Lemorah

  • Reino Unido
  • Entre para ver a última atividade

Medalhas (2)

Good Workawayer
Explorer

Amigos (5)

Informações do perfil

  • Informações de viagem

    Eu estou

    viajando

    Atividades em que tenho interesse:

    I am travelling and doing Workaway's with my travel buddy Ana. We would both like to help out in anyway we can while exploring the world together.
    We can't wait to meet you!

    Lem and Ana xx

    Meu próximo destino:

    United States - desde Jun 2022 até Set 2022
    Ver tudo
  • Descrição

    Hi, I am a bubbly outspoken person with a passion for living life. I am a TEFL English teacher, an artist, an adventurer. I am a quick learner, am willing to get my hands dirty, try my best and work hard!
    I would much rather not be on my phone, and instead have a one to one personal conversation.
    I am flexible, I love helping others, trying new things, teaching, dancing, finding eco solutions for our planet and working together for peace. I am big on environmentally friendly solutions, being as zero waste as possible and trying recycling everything! I hate waste. I want learn how to produce and use natural materials - Live along side nature- Learning and giving back to it.

    My parents are world travelers and so I come from a multi-cultured background- I grew up in Malawi, Africa, have travelled all over from a young age, like Egypt, India, Belgium, Turkey, Thailand, Zambia etc. and I became an outdoor instructor aged 19. Through this I have learnt how to appreciate the little things, like food, housing and healthcare.

    It's now my turn and I'm ready to explore and experience more!
    I would love to come and really connect with the nature of the jungle and see it's true colours.

    I've had previous experience in volunteering many times, such as teaching in a nursery school and high school, as a swim coach, working in a hospital, sailing on a big sailing boat, creating the digital newsletters at a peace conference volunteering at a farm stay and botanical garden, and volunteering at a beauty salon.

    I was lucky enough to be born into a family that seeks adventure and adrenaline so when asked 'what motivates you, I'd say, " I have 2 eyes, 2 ears, 2 arms and 2 legs, so I'm going to use them. I'm going to live my life every day to the fullest and grasp every opportunity I can, because I a lot of people don't have that".

    I've pushed my limits and I can't wait to keep pushing them.
    I'm double vaccinated against Covid 19 ;)

  • Interesses

    Montanhas
    Praia
    Naturaleza
    Camping
    Velejar/navegar
    Esportes de aventura
    Esportes de equipe
    Esportes de inverno
    Fitness
    Yoga/bem-estar
    Ciclismo
    Dança
    Atividades ao ar livre
    Fazenda
    Carpintaria
    Sustentabilidade
    Animais
    Idiomas
    Arte e design
    Artes performáticas

    mostrar mais
  • Habilidades e conhecimento para compartilhar ou aprender

    Tenho interesse em:  

    Manutenção geral
    Ajuda com computadores/internet

    Conhecimento de:  

    Jardinagem
    Projetos de construção/faça você mesmo
    Projetos ambientais
    Cuidar de animais
    Criar/cozinhar refeições caseiras
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
    Hotelaria/turismo

    Poso ensinar:  

    Cuidar de crianças/atividades criativas
    Vida na fazenda
    Trabalho beneficente
    Prática de idiomas
    Projetos artísticos
    Ensino
    Fazer companhia para idosos
  • Quais são suas habilidades?

    EXPERTISE, EXPERIENCE AND ABILITIES
    I consider myself as a very interactive person always trying my hardest and willing to helping those in need. At school I was an accomplished athlete, holding full colours in rugby, football and swimming, I am a qualified lifeguard and the youngest advanced Scuba diver in Malawi. In my gap year I have remained physically fit and healthy by attending a 12 month Outdoor
    Instructor’s course in Scotland. The global youth movement demanding climate action inspired me and gave me confidence to act. In July 2019, two friends and I entered and made it to the semi-finals of the GLOBAL GOALS competition with our ‘3 Bin Battle’. This included educating our fellow students on plastic pollution, using recycled materials to create ‘Plastic Only Bins’ and setting up a sustainable network where we collaborated with the NGO ‘Truss Group’ to turn the collected plastic into bricks.
    (One of the photos bellow is a mural on a city wall about consumerism and unmanaged waste. )

    By performing in yearly school musicals, setting up 2 clubs, co-directing a show and leading younger students into synchronized swimming routines, I grew in confidence, becoming a school prefect and Head of House. I gained leadership and organizational skills as I had to encourage and teach young students on a daily basis. Although this required a lot of dedication and constant research, I loved challenging myself and learning from others’ experiences and visions.

    I've studied in depth Biology, art, chemistry and maths. I would like to persue a career in medicine in the future and for now want to travel, create art, try lots of different foods, integrate myself a fully as possible into the language and culture and learn how to live sustainably.

    Knowing that others are less fortunate then me encourages me to take every opportunity. I am open minded to anything ( yes I have eaten caterpillars before....)

    I am undoubtedly curious, always asking questions and learning and look forward to, caring for others and making a positive change in the world.



    QUALIFICATIONS
    - Level 1 Montessori Teacher Training. PASS 2020
    Exceptional Children- Level 1 PASS
    NNAS navigation Tutor Award
    Rock Climbing Instructor training
    John Muir A Conservation ward- Discovery
    John Muir Conservation Award- Explorer
    Outdoor First Aid (3 days)
    PVG Safeguarding level 2 2021
    Mountain biking Leader level 2 2021
    FSRT- Foundation Safety and Rescue Training 2021
    Paddle sport Instructor Award 2021
    Mountain Leader Training 2021
    Mountain Leader Award
    Paddle sport Leader 2021
    DofE Supervisor and Assessor training 2021.
    DofE Expedition Supervisor 2021
    DofE Expedition Assessor 2021

    - 140 hour TEFL qualification 2022 certificate

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas
    Inglês: Fluente
    Espanhol: Iniciante

    Mais detalhes sobre meu interesse em idiomas
    I am learning SPANISH AND AM LOVING IT!! I would like to live with fluent Spanish speaking family to truly understand. I can teach English. Am doing a TEFL diploma at he moment and have worked at an international English speaking school in Malawi. Its made me reflect upon what it must be like to learn English and its given me some teaching ideas. I'm ok at Chichewa but its a language that I'm still practicing it..

    Encontre um parceiro de estudo

  • Idade

    20

  • Algo mais...

    Experience of Overseas Travel (brief description).I have grown up my whole life in Malawi until the age of 18 when I travelled to the UK to attend a 1 year Outdoor Instructors course in Scotland. I independently went to Uganda as a youth representative of a Servas peace organization, and volunteer projects in Germany, Belgium and Ireland.
    I am planning on continuing my travelling this year through Central and South America after Southern Africa.

    Volunteering in detail:
    2017 Volunteering at a HIV Centre Dream El Amando in Malawi. HIV monitoring, research behind the Centre and how they use the blood samples to see progression.

    2017 Volunteering at a beauty salon in Malawi. Massage, facials, and communication through relaxation.

    2017 +2018 Volunteering as Nursery Teaching Assistant at Mt View Primary School, Malawi
    Teaching, Marking books, and preparing lessons.

    2018-- Lab work, Malaria research once a week for 6 weeks.

    2018 –Volunteering for 2 weeks on an organic farm with De Wroter, Belgium with SCI.

    2020- Medical Work Experience at local Hospital- Queens Hospital, Blantyre, Malawi.

    2020 - Volunteering for 2 week in Sammatz, Germany. A farm and botanical garden.
    2022 - Teaching Assistant, biology and Art at SAINTS international school.



    Whichever WorkAway i am on, i want to contribute positively. I'm flexible, happy to get my hands dirty and i appreciate a nice cup of hot tea and actually LIKE a COLD shower!

    I'm really looking forward to the whole experience and if its pro-green well all the better!

  • Mais algumas informações

    • Fumante

    • Carteira de motorista

    • Alergias
      no

    • Dietas especiais
      Try to be vegetarian.

Comentário

Amigos

Fotos

Comentário