Volunteer to help a beautiful family in their farm in Alaska, USA

Country

Estados Unidos

189 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    10/11/2021

 
  2021 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos 3 semanas

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Spek and Ina are both children of homesteaders. Ina's parents, came to Alaska in 1948 and Ina was born in their homestead cabin on the bluff of Cook Inlet near Anchor Point, Alaska. Ina married into the Jones' family, who homesteaded 22 miles east of Homer at the head of beautiful Kachemak Bay in 1956.

    Spek and Ina have raised their family on a 55 acre farm near the original Jones Homestead. They have 1 daughter and 1 son. Both married and who live on the farm. Their daughter and her family, help in the raising of the Quarter Horses that are raised on the farm. Their son and his family, returned from California 3 years ago, and live with Spek and Ina in the log cabin that has been their home for 46 years.
    Their son, expanded the cabin, and it now is one of those normal Alaska homes that has had many additions. It now holds quite well, all 10 of us, making it into a multi-generation home.
    We are so thankful to have been blessed with wonderful children and grandchildren who share our love for living a lifestyle that demands us to work together. From wood cutting in the fall, catching the wild salmon throughout the year, tending to our beef cattle and milk cow, to raising a nice garden, that will provide us with good healthy food. Maintaining the fencing of is essential to good animal husbandry.


    Spek and Ina also raise peonies for the cut flower industry. They have approximately 2500 peony plants that need tended to daily. There is always weeding, watering, fertilizing to be done. In July the peonies are ready for harvest and throughout the following 5 to 6 weeks, the flowers are harvested and put into a cooler for marketing. During the height of the peony picking time, the hay is usually ready for harvest. That requires, cutting, and baling and hauling the hay from the fields to the barns.

    In addition to the livestock, we have 3 dogs, and 2 cats. They share our home with us, and usually are sitting in the back seat of a 4 wheeler if they can get by with it, waiting to go for a ride.
    Once a week, throughout the summer, we host a cookout night for the neighbor hood. This provides a place where all can come, share a delicious dish, sit around the campfire and visit, or they may wish to watch the competitors in our rodeo arena, compete on their horses in different events. Its great fun, lots of kids, horses and dogs and good food to eat. It is our way of staying connected with our neighbors and other family members during a busy summer season.

    Visiting Spek and Ina you will be surrounded with children of all ages, all kinds of critters and a lot of wide open spaces.
    We gladly share what we have, of our experiences and lifestyle.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Mantenimiento general
    Ayuda en una granja
    Cuidado de animales

  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    We are a family that has lived in Alaska for all of our lives, farming and working the land. We have many years of experience and knowledge of Alaska that most do not have. We have hunted and trapped for our living for years and have much knowledge of how to live in Alaska, in a safe way while navigating the wilds. We live at the back door, to the wilder part of the Kenai Peninsula. We share our lifestyle, with the wildlife that live here and we appreciate it and wish to pass on that knowledge to others.

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    Weeding and working the peony fields, fertilizing and watering the plants. When harvest time arrives, we will be cutting the flowers and prepping them for the cooler. Fence maintenance is always a chore which requires keeping the weeds down around various fence lines. Weeding and watering the garden and greenhouse. When the hay season hits, helping to stack baled hay will be required.
    At other times we may be seeding ground for new pastures, and moving fence lines. If we have a visitor that would rather help in the kitchen and loves to cook, we are open to having help during the summer season when all are outside working. A person should be comfortable around young children and house pets.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido
    Español: Principiante

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    We have 2 canvas wall tents, 12 by 14 foot, with 4 foot walls. Each tent has a wooden floor, with a wood stove for hear. We provide the wood for your stove and will instruct you in a safe way to operate it.. You will be eating meals at the house with the family. We ask that all workers are in their tents by 10pm at the latest as we are usually ready to settle in for the night and ask for some quiet times after 10pm.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    I make weekly trips to town ( 20 miles away) and visitors are welcome to catch rides into town at times. We will try to make their visit here interesting, and will include times when we can drive about and see the country. On their own time, they may charter boats for traveling across Kachemak bay and following some of the scenic hiking trails provided by the forestry service, and glacier hikes are available. IF the visitor is comfortable, they may ride a horse and ride our several of the trails close by our farm. We enjoy 4 wheeling and beach combing for rocks. A non resident visitor may purchase a short time fishing license and we would love to take them trout fishing in local lakes and rivers.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week




Número de referencia de anfitrión: 134827121411