Help needed on a natural cob building project using traditional mud bricks and recycled materials in Cherven, Bulgaria

Country

Bulgaria

actualizado   Última hora

310 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    23  

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    01/12/2022

  • facebook friends

    Numero de amigos en Facebook

    212

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 1 dia

  • Medallas

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
 
Eso es una oportunidad de última hora: En la lista de última hora encontrarás anfitriones que necesitan ayuda inmediata en este momento, además de en otras fechas a lo largo del año.
  2022 

 Estancia mínima:  Una semana o menos

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    As we head into winter, work continues on a project to turn an existing balcony into an indoor winter garden space. I am using a traditional natural building method in Bulgaria of infilling a wooden framework with old recycled mud and straw bricks ( known as karpitch ). These will then be covered with a mud/clay plaster. I have been collecting old wooden doors and windows to use on this project and am currently cleaning them up to be ready for repainting.

    Other winter tasks include preparing the ground for next season's vegetable growing and various land management tasks

    My name is Carol and I am originally from Scotland. In 2006 I came to Cherven for a short holiday and left 6 days later having put a deposit down to buy the old abandoned property on the outskirts of the village. Cherven is situated in the Rusenski Lom Natural Park and is 35 kilometers south west of Ruse. Within 2 years I had given up my old life of working 9-5 and reinvented myself as a "quasi peasant" . I grow a lot of vegetables ( organically ), keep chickens and rabbits, have a dog and cats.

    I enjoy having working guests come to stay and to share this beautiful spot with magnificent views.

    There is always plenty to do including for example, clearing land, weeding, planting, harvesting, making compost bins, basic building, including working with mud and straw ( cob building ).

    There are always lots of ongoing projects which are often weather dependent and whether you have the skills or not to help take them forward.

    There are guest bedrooms in the upstairs part of my house, which is now a 100 years old and was built with mud and straw bricks. There is also plenty of land for camping. I have 2 tipis which will be erected once the poles are prepared. Good wholesome food is provided and there is excellent wifi access.

    I am particularly interested in people who enjoy land work and gardening and/or who have basic building trade skills but have generally found that everyone has something to contribute.

    I am flexible in terms of tasks and time input and we can agree what would work for both of us.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Ayuda en una granja
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general

  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Opportunity to experience life in a rural Bulgarian village. Develop skills in food growing, sustainable living, building with natural materials.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    Gardening/ land help, basic building, DIY and renovation

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido
    Bulgarian: Intermedio
    Alemán: Principiante
    Francés: Principiante

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    Rooms with comfortable beds and there is plenty of land for camping if you are travelling with a tent and prefer to sleep in it

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    Cherven is situated in the Russenski Lom Natural Park and is well known in Bulgaria for its medieval ruins, caves and rock churches. There are lovely walks in and around the village. There is a post office, a library and a general store with a bar in the centre of the village and also a cafe/bar by the river at the foot of the medieval attraction.

    The nearest ATM accessible by public transport is in Ruse: our nearest city ( 35 kms to the north east ). There are two buses a day to and from Ruse which has a very large and beautiful central square area which is known as "Little Vienna", because of its layout and architecture. A great place to hang out on days off people watching from the numerous pavement cafes.

    It is also possible to take a trip to Bucharest from Ruse on the Bosphor Express ( a slow train which runs daily between Bucharest and Istanbul ). Bucharest is 60kms from Ruse and there are also direct buses from the airport or the centre to Ruse which can be booked online.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    I have a very good internet connection

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Este anfitrión puede proporcionar un sitio para autocaravanas.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    5 hours a day / 5 days a week

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (4.9)

Intercambio cultural: (4.9)

Comunicación: (5.0)


















Número de referencia de anfitrión: 000000000254