• Suíça
  • Entre para ver a última atividade

Medalhas (3)

Good Workawayer

Informações do perfil

  • Informações de viagem

    Eu estou

    em casa

    Meu próximo destino:

    Ver tudo
  • Descrição

    Hello everyone!

    My name is Alex and I come from Switzerland.

    I am currently a first year student enrolled in a BA Linguistics at University College London in the United Kingdom.

    I haven't used WorkAway for a few years, and now that I have some holidays, I would really like to do so again!

    During my studies in London I have been involved a lot in extracurricular activities with the university, which entails assisting to a lot of meetings, communicating via emails, helping with webinars, creating documents etc.

    I also studied for a Diploma in Travel & Tourism Management in Australia in 2018 and spent most of my free time volunteering at events in Sydney, which gave me a passion for events management that I still have to this day.

    I've always liked travelling because I love to see what's happening in other places, how people live, celebrate, think about life, eat, create art and how each culture is unique and interesting. I'm just very curious. I also like to travel because it pushes me out of my comfort zone and makes you a more independant, well-rounded person in my opinion.

    So far, my volunteering experiences have been:

    •doing basic gardening (weeding, watering vegetables and flowers, transplanting pots into earth, picking up vegetables) and helping around the house in a small family farm next to Southampton

    •staying at a hostel in Bangkok and participating in their English conversation club + being at the reception (checking-in guests, managing the planning of the rooms with excel sheets, closing down everything at night, handling money)
    •doing farmwork in Nan, mostly harvesting black rice from the beginning to the end (cutting it, laying it to dry, using a machine to remove the grains and putting them into bags)
    •being an English teacher for children in an afterschool English club in Uthaithani province (planning the lessons, teaching basic English, supervising activities in classes of up to 15 students)
    •being an English teacher at a high school in the countryside of Ubon Ratchathani province for students aged 12 to 18 years old and classes ranging from 18 to 34 students for 5 weeks (researching for activities, planning lessons, doing the classes, activities and games, regular use of videos and some songs). I was most often doing the lessons by myself. Note: only activities and games, no grammar or use of textbook

    •doing farmwork on a small urban farm in Penang (weeding, planting corn sprouts, cutting chunks of banana trees for mulching, shovelling goat manure into bags, picking up flowers and vegetables)
    •staying at a cat shelter and doing housekeeping in Penang (washing dishes, cleaning, sweeping the floors) + light veterinary care (cleaning cats' eyes, giving them eye drops, feeding milk to kittens with a syringe, applying an anti-fungal spray on cats with fungus)
    •staying at a guesthouse in Langkawi: cleaning rooms (sweep, mop, clean the bathroom, change bedding, clean aircons, wipe surfaces and fans), cleaning the kitchen and common area (sweeping, mopping, washing dishes, tidying up, turning lights on/off), raking leaves, helping guests

    •staying on an animal farm for 5 weeks outside of Sydney and taking care of the animals and doing maintenance of the property: preparing milk to feed calves, bottlefeeding them when they were sick, feeding the goats, sheeps and cows, mowing the lawn, blowing leaves, housekeeping, cleaning and managing the property, a little bit of fence painting, driving to run errands
    •staying with a family in the Lower Hunter Valley that bred horses: preparing breakfast for the horses (mixing chaff, pellets and nutritional supplements in colour-coded buckets), cleaning their paddocks, washing and scrubbing the horses, babysitting, washing dishes, cooking, oiling the outdoor deck, weeding, planting sprouts, watering plants

    South Korea
    •helping with gardening with a couple in Gangjin (weeding, repairing a fence, hammering poles into the ground, cutting bamboo, picking up plums, clearing land)
    •assisting with teaching English to teenagers in a hakwon in Busan

    •doing farmwork on an organic farm in north-east Taiwan (picking up vegetables, weeding wet ricefields, packaging vegetables, assisting and selling products at a market in Taipei, packaging rice with a machine)

    •staying at a cat shelter in Phnom Penh for one month: feeding cats by portion size weighed on an electronic scale, preparing and administering liquid medication with a syringe 3 times a day, cleaning ears and giving ear medicine, cleaning litter boxes, cleaning and disinfecting quarantine rooms according to guidelines (vacuuming, mopping with bleach, washing contaminated objects with bleach then rinsing them, washing cages, changing towels, water and food bowls), checking for signs of illness, visiting and feeding cats at pagodas, bottlefeeding, respecting the feeding and medication schedules, holding a stand and helping to sell clothes and other knick-knacks at a market

    •performing farmwork and landscaping tasks at a farm in Zala county: raking hay, assembling furniture, picking up blackberries, picking up hazelnuts and removing their husks, cutting tree branches, pruning pear trees, cutting grass and stinging nettles with a strimmer, cutting grass with a lawn mowing quad, removing pieces of plastic, pieces of wood and trash from the orchards, feeding grain to 22 heads of sheep, browsing several European online marketplaces and creating a document listing various offers for a Piaggio Porter van

  • Habilidades e conhecimento para compartilhar ou aprender

    Tenho interesse em:  

    Projetos ambientais

    Conhecimento de:  

    Fazer companhia para idosos
    Manutenção geral
    Criar/cozinhar refeições caseiras
    Vida na fazenda
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
    Cuidar de animais
    Trabalho beneficente
    Prática de idiomas
    Ajuda com computadores/internet
  • Quais são suas habilidades?

    • Adaptability and flexibility
    • Teamwork
    • Communication
    • Being responsible
    • Organisational skills
    • Event management
    • Project management
    • Fitting in new cultures, settings and language environments
    • Working with children
    • Working with animals
    • Housekeeping and respect of hygienic norms
    • Customer service
    • Computer skills (Word, PowerPoint, Excel, Canva)
    •Full Swiss driver's license since 2018 (so far I have driven in Switzerland, Austria, Italy, France, Australia, Thailand, Malaysia and the UK)

    Mostly, I really want to learn new things, so just tell me how it needs to be done and I'll do my best to replicate it! :D

  • Idiomas

    Inglês: Fluente
    Francês: Fluente
    Espanhol: Intermediário
    Chinês (mandarim): Iniciante

    Mais detalhes sobre meu interesse em idiomas
    Esta pessoa indicou ser um workawayer com interesse em compartilhar seu(s) idioma(s) ou em aprender um novo. Entre em contato diretamente para discutir o assunto.

    Encontre um parceiro de estudo

  • Idade


  • Nacionalidade


  • Algo mais...

    At university, I am involved in several student extracurriculars. My main activities however are as
    -a Student Entrepreneurship Ambassador with UCL Innovation & Enterprise, which is a paid role where I assist in events taking place at UCL BaseKX (checking in attendees, setting up and packing down the room, returning the keys and sign-up sheet to the security guard upon leaving)
    -a Lead Departmental Representative, where I take part in student-staff meetings, liaise with staff and work on implementing new projects and policies in the Linguistics department
    -with the Volunteering Service at Students' Union UCL, through my roles as a member of the Volunteering Think Tank and as a One-Off Volunteering Ambassador, where after volunteering at one-off events I write an article about it for the SU website

    I was also one of the 10 UCL delegates for the National Union of Students (NUS) Conference 2020 which was supposed to take place in Liverpool and eventually took place online.

  • Mais algumas informações

    • Fumante

    • Carteira de motorista

    • Alergias

    • Dietas especiais