Come and help our fun and loving family on our organic hobby farm in Smiths Falls, Canada

Country

Canadá

94 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    16  

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    22/04/2020

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 4 dias

  • Medallas

    Super Host
 
  2020 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos 3 semanas

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Hello, I am Sandra and my husband is Vince and our bible believing family is a fun loving, welcoming Christian family. We live in a pioneer log cabin home dating back to the early 1800's on 90 acres of land. We are a family of 4 and our daughter lives with us but is on a mission trip. She finished her last year of university and is looking at going to teacher's college. My husband is a software developer and I work with adults who have special needs. We live about 40 minutes Southwest of Ottawa and 15-30 minutes from 5 quaint towns. We started homesteading when we moved here 2.5 years ago. We believe in natural, organic farming and are currently working on getting our farm in good working order. We had 23 laying hens, meat birds (seasonal) over 200 last year, we have 2 very friendly cats and 2 large, curious puppies, we are looking forward to having goats, pigs, cows and other animals in the future. We have large gardens, we harvested over 1600 garlic and have 1200 hundred planted using a different and unconventional method. We are curious to see how this works out. We bought our property from an older couple and have much to restore and repair do to the property and the very old but solid buildings. We enjoy sports, traveling, playing games and are very involved in our church (Reformed Presbyterian). We have hosted 11 workawayers from March 2018 when we first signed up. We have learnt many things from our workawayers. We have made many wonderful friendships which have continued. We are encouraged by the great work which has been accomplished on our farm. While we welcome shorter visits we enjoy longer stays where we can really connect with our guests and make lasting relationships. They just become part of the family.

  • Tipo de ayuda

    Tipo de ayuda

    Jardinería
    Construcción
    Mantenimiento / bricolage
    Cocinar / compras
    Ayuda en una granja
    Ayuda en proyecto ecológico
    Ayuda en casa
    Ayuda con animales
    Projecto artístico

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    We are an authentic Canadian family with French Canadian roots. We snowmobile, snowshoe, love camping, hiking, playing games. We live about 40 minutes from Canada's capital which offers a wide variety of multicultural activities including festivals, fairs, museums, and other special activities to take part in.
    We live close to many quaint and unique towns full of history.
    Our family speaks, English, French and Spanish and travelers could learn from us if interested. We have taught English as a second language in a variety of settings.
    We love to cook all types of ethnic foods and travelers would be welcome to share their favorite recipes with us.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    We are flexible with the tasks as there are a variety of things that can be done on our farm. If cooking and cleaning is your preference then that could be accommodated. If you prefer to help outside then there are a various options. Most of our projects require physical energy.
    We have gardening, cutting trails, painting the house.
    Cutting and piling wood, making fences, burning brush, artistic opportunities for landscaping, gardening and decorating both interior and exterior, working with barn wood. We would like to start our rock wall at the front of the property in the Spring, clean the bush, picking up items from the property, (in the past, people used to put metal, glass and other garbage type items "in the back".)
    We do a thorough spring cleaning of the outbuildings. Painting and repairing the barn.
    We use a small tractor, 4 wheeler and other machines to help us with our work.
    For rainy days there are house renovations on our to do list, such as redoing the old kitchen pantry, sanding and painting/staining chairs and tables, cleaning and restoring an old cold house.
    We are currently redoing an old feed loft into an apartment type dwelling. Specifically for workawayers!!
    Since we host for long periods some of our workers have looked after our farm while we were away. We were able to celebrate grandma's 100 th birthday with our family last September and enjoy a few other breaks because our workers looked after the farm.
    We like to eat together as a family and enjoy a lot of homemade food. We consider meal clean up and preparation everyone's responsibility.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Idiomas hablados

    English, French and Spanish

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    We have 4 bedrooms in our home, we have 2 spare bedrooms where our guests will be staying. The rooms are very quiet with bright windows. One is a large bright room on the second floor with a double bed, a 3/4 bed and a large closet , the other room is smaller but very quaint, it has a double bed with a regular closet. There is a smaller bathroom (sink and toilet) on the main level and a full bathroom upstairs.
    We like to eat together as a family and we would welcome our guests to join us. Our guests would have full access to the kitchen. We purchase items which our workawayers prefer to eat and 3 meals/day are provided. If sharing the cooking is something of interest then we would welcome that.
    We have 2 pedal bikes our workawayers have used and are open to lending out our vehicles.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    There are many things to do in this area, there are all different churches, antique shops, water parks, museums, fairs, festivals (art, music, food) horse back riding, sports, such as volleyball, baseball, soccer, movie theaters, live theater, camping, swimming, hiking, skiing, shooting, good restaurants, excellent 2nd hand stores.
    We love going to fairs, camping and all outdoor activities.
    We attend church services Sunday morning and evening. We only do work which is necessary on Sundays and welcome the rest which that day allows.
    We enjoy the tranquility of sitting on our porch in the evenings and for nice relaxing breaks.
    There is no public transportation in our rural area, however at least one person from our household goes into town (Ottawa) daily during the week. Ottawa has excellent public transportation.
    We often entertain friends and family and people often drop in for a visit.
    We don't allow smoking or heavy drinking in our home.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (5.0)












Número de referencia de anfitrión: 151375669947