Company for my dog; New Meadow; planting trees ,gardening, and decorating in Gloucestershire, England

Country

Gran Bretaña

actualizado  

91 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    -

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    22/01/2022

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 2 dias

 
  2022 
E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Connecting back to the Workways community after many years absent. Hence the gap between when my account was set up, feedback etc.

    Ruth, Xena and Charlie live in a beautiful secluded spot on the edge of the Wye valley near Tintern abbey and the Forest of Dean. The Barn and Tawny Owls are often heard after dark, and the bats skim overhead at dusk. Our old cottage has wood burning stoves, and the newish very light kitchen garden room leads out to the patio and a small firepit.

    We have a 3 acre patch and a house that is still being renovated . We have one large friendly dog that is still grieving for the loss of his mother 3 weeks ago.- Now that it is winter when the weather allostws I need help with :

    Meadow - clearing the next strip of land of twigs and stones and racking back the top fertile soil inorder to then plant meadow seed.
    Tree planting - getting the rowan trees in and protected from 'nature.
    Garden... this will include tasks such as improving and continuing my 'No dig vegetable patch' which is still under development. Work in the wild life garden to prepare more land for seeding with wild meadow seeds. Woodland maintenance, planting of some hedging shrubs and other trees. Processing compost, making compost, work in the flower garden with pollinator friendly plants. The bees in the hives will be 'clustering' but we can still talk bees. And then there is the winter cleaning jobs for hive health, and flat pack equipment I haven't got around to assembling.

    The dog - love him, play with him, teach him new tricks, and keep him safe. We have a large garden fenced off. Walking him with me - certainly initially as he is fear aggressive to other dogs, so needs careful handling when away from the house.

    If the weather prevents us being in the garden, then there is always DIY jobs in the house including painting rooms, cleaning , vanishing floors. etc

    I am a Lymphoedema specialist nurse and work 3 days a week and with massage clients occasionally on other days. I have 2 grown children, 1 living between home and Scotland and 1 in South America

    Because my Nursing work means I am meeting vulnerable people, I would prefer if you have had the Covid x 2 vaccinations and ideally a booster, and are willing to do Lateral Flow tests.

    A large project that I haven't started yet is developing a fallen down structure into a artistic dwelling with compost toilet and big views. ........... its good to keep on dreaming.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Práctica de idiomas
    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    I look forward to exchanging travel stories and ideas. I too have travelled very widely and in younger years done lots of adrenaline sports. We live in a place of peace and tranquillity with lots of beautiful countryside and nature all around as well as many 'tourist attractions'. However the nearest bus route is a fast 40 minute walk.

    I can teach you about plants, propagation, no dig, meadow development, massage and health, cooking, dogs. I am happy to talk in English and help you learn more English but I am not a teacher as such. We live in a very peaceful place if you feel you need 'restoring' with peace and tranquillity. Its no good if you want the high life and the night life - unless watching badgers is your thing!

    I am always keen to learn more about nature, and about ways of working with it. I am also very interested in the human body and what makes us who we are.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    Come help with setting up a no dig garden, planting trees, flower garden work, preparing wood for winter wood burner, painting in the house on wet days, helping entertain two big boisterous dogs, taking in turns to cook. Learn a bit about bees, and general share of house cleaning and maintenance.

    It is important that you are happy and familiar with big dogs One of my dogs has fear aggression issues at the gate or on walks - and so I would appreciate help on walks with dogs - where I walk with you and the dogs. I do not feel strong enough to handle both on my own in any difficult situation. That said we have a large fenced off area around the house that is dog secure and the dogs run freely in it. And for those that they know in the house are they couldn't be more friendly, loving and interactive.

    Looking for folk that have some gardening experience and painting experience and aren't afraid of hard physical work.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    Two double bedrooms are available with shared bathroom with shower. Second toilet downstairs. My house and lifestyle has been described by a good friend as bohemian. And even though I have been here 17 years - the house was described as 'in need of much modernisation'. That has been achieved to a large extent - but as in any old cottage it will always be ongoing.

    A neglected piano is available, and a sitting room with wood burner and TV.

    Two days of the 5 days working would be mostly unsupervised - in the garden or house and entertaining dogs. On those days it would be appreciated if you cooked. Otherwise I am happy to cook - but we can work this out - but I do expect help in just cleaning and simple household chores to keep the place tidy. Food is predominantly vegetarian with occasional fish or chicken. Then on the other 3 days I would work along side you on my days off. On your days off you would be free .

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    Days off would be Wednesday and Thursday. Your own transport would be helpful. The nearest regular bus to the small towns of Chepstow ( with rail or bus links to Bristol) or Monmouth is about a 40 minutes walk downhill ( uphill on the way back !) Walks are a plenty from the house. If I am free to give a lift to the bus stop of pick up, I would do so.

    There are two bikes that can be used.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    There is internet in the house, and rooms that can be used to work in if needed. However the speed is at present fairly slow so not good for huge file uploads and downloads. I may have been able to access Fibre Broadband by Dec 21.

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Long wheel based vehicles may have trouble on the drive. However I do have a pull in the other side of the land, but internet access won't stretch over there. At present I do not have a compost toilet over there.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Número de referencia de anfitrión: 000000000203