Volunteer on the edge of national park, La Caldera de Taburiente, Spain

Country

España

1652 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    17  

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    23/06/2021

  • facebook friends

    Numero de amigos en Facebook

    539

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    51.5 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 34 dias

  • Medallas

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2021 

 Estancia mínima:  1 mes o más

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    I´m an artist and dancer from Wales and I teach English in my little Academy in the nearby town. I have two daughters who are currently in university. We fell in love with the island when we moved here fourteen years ago, and we love to share this with our visitors.
    We would love to have your help here, an artistic retreat centre in the heart of Nature. This is an eco house set in a Bio banana finca, perched on the edge of a cliff overlooking the spectacular Barranco de las Angustias. It´s far from other houses and roads and light pollution and provides a spectacular and unrivalled view of the stars at night!
    Furthermore it is a great location to directly start hiking into the nationalpark from here!

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Proyectos artísticos
    Práctica de idiomas
    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Enseñanza
    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Ayuda en una granja
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general
    Ayuda con ordenadores/Internet

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    English - Spanish exchange
    If you have TEFL you can get experience helping with english activitiies for local children and adults
    Animal care, Dogs , cats , Guinea pig, chickens and Horses.
    Learn about gardening and permaculture and local ecology.
    Looking after and interacting with International visitors.
    Learn about local mythology
    Take part in art projects
    Eco construction
    Hiking and exploring the Fabulous Island of La Palma, which is a World Biosphere reserve on account of its wildlife and Ecology It is Unesco reserve also for its Architecture and Culture, Marine reserve and a Starlight reserve , on account of its low levels of light pollution which allow an unrivalled view of the stars at night.
    Dancing, music and bellydance
    and much more!

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    In the morning the tasks are first to take care of all the animals and the garden, and clean the house.
    After this it is time for our creative tasks: the Quests.
    These can be very different ones: From building a compost toilet to creating a cascade to energize the water for our pool or creating a beautiful wall with clay ornaments , creating magical meditation gardens ,sewing and beautifying and many more!

    ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    As a workawayer here we have lots you can do - so say what you´re interested in and write before hand so we can find your best fit! If you´re involved in a big project, we can discuss how time is managed - differently to how it would be if you´re more part of the day to day running.
    Each day can be a bit different so if you´re comfortable with going with the flow and scheduling your free time around what needs to be done, then you will be a good fit here.
    We are relaxed and want you to have a lovely time and feel part of the family/team/Elfin tribe. Days off are compulsory!

    1. General help with creating the eco garden.
    2. Caring for the animals: we have 3 dogs, 5 cats, chickens coming out of our vegetarian ears and 3 guinea pigs!
    3. Computers and internet: general help in dealing with the challenges of technology is always appreciated
    4. Building: Our main project at the moment is to renovate our broken water tank and convert it into a Positively energized water therapy pool and extra water reservoir for the Eco Banana farm crops. Small building projects are always happening here too! We need to make a compost toilet and we are always making new stone walled terraces for the garden. So any expertise in building, or general gusto for giving it a go is always welcome. We aim for eco construction methods .
    5. Art projects: as an artist myself we often have art projects on the go,especially creating beautiful meditation and relaxation spaces. Come and join in!
    6. Other: If you´d like to come as a workaway-ing meditation, yoga leader, or English Teacher please do!

    BEFORE CONTACTING US , PLEASE READ THE FOLLOWING SO YOU CAN BE SURE THAT THIS IS A GOOD FIT FOR YOU.
    We are in a remote area and found that it works much better for everyone if we all use whatsapp to stay in touch.If you have whatsapp yeeeah wonderful!! Or if not please make sure you are able to download it on your phone.
    We love hosting the many wonderful and interesting people who come here and like to have Workaway folks who are sociable ,and enjoy meeting people.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido
    Español: Fluido

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    Este anfitrión ha indicado que está interesado en compartir su idioma o aprender otro.
    Ponte en contacto con él para obtener más información.

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    As a workawayer you will have a lovely bed in the main communal dormitory room, which has 8 beds, at the moment with covid, just 4 people will be our capacity in the dorm.
    Unfortunately, due to the current financial uncertainty with covid-19, you will need to provide your own food, however we can make communal meals where we contribute equally and also reduce the cost for everyone by cultivating our own food in the garden! The hours expected are reduced to 15h per week. In the future, if the situation improves in the next few months we will be able to change this
    arrangement and provide food, as we did before covid-19.
    Only one space available so no couples accepted at the moment :)

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    La Palma is an incredible island of legends, hiking, black sandy beaches, volcanic deserts, and lush green rainforests. The people are very friendly and open, and have many many open air fiestas!
    Great for mountain biking, diving, paragliding, art and culture.... And fabulous flea markets.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Este anfitrión ha indicado que le encanta acoger a nómadas digitales.

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    We have to check up first. As we have lots of animals already. But we love them all

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Uno

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    15h per week

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (4.8)

Intercambio cultural: (4.6)

Comunicación: (4.2)
















Número de referencia de anfitrión: 153399212956