Help with building, organizing and daily life and explore the Paradise of US Virgin Islands



 Estancia mínima:  Al menos una semana



  • Descripción


    We are a busy, fun, adventure loving couple + roommate who all moved to the US Virgin Islands from Dallas. (At separate times)
    We have a 2 forever cottages we just purchased with an ocean hillside view. Our home is surrounded by palm trees and foliage a little magical paradise. We have a few projects we would like to get finished this year so our home can feel like the dream house we envision. (including things like painting, lots of gardening, building, clearing brush around the house ). Since all three of us have day jobs it's hard to find extra time to undertake the large projects around the house. I got my start on the island with work away I find it only fitting that I use this platform to help others create their travel dream. Through workaway, I ended up living in the apartment I renovated and now work full time in a dental office on the island!
    My goal is to work with passionate and creative world travelers who want to help make our house into an island home!

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Ayuda en una granja
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    We like to travel a lot and love meeting other travelers. I have done a backpacking trip through Europe, sail trips, and road trips all over. We like to share knowledge about our little island. We love sharing stories with others and love learning from travelers as well.

    By exploring the island, you can experience traditional Caribbean culture, food, farmer's markets, art exhibitions and numerous beach music events. There are historical sites to visit downtown, sugar mill ruins on St John, and WWII bunker on water island. We can give you lots of advice on fun places to explore.

  • Ayuda


    The workawayers we are welcoming are independent individuals or couples, with some handy person experience. At the very least we are seeking self-sufficient individuals who are ready to tackle a variety of tasks. The help we need is some construction and organization, gardening but I could also use some help with cleaning around the house and the garden.

    We expect at least a few hours of help after we get off work a 4 days a week. Weekend at least one morning 4 hrs a weekend. We suggest getting the tasks done in the morning or late afternoon because the afternoons get hot. We are very flexible and we don't have a time limit on work, so most of the time there will be a relaxed atmosphere. Your welcome to do what you would like in the afternoon.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido
    Español: Principiante

  • Alojamiento


    In exchange for help around the house I can offer a private bedroom with a mini fridge and shared bathroom. Sharing our beautiful home with many patios with a beautiful ocean hillside view, as well as fun weekends on different islands. A lot of times buying in bulk is cheaper than smaller portions. We can take you to the bulk store once you arrive. Keep in mind groceries are 30% higher than stateside because everything is brought in.

    We are a house of 3 people, 2 dogs and 2 cat and 6 chickens- There are often friends and family visitors coming and going so we are a friendly household.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    There are plenty of outdoor activities around St. Thomas to do in your time off, as well as restaurants and bars in town to check out. I will help arrange rides when possible and depending on schedule you may be able to ride with us often. Luckly we live close to a hotel and calling a taxi to and from town is fairly easy but each ride will cost you $7-15 bucks.

    There are no nearby beaches within a decent walking distance. The beach is about 10 min drive with steep roads. We have had people walk to our house from town but I don't suggest this route because the road is thin and cars are constantly passing. It’s not a scooter type island either the roads are slick and steep when it rains.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    We have high speed wifi but the island does go out of power from time to time. As does any where on island lol.

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    We have parking if you get a vehicle rented on island.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 3 hours a day, 5 days a week

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 139546311176

Comentarios (2)


Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (5.0)

Farming, hydroponics and construction in the Virgin Islands
Looking for construction and hotel management help on this Caribbean island of St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands