Stay at our 18th century converted barn in the Corbieres hills near the Pyrenees, France

Country

Francia

141 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    24/01/2021

  • facebook friends

    Numero de amigos en Facebook

    162

  • Medallas

    Facebook verified
 
  2022 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos una semana

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    We are Niall and Sula, a couple from Scotland who are renovating a eighteenth century converted barn in a small, rural hamlet in the South of France, an hour's drive south of Carcasonne. Our house is in the Corbieres hills a little way north of the Pyrenees, surrounded by beautiful scenery and we have a river about 100m from the house where you can swim in the summer. We are close to many lovely tourist destinations including spectacular Cathar castles, the Gorges de Galamus, thermal springs in Rennes-Les-Bains and Carcasonne. There are many beautiful walks, a lake, cycling routes, sport climbing, canyoning and white water rafting nearby, and we are happy to lend you our two bicycles. We are both keen cooks and you can expect yummy food! We intend to retire to France but currently I am a science teacher and my husband works in nature conservation in Edinburgh. We love animals and nature but have no pets in France just yet. We are sociable and outgoing and look forward to making new Workawayer friends, we may even extend our welcome to Scotland for those who are interested. We are still working on the house but it is already completely habitable and very comfortable. If you wish to work on your French, that won't be a problem as all our neighbours are French and very friendly! If you are French, we would be delighted to improve our French but we are still beginners.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Mantenimiento general
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    I am a keen DIYer and am happy to pass on any skills that I have. I am competent in basic electrics and plumbing, tiling, decorating, gardening, cooking and glazing. I hope visitors will enjoy the local area which is truly beautiful, and will also enjoy the sociable atmosphere, company and food. Rock climbing gear is available if you want to explore the local bolted crags (ropes, quick draws and helmet - bring your own boots and harness).

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    We want our Workawayers to enjoy their stay so we will try and match jobs to both skills and interests where possible. We would expect 4 to 5 hours help a day, five days per week with a minimum stay of one week. We are happy to be flexible about when Workawayers do their hours and if they want to combine them to get more days off that is fine. There are lots of jobs to do but they could include a little cleaning or cooking, gardening, painting (lots of that available!), carpentry, laying paths, restoring quarry stone tile floors and re-mortaring.
    Two of our lovely workawayers from last year are returning to help finish the decorating so we are now looking for some skilled help with carpentry/building jobs in particular. I had a bit of a bad experience with a workawayer last year so am looking for workawayers with feedback only, as you would be living with us as part of the family.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido
    Francés: Principiante

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    We have a double bedroom (king size bed) suitable for a couple. We also have a twin room suitable for a couple or two friends. We have a large shared bathroom on the ground floor but also have a second bathroom on the first floor. We have WiFi access and a garden and patio for relaxation.
    All food will be provided but you will be expected to help yourself to breakfast and lunch. I am happy to cook for you in the evening but if you would like to take a turn that would also be very appreciated, particularly if you can share the food of another country! Vegetarians/vegans are welcome but I'm an omnivore so you will have to do most of your own cooking (though I would provide ingredients).

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    I am a late to bed, late to rise person but am happy to accommodate Workawaers if they want to make an early start so that they can get away in the afternoon. It is easy to fly to the area (Ryanair flights to Carcasonne from various UK airports are closest, but Toulouse airport is another possibility) and public transport will get you to Limoux, Couiza or Quillan where we can collect you. There are 1 euro buses from Quillan to the coast (Perpignan) if you fancy a day by the sea but you will have to be an early riser to catch them! There are buses to local towns which would connect with other routes but public transport is a bit limited so access to a car would be good. I am happy to take Workawayers to local tourist destinations once a week so that they can visit further away destinations if they have no access to a car. We are happy to lend you our bicycles to explore the local area and there is a lot to see nearby.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Número de referencia de anfitrión: 127415595637