Enjoy island life and help on our small acreage on Galiano Island halfway between Victoria and Vancouver BC, Canada.

Country

Canadá

actualizado  

247 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    18  

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    10/10/2021

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 3 dias

  • Medallas

    Super Host
 
  2021 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos 2 semanas

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Hello all Workawayers

    September 2021

    Well this year has past us by, we did get to have one Workawayer this year who stayed 3 months and was invaluable in helping us with the start up in the spring and into the early summer. We were seriously affected by a 'heat dome' which sat over BC for 10 days in late June and some places reaching 50°C ... normally we are having a warm summer if it goes over 23° and we were closing in on 40° here on Galiano at the time. Crops were good and we were able to water enough but many plants actually burned in the heat.

    We hope that next year (2022) will allow for more interaction with new Workawayers and we look forward to that. We have so much appreciated all the help and friendships that Workaway has brought us since 2018 when we first started.

    Randy and I live on a small acreage on Galiano Island, BC, one of the Southern Gulf Islands.
    Over the last 25+ years we have tried to preserve our small fragment of the natural landscape of a West Coast rainforest. We try to manage it as best we can yet enjoy our food and decorative gardens without destroying the natural beauty of the Galiano environment. Check out Galiano and see if you don't want to make it a stop on your travels.

    We have had wonderful experience with Workaway starting in 2018. Last summer we were only able to have one Workawayer and eagerly anticipate continuing in the coming months.

    Jón and Randy

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Práctica de idiomas
    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    We live on a wonderful island, Galiano, halfway between Victoria and Vancouver BC, Canada. We could share our knowledge of native plants and the West Coast landscape with you. Galiano is an area governed by the Islands Trust and has many protected park areas. There are many wonderful hiking trails to investigate as well as what you might learn helping at the property. Across the road from the house is Georgia Strait and its sandstone beach with tide pools and marine life, migrating birds, Orcas, Sea Lions, Otters ... Bald Eagles flying overhead ... With a background in architecture and landscape architecture we can learn together as you share time with us.

    If your interests also include drawing, painting, sewing, or leatherwork there are equipment and materials here for you to use as well as lots of inspiration in the forest and on the ocean.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    We are now beginning our third year as Workaway hosts, it has all been a fantastic experience ... 2018 ...Val - David - Paco - Jerome - Niklas ... 2019 ... Yanni - Daniel - Jonas - Matthew - Lewis - Vinnie - Adriano ... 2020 ... Niclas ...

    Now we are at 2020, lots has been done but the season’s roll around. Spring will begin with projects in the garden, clearing away the winter and readying the soil for the seed and small plants … in the sunshine with the sound of the Bald Eagles ...

    There are always carpentry projects as well, repairing the deer fencing, building gates, working on a deck railing, painting, splitting fire wood … there is a good selection of power and hand tools so if a Workawayer is familiar with tools and can assist me
    or in some cases work on it on their own (with guidance)

    The property (1.5 Acres) there is a need for the maintenance of the woodland as the central part of the property is a fairly steep hill which is left in its natural state - tall trees and an understory of native plants - minor maintenance is done here to keep it healthy and natural ... the upper third of the property is the residence and studio with gardens and planted trees and shrubs ... Minor maintenance of the buildings and gardens and some small construction projects may be anticipated here. We are looking for young men 25-40 yrs with the interest and the ability to assist with the above noted types of projects. We wouldn't mind a Spanish lesson either.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido
    Español: Intermedio
    Francés: Intermedio

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    There is a small Studio building on the property adjacent to the house which you will have for the duration of your stay. The washroom is located in the main house adjacent to the front door. There are no cooking facilities in the studio and you will share meals with us at our table. If you like to cook we can share a bit of that too. There a a few art supplies in the studio that you may want to make use of. As well there is a WIFI connection that you will be able to access.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    Galiano is a wonderful island and there is a website for it To get here you have to travel by BC Ferries. From Vancouver you travel by rapid transit and bus and take the Southern Gulf Island ferry from Tsawwassen to Sturdies Bay, Galiano. From Victoria you travel from the Swartz Bay terminal (very near the airport) to Sturdies Bay, Galiano Island. This ferry ride is a beautiful one traveling through the islands. Galiano is a very forested island with much wildlife - plant and animal. There are many hiking trails and wonderful beaches to explore. Our property is a fair distance from the ferry terminal so we would have to pick you up. Many people here bike around but we do not have any bikes to lend if you are so inclined (we may be able to search one our if you are really keen) There are only two of us here and no pets. We work starting early in the mornings and the afternoons are for enjoyment. We often share meals with our friends and you will be welcome to join in.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Uno

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (5.0)













Número de referencia de anfitrión: 122869415897