you can work 5 5hr days and have two days off, or consolidate all the hours into three full days work and have four days to do whatever you want. We prefer your working days to be at the weekend as that is when we do most work on the boat, but this is negotiable.

    We welcome people with practical skills, but are also happy to teach people. We work hard, but we also have a lot of fun. We hope you would like to join us!

    Maybe see you soon?

    Mike, Jay and Seth

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Mantenimiento general
    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Ayuda doméstica

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    They will learn a lot about living on boats and the community of people who live like this, about energy efficiency and sustainable living, and about the skills necessary to build your own home if you start with no money. They can also learn about river safety, and a lot about boats. We also have a wide range of interests from literature and poltics to birdwatching, and love to have conversations about anything and everything.

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    Most Workawayers will spend a lot of their time cleaning and helping to reorganise reclaimed building materials. You may also spend time painting the outside of the boat to prevent rust, painting the inside of the boat as we redesign rooms, chopping firewood, planting various plants on the land, moving horse manure to fertilse the land, or helping with the river cleanup project Medway Tidal Tidy-up.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    There are three spare rooms on the boat (two double beds and one double bunk bed), plus two sofa beds in the upstairs living room. We prefer to have at least two WorkAwayers stay at once as it is easier to organise the work, so we are a good placement for couples or groups of friends travelling together. Some days you will be eating with us, but as we are not around every day you will sometimes be cooking for yourself with ingrdients we provide. We understand vegetarianism, veganism and dietary allergies, but please let us know in advance if you have any dietary requirements.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Número de referencia de anfitrión: 162826226983