Nickolas

  • EUA
  • Entre para ver a última atividade

Medalhas (2)

Explorer
Good Workawayer

Informações do perfil

  • Informações de viagem

    Eu estou

    viajando

    Atividades em que tenho interesse:

    I am looking for opportunities to give and share what I know, hone my skills, learn new skills, make life-long friends, visit places I haven't been, and explore the road less traveled.

    Meu próximo destino:

    Oregon, United States - desde Jan 2022 até Dez 2022
    Ver tudo
  • Descrição

    Hello, my name is Nickolas, welcome to my profile. I'm a native Oregonian and I am embarking on a journey of volunteering. I've always wanted to work my way around North America, meeting new people and having adventures... so I decided 2022 is the year to do it!

    To describe myself I'd call myself an even-keeled optimist, adventurous by nature, and enamored with the beauty of simple things. I'm naturally curious, good at learning new things, auto-didactic and resourceful. I enjoy working outdoors, and desire to do work that adds positive energy back into the environment around me.

    I believe in love, I think gratefulness makes the world go round, and kindness is a balm for the soul. I'm a good listener, I try to be a conscious communicator, and get along well with people. Grew up in a large family on a farm, and am good with animals and kids of all ages. I love nature and the outdoors as much as a cozy evening around a fire. I try to never go to sleep at night without having improved myself in some way, and without having made the world around me better in some way, no matter how small or large.

    I really believe in grid-independent living. I believe in local-first, giving back to the people around me, and the land I live on. I dig on carbon sequestration, grid redundancy and regenerative perma-culture. I believe we live in a world of abundance, and one of my life's goals is to harmonize and resonate with the ebbs and flows of nature.

    My current objectives are:

    1. Hone my current skills and learn new skills
    2. Learn a new language! Spanish or German probably
    3. Improve my health and well-being through good work, good food and good living
    4. Save up for a camper van or RV (or perhaps a pack mule)
    5. Build new relationships with lovely people, broaden my experiences and challenge my horizons

    In my free time I enjoy music, both playing and listening. I love to sing, fly kites, build things, wood-working, rollerblading, baking, hiking, and crafting cozy living spaces. I would like to take up glass-blowing as a hobby at some point.

    I am new to Workaway, but not new to volunteering, work-trade, small business and farm life! My grandfather was an electrician and together we volunteered on Habitat for Humanity projects. I grew up on a 27 acre century farm where my family raised alpacas, chickens and honeybees. I've had my own small businesses in the past and love working with animals. Workaway seemed like a great way for me to explore the world, meet good people, make new friends, and do something beautiful every day.

    Here are some bullet points about me:

    - Goal oriented problem solving
    - Strong organization skills
    - Visionary systems thinker and builder
    - Inspiring work ethic
    - Self-starter, self-motivated
    - Clean worker
    - Quick learner
    - Strong communication skills
    - Critical/outside-the-box thinker
    - People-focused
    - Outgoing and optimistic personality
    - Great troubleshooting skills
    - Quality control ability
    - Good with my hands/manual dexterity
    - Equipment maintenance standards & cleanliness

  • Interesses

    Montanhas
    Praia
    Naturaleza
    Camping
    Mochilão
    Velejar/navegar
    Esportes de aventura
    Esportes de inverno
    Ciclismo
    Dança
    Atividades ao ar livre
    Caminhada
    Trabalho beneficente
    Fazenda
    Carpintaria
    Animais
    Idiomas
    Arquitetura
    Arte e design
    Desenho e pintura

    mostrar mais
  • Idiomas

    Idiomas
    Inglês: Fluente

    Mais detalhes sobre meu interesse em idiomas
    I'm interested in learning Spanish, and German. I have basic familiarity with both but would like to find opportunities for language immersion.

    Encontre um parceiro de estudo

  • Habilidades e conhecimento para compartilhar ou aprender

    Tenho interesse em:  

    Trabalho beneficente
    Idiomas

    Conhecimento de:  

    Projetos artísticos
    Projetos ambientais
    Fazer companhia para idosos
    Hotelaria/turismo
    Cuidar de crianças/atividades criativas
    Criar/cozinhar refeições caseiras
    Projetos de construção/faça você mesmo
    Jardinagem

    Poso ensinar:  

    Ensino
    Ajuda com computadores/internet
    Manutenção geral
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
    Vida na fazenda
    Cuidar de animais
  • Quais são suas habilidades?

    I was a regenerative beekeeper for over a decade. I kept bees, worked to rebuild the local wild honeybee population in my area, and also built & sold beehives as well as sold an online beekeeping guide. I specialized in removing beehives from buildings and rehoming them, as well as rehoming feral swarms. I can help with existing hives, as well as setup bee-yards from scratch.

    I know my way around a kitchen: I'm a better baker than a cook, but enjoy both. I enjoy cooking with others, there's nothing like sharing a meal together cooked with love!

    I am good with power tools, woodworking, fabrication, and can lift heavy objects.

    Good at handyman & DIY work, I especially enjoy working on improving the place I'm living in. I'm a clean worker, keep my workspace tidy, and clean up after myself.

    Grew up on a farm and chopping wood was a daily task, as was farm chores. Skilled with a chainsaw, and very comfortable with brush clearing, logging and grounds clearing. Also grew up gardening, had a garden last year too.

    I know how to prune grapes, learned from my grandfather who kept grapes and made wine. Also know how to prune trees, and have general arborist work skills.

    I've helped put in roads, built retaining walls, rough framing, remodeling & renovation, landscaping and irrigation. I have heavy equipment experience: skidsteer, backhoe, road-roller/compactor, tractors, and farm equipment.

    I'm good at driving large vehicles, trucks & trailers, both forwards and backing up too. I used to drive a Ford 750 all over Portland, Oregon metro area to deliver firewood.

    I've been an independent software designer as well: freelance web engineer, programmer and business systems developer. I have experience in podcast publishing, digital publishing workflow design, and personnel management tools. Have experience with IT customer support, computer and tech related problem solving, and have a knack for figuring out tech issues.

    In 2019 I worked for a CBD grow operation, planting and cultivating starts from seeds. Helped maintain the facility, manage watering and fertilization.

    I've also experience with running estate sales, farm & property cleanup in preparation for selling, private sales to collectors, product sourcing & procurement, barter/trade deals, and alternative currencies.

  • Idade

    35

  • Algo mais...

    I'm interested in learning everything I can about sustainable farming, perma-culture, and off-grid/grid-redundant living. Also have become curious about dog training as a result of living with a high-anxiety dog for 2 years, wondering if it might be something I really enjoy. I love history, especially local history, and am fascinated by linguistics and language development. Been enjoying playing games like 7 Wonders and Kingsburg with family & friends over the holidays. I love grilling, and outdoor pizza ovens.

  • Mais algumas informações

    • Fumante

    • Carteira de motorista

    • Alergias
      Wasp stings, raw strawberries

    • Dietas especiais
      No special requirements

Comentário


Amigos

Fotos

Comentário