Help with house-sitting and watching over baby turtles in Trinidad, Carribbean

Country

Trinidad y Tobago

92 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    -

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    18/01/2021

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    92.9 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 2 dias

 
  2021 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos un mes

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    I live in the USA but I am remodeling a house on the beach on the island of Trinidad that I plan on using in the near future as my winter home. I need someone to house sit many times during the year when I'm not there. I am of retirement age and live alone so it would be nice to have company and share my Caribbean beach house with many people.

    This is an unusual request but here are some of the benefits that awaits you on the island of Trinidad. I have already remodeled the ground floor just need new kitchen and appliances plus new beds so it will be a few months before it’s ready for guests. I’m looking more towards the winter for this year. Hopefully by then it should be up and ready. There is a security system but no internet is available on the beach right now. You can go into town about 20 mins away by taxi $5 TT per person each way. (1 US $ = $6 TT.)

    PLEASE NOTE! Presently Trinidad has close all its borders because of COVID 19
    Keep checking for updates as I will add them as I know more.
    This is now only open to all workaways that are already on the island until further notice.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Mantenimiento general
    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Ayuda doméstica

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    1) You get to explore an amazing island with very friendly beautiful people and because the beach is used mostly by locals you get to experience true island people and culture.
    2) If you want you can stay as long as you wish the house has 6 bedrooms and I do not want to be there by myself.
    3) You can study the leather back turtles from about April thru August. Watch the egg laying process which is one hour long and will make you a turtle lover and you will want to protect them
    4) There are other beaches close by and are all different so you can change up your scenery and meet new friends
    5) you can get a real long lasting tan and lots of vitamin D
    6) One US $ gets you $6.40 so your dollar goes further
    7) I have people on the island and close by that will assist you anytime and pick you up at the airport.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    The only expectations of my guests will be:

    1) Sweep the yard and beach front everyday
    2) secure my home and belongings while you stay there
    3) protect and watch over the baby leather back turtles as they are hatched and return them safely to the sea when appropriate so that they do not become prey to dogs, birds and humans
    4) I prefer to host couples or more at the same time so one does not get lonely since its a somewhat quiet beach. No shops or activities close by. Taxis are available easily.
    5) I provide room but no food since I'm not there when you are there but food is fairly inexpensive on the island
    6) no skills necessary but a love for the beach, the Caribbean life and people, and a great love for the ocean and the leather back turtles will be helpful.
    7) Manage projects that Im working on like a new kitchen, delivery from the furniture store with beds, stove etc.

    Here are some special projects I have at hand to complete because my local caretaker has just fallen unexpectedly ill and may never return to work since he might be on chemo.
    1) Landscaping design and supervision( I pay for all equipment and materials) I need someone to design and supervise the project
    2) measure the kitchen and help me order new cupboards and equipment like stove etc. There is a kitchen there now but I want new
    3) receive the orders of furniture from the department store. I can purchase online from the US

  • Idiomas hablados

    English: Fluido

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    Simple but clean beds,linens, showers and basic kitchen in a large concrete house directly on the Atlantic Ocean. I only provide room but NO FOOD and NO PAY since I'm not there when you are but food is pretty inexpensive on the island. If you like the island and we get along you are welcome to stay longer or come back anytime there is an opening. I need most of the year filled since I live in the USA and will only visit in the winter.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    You can have all the time off to discover the island all I ask is that you sweep the yard and beach front everyday and pick up any sea debris,weeds and secure my belongings. Keep an eye on maintenance needed if any. I have someone who will handle any issues or fix anything. You can party but absolutely NO DRUGS! I am just looking for a house sitter.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 128998731157