If you love nature, animals, adventures and challenges, then we need your ideas and enthusiam in Matarraña, Spain.

Country

España

201 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    14  

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    30/10/2020

  • Medallas

    Top Host
 
  2022 
E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    We are a family of four from the UK, Dan, Mell and two little ones, with 9 acres of beautiful Spanish countryside to call home. We're in the stunning Matarraña region of Aragon ('The Tuscany of Spain') near the tiny village of Arens de Lledo. It's very much in the middle of nowhere so our ideal volunteers should enjoy this kind of location.

    We're working towards being self-sufficient and we're entirely off-grid. We have pigs and ponies and we're working to restore the largely neglected terraced almond and olive groves. We're also restoring an old stone ruin in the village into a family home.

    We work hard and enjoy the simple things like a swim in the river, walking the country tracks without seeing a soul, local lively fiestas and enjoying the sun. We're looking for people who can share in our enthusiasm for this beautiful place are interested in what we are doing and can really get involved and help.

    We have good internet, running water (when the well isn't dry) and limited electricity at the small 'cabin' (I'm not sure what to call it!) where you may stay and we're keen to attract volunteers who love the outdoors and want to disconnect.

    At the moment we are living in the village but you would be staying at the finca, it's a 50-minute walk away, obviously quicker on a bike which you're welcome to use and care for!

    Common tasks on the farm at the moment:
    chopping and stacking firewood
    feeding and watering ponies and pigs
    repairing stone terrace walls
    digging or clearing brush and trees
    gathering and moving manure
    cleaning up, moving stuff, general organising
    mending and building fences
    letting the kids entertain you (if you're into that sort of thing)

    We're also renovating a small townhouse in the nearby village, help here could involve:
    clearing and removing rubble
    helping to install beams and flooring
    moving materials
    cleaning stonework and helping to restore
    installing windows
    etc etc

    It's hard to know what tasks might need doing in advance of a volunteer arriving, priorities are constantly shifting for us and that's part of the beauty of this kind of life.

    If you're interested in volunteering for us please get in touch and let us know:
    1. The age of all people in your party
    2. How you plan to travel to our farm
    3. The dates you would like to help
    4. Why you want to come here
    5. If there are any tasks you do not want to do

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de niños y juegos creativos
    Mantenimiento general
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda en una granja
    Cuidado de animales

  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Join us on our journey to being self-sufficient, learn about building, stonework, growing food/soil and animal care.

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    Our small 'farm' has ponies, pigs and a cat. We're looking for help with animal care (including dealing with all the manure that helps our soil and plants) and looking after the land; repairing terrace walls, gardening, organising firewood, pruning trees, harvests, general cleaning up and for help with our stone village house renovation etc

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido
    Español: Principiante
    Francés: Principiante

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    Facilities are basic but volunteers can stay in the small cabin with access to limited power, sometimes water if the well has some (you can have a bath in the village if needed!)

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    We're REALLY in the middle of nowhere, 5km on a track to the nearest very small village, so please take this into account, if you don't like being in the countryside and entertaining yourself then this place is not for you. You're welcome to borrow a bike to discover the region and during school term time there is a bus (I think it's just a euro) from the village to Valderrobres, often named as one of the prettiest towns in Spain. In August there's a week of fiestas with live music through the night and a great atmosphere. Locally there's hiking, climbing, waterfalls and medieval hilltop villages to discover. The land has a large amount of forest with big boulders so anyone interested in climbing is welcome to follow the tracks up the ridge to enjoy.
    Getting here: You should aim to get to Arnes, Horta Sant Joan, Calaceite or Valderrobres, unfortunately, we cannot come further to pick you up. There are buses or trains from the various airports near us. The nearest airport is Reus but there is also Zaragoza, Barcelona and Valencia so it's worth researching the best route for you.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week












Número de referencia de anfitrión: 137189515781