Help around the house in East Texas, United States

Country

Estados Unidos

13 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    10/11/2021

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 1 dia

 
  2021 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos una semana

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    My husband, baby, and I have a home on roughly 18 acres adjacent to Davy Crockett National Forest. We have 10-15 forested acres and a beautiful meadow with native wildflowers and grasses. Our 2 pups love to run through the creek that winds through the land and play in the tall grass. We often have wildlife sightings of deer, hogs, and armadillos, and there are beautiful birds everywhere. We would welcome some help with tasks around the house and some light help with the baby (vaccine required). We have both been Workawayers ourselves, so we have a good idea of what you need to have a fulfilling volunteer experience!

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    We offer a unique experience for the average Workawayer because our region is not only ecologically rich (we live in the Piney Forest, adjacent to the national forest), but it has a long and abundant history. The two oldest towns in Texas are minutes away and we live only a few miles from El Camino Real de los Tejas (one of the oldest roads in Texas). Our land also used to be home to several American indigenous peoples, we even find arrow heads around the property on occasion. Workawayers who join us will be able to explore the forests, towns, and parks around the area to get a real sense of the distinct culture of Deep East Texas.

    On a more personal level, we know what it's like to have to adapt to new places, languages, and cultures; so we are able to empathize and identify with people who come from far off. We were Workawayers ourselves in Serbia and have lived in three other countries together. In fact, my husband became the volunteer manager for an organization made up entirely of Workaway volunteers in Serbia and we spent most of our time at that organization making Workawayers feel part of the team. We have a passion for cross-cultural exchange and believe strongly in the value of working and living side-by-side. We plan to eat dinner with our Workawayers as often as they'd like and help shoulder to shoulder with them on any projects we undertake together.

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    We will mostly need help with chores around the house and some help with the baby. Must be vaccinated against COVID-19.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido
    Español: Intermedio
    Portugués: Intermedio

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    We speak English, Spanish, and Portuguese and are open to learning new languages!

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    Workawayers have access to our guest room with a full bed, shared bathroom, and access to our kitchen to cook breakfast and lunch (dinner will be a family meal with us!)

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    We are very remote! There is no public transportation and our road is a dirt/gravel maintained by our county. We are only a few miles away from the state park Mission Tejas and Lake Ratcliff. We do not have Wifi or cell service at the house, but there is cell service on the road.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    We have lots of space for vans/motorhomes! We do not have electric or water hookups for motorhomes.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4 hours a day, 5 days a week



Número de referencia de anfitrión: 142742141169