Ayuda a un artista retirado con su día a día en Redcar, norte de Inglaterra


Gran Bretaña

436 “me gusta”

  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Última actividad


  • facebook friends

    Numero de amigos en Facebook


  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    68.8 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 11 dias

  • Medallas

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
  • Descripción


    I am female, a struggling poet, writer and occasional visual artist. Not in very good health due to long standing M.E. Asthma, osteo-arthritis and new problems with my neck & shoulders, and now my right hip and back. It appears to be a problem with my pelvis, so I am not very mobile at the moment. :-D I am an avid reader and very creative but not at all domesticated. I think I might be classed as eccentric, but in a nice way. Very easy-going with a weird sense of humour.

    I can be rather quiet at times when I am concentrating. I am A SMOKER and continually in the process of quitting :-)

    I do not have a car, but the public transport here is excellent. It is only about 15 minutes from the North Sea, with lovely beaches which you can walk on for many miles, and an easy walking distance to the small town, church, park, nature reserve, amusements and various shops.
    Redcar is a small, seaside town and the people are friendly. This is not suitable for anyone looking for work in England, We have the highest unemployment in Britain.
    No matter how busy I am, I always try to reply to all enquiries quite quickly, and I respectfully ask any interested volunteers to do the same, either yes or no please :-) Thank you all and good luck in your adventures. This is only suitable for people who are prepared to go out exploring on their own and generally get to know the people & places that we have to offer.
    I have been rather ill for a few months now due to new health issues, but I do retain a sense of humour :-D
    Naturally, I do like my own space at times.
    Please note, as I am a pensioner, I do expect you to help out with the grocery shopping cost and any other special requirements you may have. My heart is large and generous but my income is sadly not.

    At the moment, I am up in the mornings until lunchtime, then sleep for a couple of hours, then around until about 6 pm when by that time I am having to collapse back into bed, exhausted. Thankfully I also have a TV & books in there so I am coping. All guests must have had both doses of vaccine and arrive with a negative PCR test. Thank you.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general
    Ayuda con ordenadores/Internet

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    I can offer peace, quiet, our amazing beach and lots of local beauty spots to expand their knowledge of this corner of England. I am prepared to assist in improving their English speaking skills, usually done over shared meals.
    Anyone wishing to learn how to paint or write could be in a position to learn from my experience and I am happy to share my knowledge and assist in any way I can.
    I believe that anyone looking for a retreat or safe haven to escape from the busy world for a while and find inner peace and harmony would benefit from a stay in my home as I am a calm and relaxed lady.

  • Ayuda


    Some help is welcome in the garden as I have a seven year old dog who is full of mischief despite being nervous of traffic and refusing to venture out into the wide world for a proper walk. He has almost climbed over my garden walls causing me a lot of stress and worry. This is partially solved at this moment.:D Weeding and generally getting ready for the winter months. I would love to have someone who can sew and alter things as I have an awful lot of polo neck sweaters which are too high for me now, so would like them to be altered down to either crew neck or turtle necks. As my wardrobes are somewhat in a mess and so is my pantry, I would like a person who is good at organising and proper arranging of items in a logical way. Sometimes, I need help with my desktop and laptop, cooking, especially if you can do something resembling English meals as it often takes all my strength,, and little bits and pieces of housework/shopping. There would be lots and lots of free time, and as I sleep in the afternoons you would have peace & quiet to go where you please. I am chronically untidy and as I possess no common sense, constantly need some organisation. I am looking for someone who understands long-term illness and can be caring, patient and compassionate when required. Would you please check my calendar before enquiring? I would be grateful, thank you.
    I am a rather quiet person, mostly because my brain is always working on new ideas for my poetry or paintings and evenings which I spend in bed, I just virtually plug myself in, relax and recharge my batteries. Lol.
    Please note, you do have to provide for your own food, either by buying it yourself, or else contributing to the household budget. My heart is generous, but sadly, my bank manager is not!
    If anyone wishes to do their own cooking, I have no objections, but prefer it to be done before 7. 00 pm so that we can then relax in peace and quiet to either watch television, read, write, paint or generally chill out. The house and myself usually go to sleep by 11 pm as I am an early riser and so are my neighbours.
    My guest bedroom, ( only one), does have it's own small television in for visitors use, plus a comfortable single bed, wardrobe, chest of drawers, a small table and chairs for personal writing/art or whatever, plus, strange though it may seem, a fridge/freezer, plus a kettle. :-D I also have an awful lot of books in English, covering all genres.
    A point worth remembering is that I only have one bathroom, so we have to consider each other.
    Help is always in a morning, usually an 9-9.30 am start, then you have the rest of the day for your own pursuits and interests.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido
    Portugués: Principiante

  • Alojamiento


    I now live in a rented house very close to the beach, which is more or less sorted for now. ( Actually I have run out of ideas on how to make the space work better :-D ) The main thing that needs sorting out is the gardens and my wardrobes and pantry.
    Life still has to be enjoyed and savoured. All enquiries welcome and I will reply as quickly as possible.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    I am a state pensioner on a very small limited income, but happy to help others gain experience in a different part of the world. PLEASE NOTE:- I AM OFFERING ACCOMMODATION ONLY. This means you make your own provisions for meals. ( This has been authorized by the Workaway site managers). I do have a helper come in for a couple of hours two mornings a week but he has been left with a lot of undone work (, but has been off work ill for three months now so at the moment I have no assistance in the household duties.)
    I am not a big meat eater and tend to have cereal or toast for breakfast, a sandwich or soup for lunch, and the main meal around 4.30-5ish.
    The beach is within walking distance, pure sand and you can walk for many kilometers :-D So is the town and local parks. We have a small, modern cinema here also, right on the beach! Whitby is within reach by bus, think Dracula! Also Saltburn, Middlesbrough, York via train/coach, Newcastle also. Any queries on other matters will always be answered.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?


  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    2-3 up to a maximum of 15 hours per week.

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 161681216393