Help us with home improvement projects and experience living in the Alps in Glarus Sud, Switzerland

Country

Suiza

29 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    29/10/2021

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    62.5 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 9 dias

  • Medallas

 
  2021 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos una semana

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Hello!

    We are a young (well, we think so) couple, 32 and 28, we have recently moved to Engi in Glarus Süd, Switzerland. I (Oli) am British, I am a Nanny in Zürich 3 days a week and on the other days work on a project that organised bike adventurs that raise money for refugee projects. Sascha is Swiss, an electrician and also enjoys converting vans to campers.

    We moved to Switzerland just over a year ago, after living for 3.5 years in the UK in our van. We've just bought a beautiful old mountain house, that needs some work doing to it. We are doing a lot of it ourselves, but the bigger things will get builders in for. We are turning it into 2 homes, one for us and one to rent out. The back where we will live is at the moment a garage and half converted barn.

    We are pretty chilled, we want you to feel at home here. We of course expect mutual respect, and kindness :) In the evenings and and on days we aren't working on the house (at the moment we both work full time but are hoping to change that), we like to play board games, play music (not that well), have campfires, watch movies, make nice dinners etc. We also fully appreciate the need for chill alone time.

    Where: It's in the Sernftal valley, surrounded by the Swiss Alps, with skiing just a 15 minute bus ride away. Also lovely snow shoeing, cross country skiing and all that other wintery stuff. And in summer hiking, cycling etc. There is a river a 5 min walk away that you can dip in (not properly swim) and there are some lakes around, we haven't been here in Summer yet, so if you're visiting then, we can explore that stuff together!

    Accommodation: You will have your own room and share the bathroom and kitchen with us. We can share the cooking, but we will buy most of the food. We eat predominantly vegan but not strict on anything :)

    The Work: We need help with decorating, so, prepping to paint, painting, sanding floors, that kind of thing. It's not super skilled work but we do like to do it to a high standard. If you have a trade then we would also be happy to pay for more hours and your trade skills. At certain points we will particularly be looking for a carpenter and plasterer.

    Hours: We know this isn't super exciting work, so we are happy to keep the hours low. 15 hours a week would be really helpful and you can work them as you like. At first probably a weekend day so we can worth together.

    Covid-19: We respect the Covid rules and are careful (washing hands after using public transport etc), but we also don't let it worry and stress us too much. Sascha is an electrician, so goes into peoples houses during the day and I am a nanny so have weekly contact with my nanny family.

    If you are interested in a stay in the beautiful Swiss Mountains, get in touch!

    We look forward to hearing from you :)

    Oli and Sascha

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    We live really in the Swiss mountains, so you get the full Swiss countryside vibes. Perfect for people that enjoy the outdoors, not sooo great if you like nightlife. Sascha is Swiss so if you want to learn some Swiss German, he will happily teach you the basics, we try and speak Swiss German between us when we can, so that I can practice.

    We are surrounded by farms, so lots of lovely local cheese and meat.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    Painting, decorating and general DIY. Professional carpentry and plastering (happy to pay if you're professional)

  • Idiomas hablados

    Alemán: Fluido
    Inglés: Fluido

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    You will have your own room and share our bathroom and kitchen. We are happy to buy most of the food, if you want special things, alcohol etc then you can get these yourself. And we can share the cooking.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    The local bus goes every hour, taking you in one direction to the ski pistes and the other to the local town where can get the train into Zürich or other places around Switzerland.

    We live a pretty quiet life but we love meeting new people, having a good chat over a nice dinner, playing board games, going for swims, campfires and then sometimes just chilling out and watching some tv, reading etc. We also both like some quiet alone time, particularly on weekday evenings, and we appreciate you probably also may need some.

    We expect you to be respectful of us, our home and neighbours. And we will of course be respectful to you. We like open communication, friendliness and just general kindness.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    You are welcome to use our home as your office, but we do not have wifi. We use our phones to hot spot, so you would have to be able to do the same. When we are home, you can use ours but otherwise there is no internet.

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Depending on the size of your campervan we do have a parking space. It isn't ideal for then staying in the camper, but if you get in touch we can chat about it further.

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    We are happy to have well behaved pets, in fact, we love them!!

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    15 hours a week to be done as you wish





Número de referencia de anfitrión: 137955165313